We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business traveller woman perspective”
Review of Hotel Ferrara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ferrara
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Ferrara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Before I started to write the review I went through other reviews, that I normally do not do.
The reason for that was that I have had very mixed feelings. I've stayed 2 nights. The first one was in a small room, almost on corridor, that whole night I was hearing what's going on in one of another room as well as people walking on the corridor. The next night, after asking for another room, I have received still small but very nice and quiet. There are also specious rooms in there.
My room during the first night was extremely cold, with no option to turn a radiator on (despite I had an extra blanket), while a second night I spent in very nice warm room.
The same mixed feeling refers to staff. During late night arrival there was a man in the reception, that was not very nice and that was ignoring my requst for quiet room (problems with sleep), that was not justified with lack of rooms, as we were coming together with 2 other ladies, and had 3 rooms reserved altogether.
The next day, I have met a very helpful and nice lady.
Location is very nice, this I can confirm.
Breakfast is ok as for Italy ( do not expect in Italy a real full breakfast).

Room Tip: As long as possible try to arrange Your arrival during afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 725Izabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

A great little boutique hotel in a great location close to Castle Estense. Spacious rooms and good modern bathrooms. Great spaces to sit and have a drink or a coffee. Breakfast has lots of choices including the ability to make toast. Attentive staff and the free bike hire is fantastic. Only downside the beds were a little hard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaye P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Good location (adjacent to the castle) but if you're there with a car, note that there's no parking in the hotel, so you need to find a spot on the streets surrounding the hotel, which means a few minutes walking at least.

The reception staff wasn't very willing to help in changing a room upon arrival.

Breakfast was good.

Overall, it's a reasonable option to stay in Ferrara if you don't mind having to be insistent to get a better room, as room quality varies significantly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tamirsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Most of the money has been spent on the lobby as the rooms themselves were very small and basic. Found the staff very unhelpful, we were there for a wedding and needed an iron, the staff simply said it is not possible and were very dismissive.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank 782CraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catelori, Direttore at Hotel Ferrara, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Mr. ..
unfortunately (for you), I was at the reception at time. You have been correctly informed that Italian law does not allow hotel guests to bring the iron into the room. I called, in your presence, the housekeeper who came into your room and took your dress (very very wrinkled )and has perfectly ironed. Just finished, reported the dress in your room. What can you expect more?
I don't know....

Antonio Meloni
-General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We recently had a one night stay here, and looked forward to be in a very central well rated hotel. On arrival we were treated with arrogance/indifference by the man at reception. Later we tried to have the air con attended to as it was not working.Fan worked but room did not cool down at all. The young woman who was later on reception was very rude indeed when we asked for someone to try and fix it.Her attitude was abyssmal, and perhaps she should be retrained in order to treat paying guests with at least some respect., The only friendly face that afternoon on the 10th of May, was a younger man who at least smiled at us.The phone didn't work , and we were not given any info on breakfast times etc....any helpful info at all in fact.
Never again would we stay here....beacuse of this experience. However, the room was very clean and the breakfast staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Not our room....next to the lift, with a defective air con.It was soundproofed, but no use to us, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dee153_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catelori, Direttore at Hotel Ferrara, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Sir, his review is simply unfair. Unfortunately we have no weapons to defend ourselves from those who, in good or bad faith, claim to have the truth in his pocket. Fortunately, cases like yours, are exceptions and the vast majority of our guests think in a completely different way. We want to focus our attention to them.

Antonio Meloni
-General Manager-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Stayed in Hotel Ferrara last week, the hotel is situated right in the centre of the beautiful town of Ferrara opposite the castle and walking distance to the museums,shops,restaurants.
The rooms were very modern and clean, even a note under the bed saying it had been cleaned there too !
The restaurant connected to the hotel "A Big Night" was exceptional, the local pumpkin ravioli was delicious and a huge choice of wines, we opted for the local Sangeovaise ,perfect.
Only small negative was the rooms are cleaned quite late, mid afternoon and coffee/tea was sometimes forgotten to be replaced.
Would recommend this hotel though its in a beautiful place away from all the tourists.

Room Tip: 502 and 506 on top floor are very spacious and in the roof so nice and light with big bathrooms. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Clean, comfortable and close to everything Ferrara has to offer. I highly enjoyed my stay at this hotel in this charming city. My upper floor room was cozy and had a nice little balcony overlooking the castle on the other side of the courtyard (and the gelato shop was only a few steps away, too! Yummmmm). Honestly, I would be hard pressed to find anything wrong with this hotel. I enjoyed it all. Convenience is a major atribute. The desk staff warm and welcoming. The cleaning staff incredibly efficient. I truly felt like a welcomed guest.. In a word...perfect. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ferrara.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twotips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ferrara hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Annunziata
Hotel Annunziata
#1 of 32 in Ferrara
1,907 reviews
0.6 mi away
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
Orologio Hotel Ferrara
#6 of 32 in Ferrara
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#3 of 32 in Ferrara
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Touring
Hotel Touring
#4 of 32 in Ferrara
1,356 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Palace Inn Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lucrezia Borgia
Hotel Lucrezia Borgia
#15 of 32 in Ferrara
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ferrara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ferrara

Address: Largo Castello 36, 44121, Ferrara, Italy
Region: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Ferrara > Ferrara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Ferrara
Price Range: £76 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ferrara 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the enchanting framework of the 14th-century Estense Castle, Hotel Ferrara is one of the most prestigious establishments in the city. Each room features a full HD LED TV with international channels and free Wi-Fi.A public shuttle to and from Marconi Airport is provided. The service runs from 05:00 until 23:00.Rooms have a classic design with wood floors and elegant furnishings. Suites includes a private wellness area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Ferrara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing