We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and clean, but will not stay here again”
Review of Hotel Ferrara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ferrara
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Ferrara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We recently had a one night stay here, and looked forward to be in a very central well rated hotel. On arrival we were treated with arrogance/indifference by the man at reception. Later we tried to have the air con attended to as it was not working.Fan worked but room did not cool down at all. The young woman who was later on reception was very rude indeed when we asked for someone to try and fix it.Her attitude was abyssmal, and perhaps she should be retrained in order to treat paying guests with at least some respect., The only friendly face that afternoon on the 10th of May, was a younger man who at least smiled at us.The phone didn't work , and we were not given any info on breakfast times etc....any helpful info at all in fact.
Never again would we stay here....beacuse of this experience. However, the room was very clean and the breakfast staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Not our room....next to the lift, with a defective air con.It was soundproofed, but no use to us, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dee153_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catelori, Direttore at Hotel Ferrara, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Sir, his review is simply unfair. Unfortunately we have no weapons to defend ourselves from those who, in good or bad faith, claim to have the truth in his pocket. Fortunately, cases like yours, are exceptions and the vast majority of our guests think in a completely different way. We want to focus our attention to them.

Antonio Meloni
-General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed in Hotel Ferrara last week, the hotel is situated right in the centre of the beautiful town of Ferrara opposite the castle and walking distance to the museums,shops,restaurants.
The rooms were very modern and clean, even a note under the bed saying it had been cleaned there too !
The restaurant connected to the hotel "A Big Night" was exceptional, the local pumpkin ravioli was delicious and a huge choice of wines, we opted for the local Sangeovaise ,perfect.
Only small negative was the rooms are cleaned quite late, mid afternoon and coffee/tea was sometimes forgotten to be replaced.
Would recommend this hotel though its in a beautiful place away from all the tourists.

Room Tip: 502 and 506 on top floor are very spacious and in the roof so nice and light with big bathrooms. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Clean, comfortable and close to everything Ferrara has to offer. I highly enjoyed my stay at this hotel in this charming city. My upper floor room was cozy and had a nice little balcony overlooking the castle on the other side of the courtyard (and the gelato shop was only a few steps away, too! Yummmmm). Honestly, I would be hard pressed to find anything wrong with this hotel. I enjoyed it all. Convenience is a major atribute. The desk staff warm and welcoming. The cleaning staff incredibly efficient. I truly felt like a welcomed guest.. In a word...perfect. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ferrara.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twotips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Great location, truly can't be better; right in the middle of the town. There has been put alot of thought in the rooms, lots technical gadgets were implemented. It is a limited service Hotel. The breakfast-buffet might be okay for Italian standards, the Prima Donna during breakfast was more interested in answering her text messages. Afterall, one has to admit, Whatsapp is something beautiful... The Hotel provided bicycles, had a great time exploring the Town, it is truly worth visiting!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burlingame-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Located in an ancient house, it is articulated in different floors served by a narrow staircase and a small elevator.: not so easy to move with big luggage. very large room, well equipped with TV and air conditioning, king size (very) confortable bed. large bathroom, with an useless hair dryier. Poor amenities.
The breakfast is served inside and outside, in a small veranda, but the choice is limited to industrial products.
No parking inside: possibility of private parking in a closed area 10 minutes by foot, at a very reasonable fare (7 euros for more than 24 hours) or vauchers for public parking outside the pedestrian area available at 3 euros/day.
Right in front of the Estensi castle, it's the ideal location to walk in the city center. Courtesy bikes are available.
Gentle and helpful personnel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnainviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Perfect hotel and perfect location. Junior suite are wonderfully equipped.- except the bathroom, impossible to stand in the tub for a shower because the lower beam-
So sad that breakfast is very very poor, nothing fresh all is conditonned dried. No fresh croissant, no fresh bread nor fresh fruit salad. really poor.
The staff is kind and very helpful (Davide)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKITALIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is the third time I have stayed in this hotel. Its business oriented, rooms are comfortable, you can open the windows for fresh air and its spacious. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Hotel is located right opposite the old castle which is a breath taking view each and everytime. Ferrara is a very unique Italian city, small but comfortable. One of its best features is that no cars are allowed within the city, everyone rides a bicyle or walk. There are also quite a few good authentic restaurants all within walking distance from the Hotel, very good Italian cuisine.

Room Tip: Beware of the noise level late at night from people in the streets. Ask for a room closer to the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJB20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ferrara hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Annunziata
Hotel Annunziata
#1 of 33 in Ferrara
1,919 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
#6 of 33 in Ferrara
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#5 of 33 in Ferrara
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#3 of 33 in Ferrara
879 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Palace Inn Hotel
3 mi away
Da Santo
Da Santo
#24 of 33 in Ferrara
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ferrara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ferrara

Address: Largo Castello 36, 44121, Ferrara, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ferrara > Ferrara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Ferrara
Price Range: £45 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ferrara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the enchanting framework of the 14th-century Estense Castle, Hotel Ferrara is one of the most prestigious establishments in the city. Each room features a full HD LED TV with international channels and free Wi-Fi.A public shuttle to and from Marconi Airport is provided. The service runs from 05:00 until 23:00.Rooms have a classic design with wood floors and elegant furnishings. Suites includes a private wellness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ferrara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing