We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gloomy, dirty rooms, worst meal ever, unwelcoming staff.”
Review of Hotel Terminus

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fiuggi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Terminus
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Fiuggi
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Gloomy, dirty rooms, worst meal ever, unwelcoming staff.”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Thankfully we were only here for one night as part of a tour, if it had been any longer I would have been issuing a complaint to the tour operator.I had read the reviews before the trip and had very low expectations, thinking that if I expected the worst I maybe pleasantly surprised. Unfortunately I was not.

Our first impression was the staff on reception who seemed far from happy to see us and welcomed us with frowns and seemed very confused and overwhelmed. My allocated single room was tiny, with a tiny rock hard bed an pillow. It was dark and dingy and felt like a prison cell. There was a very small Juliet Balcony. Everything was very basic and very old. The room looked clean on the surface, but it must have indeed been a very light surface clean as when I lifted up the toilet seat on arrival I was greeted by a few rogue pubic hairs on the basin rim, with more in the shower and ear-wax encrusted used cotton buds in the bin. Grim indeed. The shower was tiny, I am not too tall and slim but still couldn't shower without bashing my elbows into the walls and doors and I had to step out of the shower to wash my feet. There was no safe, fridge or any other in room facilities.. I thought well as long as the bed is clean and I get a decent meal then it will do for the night.

The evening meal was probably the worst meal I have ever been served in my life and there are probably people getting better meals in prison,. The pasta starter was acceptable, however our main course was very poor indeed. Two wafer thin slices of fatty pork served with half a plate full of tinned processed peas. People gave up waiting to see if there was any potatoes or any other veg and most had finished eating their slop by the time the waitresses came round with trays full of just lettuce asking if anyone wanted "salad" with our pork and tinned peas. Desert was a rock hard, "desert" dry jam tart which was impossible even to cut. Breakfast was also very poor. No cereal. No yoghurt. Just a few apples and a few individually wrapped croissants and melba toast.

Getting served in the bar area was a mission and again the staff treated everyone like they were an inconvenience rather than a welcomed guest. It really does suprise me that large national tour operators either do not read hotel reviews or choose to ignore them and book them anyway. Luckily our main stay resort hotels were all fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DNK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTerminusFiuggi, Proprietario at Hotel Terminus, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Google Translation
Se fosse cosi avremmo chiuso da un pezzo !! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and this is THE WORST hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff were grumpy, the breakfast choice was terrible and the dinner was disgusting and served by a very rude waiter who splashed food everywhere. Our room was dismall and depressing. The bathroom had a bath with shower but nowhere to hang it and there was no curtain. The towels were like table cloths and very rough. The views out of the window look like deserted hotels with abandonded cars and motor bikes lying around. The buses can't get down the narrow lane to the hotel so you have to walk with your luggage, not great when it's raining! Not a good taste of Italy for us and we won't be back!

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms on the top floor smell like dead animals so I would avoid them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTerminusFiuggi, Proprietario at Hotel Terminus, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Google Translation
Ci dispiace per i 3 giorni di pioggia che hanno reso negativa la Vostra permanenza nella Nostra Cittadina, per quanto riguarda il Personale ci assicuriamo sempre di dare il massimo del servizio.
Per quanto riguarda la foto con motorini e spazzatura varia SI RIFERISCE AD UN LOCALE SITO A CIRCA 500 MT DAL NOSTRO HOTEL.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fiuggi hotels

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012

My family stayed at this hotel for several nights as part of a tour of Italy. The hotel is about an hours drive from Rome and it is situated down a narrow lane which buses cant fit down so you have to walk a few minutes from the main road to the entrance unless you have a car. It is wheelchair accessible but the road is full of potholes so you have to be careful.

The hotel was clean but the rooms were very basic, The decor was old fashioned and the lounge was full of antiques. Their was no tea or coffee facilities in the bedrooms and although my room had a very small shower other people i spoke to had what they described as a bath with a hose pipe that you had to hold yourself. The quality of the rooms varied massively depending on what floor you stay on also.

The breakfast consisted of tea/coffee from a machine and diluted juice, 2 choices of cereal and plastic cheese and ham with bread or a cold croissant. Dinner was a four course meal which was a soup dish, a pasta dish, meat and veg then a bowl of fruit for dessert. The quality wasn't bad but portions were small. There was also no choice or menu so it was take it or leave it.

The staff spoke very little English but one of the positives were that they were very helpful if you needed something. it is very family orientated.

It is also advertised when you arrive in the reception area that their is WiFi available but it doesn't exist when you try to search for it from a device even though their is also a charge.

The town of Fiuggi was very Italian. we arrived mid afternoon and the whole town was deserted it took us a while to find somewhere to get some lunch. Their was a few shops as well that opened between 9 and 12 and 4 till 9ish but they weren't that nice.

In the evening if you don't eat in the hotel their are a few restaurants a short walk away but after dinner theirs not much to do apart from sit around or go for a walk.There is a park nearby but you have to pay to get in.

Overall the hotel is clean and the staff were helpful but if you are looking for a bit more like a swimming pool and something to do then i wouldn't stay here.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MoragR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2010

The hotel has no frills and the bathroom could have done with an update.However it was very clean and the lounge areas were very nice.There is no kettle in the room but tea/coffee is available all day from the bar for about 2 euros.The breakfast was self-service and OK.Just don't expect "full English" but accept that Italians don't do our sort of breakfast. The ham and cheese were really tasty.We had dinner one night in the hotel and although there is no menu choice it was very good and plenty of it - 4 courses for 15 euros.
The staff are all very friendly and helpful and work hard in this family run hotel

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stansted
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2009

I had read about the breakfasts here but by the time we got to the hotel i thought that it would have improved - but unfortunately not - have stayed in newmarket hotels before and have not had a problem with the food - very poor selection no fresh tomatoes or cucumber or nice rolls very basic. - i did not have any evening meals there but was told expensive for what the other travellers received. Also i thought they had made a mistake with the bath towels and given us the tableclothes from the dining room very thin and you had to drip dry................ the staff were nice and the cleaners were very good, unfortunately the hotel was well away from the highlights of Italy and took long coach journeys to places of interest - i should have checked the location before we booked.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurerstansted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

The Hotel staff were charming and always helpful. The room was warm and comfortable. I would say do not bother with eating the evening meal here, there are better restaurants a few yards down the road. The breakfast was not great. Bring a kettle and supplies if you want to drink coffee or tea in your room.
The Newmarket Holidays staff were irritating and seemed to be trying to squeeze more money out of us every day for extra guided trips. If doing this holiday, I would advise not booking the Rome trip as it is simple to get there by public transport and costs 9 euros, (Newmarket charged a lot more for this). They also cancelled one of their day trips with no notice, which left us with nothing to do on a bank holiday when everything was shut.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BorisCatBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

my friend Sandra and I travelled to the Terminus as part of a tour with Newmarket Travel. The flights were with Ryanair decent sized seat pitch but hated the rush to find a seat, the flight out was early and the flight back was late. We were taken to the airport 4 hous b
efore our flight was to take off . The hotel room and bathrooms were adequate, breakfast was continental evening meals fairly good. The tour hosts Ria and Fabio were good tour guides providing humour and information, they must love their job, trying to keep 100 plus people altogether was not easy. Loved Pompeii and Sorrento, too long at the Vatican ,where we got stung paying 15 euros for icecream , would have preferred to look around the Coloseum instead . Fellow travellers were all jolly ,hotel staff friendly but understand little English,when ordering my wine in Italian they always put more in the glass. Overall very enjoyable but very triring . Hotel is dow n a side street and near to shops and the Spa for which the town is famous for. They cram alot into this holiday in a few days ,some mornins you are up at 5 a.m, but we have many happy memories

  • Liked — very large bathroom
  • Disliked — no English channel on t.v
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camsreporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fiuggi hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Siviglia
Hotel Siviglia
#15 of 55 in Fiuggi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#4 of 55 in Fiuggi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,018 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Park Hotel
Atlantic Park Hotel
#9 of 55 in Fiuggi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#1 of 55 in Fiuggi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Touring Wellness&Beauty
0.2 mi away
Albergo Delle Terme
Albergo Delle Terme
#14 of 55 in Fiuggi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terminus

Property: Hotel Terminus
Address: Via Fonte Anticolana 35, 03014 Fiuggi, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Frosinone > Fiuggi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 Hotels in Fiuggi
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Fiuggi Fonte, a short distance from the spa, the Hotel Terminus is a hotel of class, equipped with all comforts. , telephone, TV, in about half of the rooms with Sky TV service, and the rooms on the top floor are served by air condizionata.Sala dining room, living room, TV room, bar, large veranda, private parking, WIFI service. Cuisine, with local specialties and international cuisine for guests with food intolerances. Such features ensure guests a comfortable and pleasant stay in a refined setting. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Terminus Hotel Fiuggi
Hotel Terminus Fiuggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing