We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
St Mauritius Hotel(Forte Dei Marmi)(Great Value!)
US$185
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Byron Hotel(Forte Dei Marmi)
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Goya(Forte Dei Marmi)(Great Value!)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel President(Forte Dei Marmi)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hotel(Forte Dei Marmi)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Villa Roma Imperiale(Forte Dei Marmi)
US$292
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Acapulco(Forte Dei Marmi)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Hotel Imperiale(Forte Dei Marmi)
US$690
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$621
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Principe Forte dei Marmi(Forte Dei Marmi)
US$872
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$643
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
189
109
26
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
109
26
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewnice hotelinto town for dinneraccommodating staffunderstated elegancelocation is idealcouple of nightssea frontpool areaoff seasoncentre of townfirst floorprivate beachlaurabalconyseptemberhire
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2016

We finally got an opportunity to stay in Forte Dei Marmi after several day trips here over the years. The visits never disappointed and Hotel II Negresco proved to be a delightful choice. The hotel is bright, elegant and welcoming. Our sea view room was modern and cheerful and the view from the balcony was really lovely ( the 360 degree view from the roof top terrace is stunning). The staff were all friendly and professional. Breakfast was very good and the dinner we had on the second night was excellent especially as the hotel was not full and it was off season. The hotel is in a quiet area but there are restaurants close by and the walk to the centre is a very pleasant 15 mins stroll. The hotel is across the road from a vast sandy beach and has a lovely pool and sun bathing area.

Room Tip: As the hotel is close to the road ask for a high floor. Sea view rooms are worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoPell, Direttore at Hotel Il Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2016

Dear Oliva,

thank you so much for your fine review and for the kind appriciation!

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Negresco and that you have been to satisfied about your accomodation, including the view form your balcony!

Thank you also for the comment about our restaurant, our Guest's satisfaction is really a great result for us.

I hope that you will have the chance to visit again the Negresco in the future and thank you from all of us for you words.
Simonetta Pellegrini
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Good value on a 2 day break in this fashionable resort of Forte dei Marmi. Nice hotel with very helpful staff, like most hotels here it's a 15 minute pleasant walk to the town centre, albeit along the beautiful seafront, the hotel is old style traditional and makes no apology for being that. Bottom line, I would definitely return.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank seec83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoPell, Direttore at Hotel Il Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comments and your appriciation! I am really happy to read that you liked the resort , the hotel and, above all, you would like to return to the Negresco; this is really our best success!
As you say the hotel is a traditional one, we renovated all the roomes and the common areas in these last years, keeping a fresh, bright and warm atmophere.

I look forward to welcome you again at The Negresco and thank you for the time you dedicated to us!
Simonetta Pellegrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Anywhere else in the world this hotel would be a mediocre 3-star. However, Forte is not the grandest, nor the most luxurious of places. Don't get me wrong, it's delightful and the hotel is lovely. Staff are helpful and the room was sizeable. We did go in the high season and the price was reflected in that. It was very pricey. One piece of advice: book a spot on one of the private beaches early. The Italians and those in the know have all the good spots.

Room Tip: Ring the hotel; and speak Italian if you can
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoPell, Direttore at Hotel Il Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear Guest,

first of all I want to thank you for the time you have dedicated to us! I can understand your point of view when you say that Forte dei Marmi is not "the grandest or the most luxurious of palces", infact in Forte dei Marmi you will not find big and gleaming hotels or queues of Rolls Royce waiting for VIPs in front of Casino, all this "luxury" is not the style in Forte dei Marmi. The kind of luxury that people can experience in Forte dei Marmi is a cosy and elegant atmophere, a high standard of quality according to the best italian life style, that's why, in Forte dei Marmi during high season, the prices are generally quite high.
I take also this opportunity to clarify also your comments about the beach spots: the beaches of this area are all privately managed and the first rows of sun umbrella or cabana are normally rented for the whole season by people (italian or not) that have Villas in town and are used to spent most of the summer time in Forte, so it doesn't really matter how early you book the place at the beach, the first positions are booked year by year. The hotel Il Negresco has a good co-operation with two beach clubs just across the road and thanks to this, we can guarantee good positions for our Guests, of course limited to avalaibility.
Regarding your comments about the hotel, I am sorry that your impression was of a 3 stars hotel even if you appreciated the Staff and the rooms.
Thank you again for your review and for having given us the opportunity to describe Forte dei Marmi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

This is a great hotel, with a great view of the beach, with a great and friendly staff. The rooms are decorated so nice for the beach. The food was very good and there is a fantastic cocktail hour. It was a pleasure to work with Laura from our direct booking to checkout. Would love to still be there!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoPell, Direttore at Hotel Il Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2016

Dear Richard,

thank you so much for your fantastic review! I am really happy that you enjoyed so much your stay with us and that you received the best assistance from our staff from the very beginning of your reservation.
Our efforts are directed to take care of our Guests from the first moment till the check-out, as Laura did with you.
Hope to welcome you again at the Negresco and best regards.
Simonetta Pellegrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We stayed at the hotel in June . The weather was untypically wet for some of the time but had been worse the week before according to the staff . The hotel is on the wide promenade facing the sea and Beach Clubs and has steady flow of traffic the noise of which is more intrusive in the sea view rooms . We had a very good room with a large balcony on top of the dining room which was a real pleasure . Although there are bushes between the adjoining balconies the provision of proper screening would add to the privacy and enjoyment . The staff were charming and very helpful . The hotel is beautifully decorated and furnished and very comfortable although the rooms are not large . Breakfast was adequate but not inspiring and the price of the meals in the restaurant meant that we ate out . The location is such that to reach the town involves a brisk twenty minute walk . We found a couple of good restaurants in the town where the meals were reasonably priced and plenty of excellent cafes for coffee . We took a bus trip to Viarreggio twice and found the food was half the price !! Don't miss trips to Portofino and Sienna , the scenery is gorgeous and the both places full of interest .
In summary , this is a charming and elegant hotel of very good quality . The staff were excellent and we had a great time going back to Tuscany for the first time since our last visit in 1965 !

Room Tip: Rooms facing inland would avoid traffic noise and have mountain views .
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ART300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoPell, Direttore at Hotel Il Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Dear Guest,

thank you for this good review and for the time spent for describing your holidays in June.

Our rooms facing the sea are also overlooking the "lungomare" (the main street) and sometime can be noisy but the view to the sea I think is worth! The room that you had with the big terrace are very enjoible and for a bigger room we also have some Superiors, 6-7 square meters wider, so if you will have a chance to come again we will be glad to accommodate you in one of these, if you prefer.
Thank you very much for your appriciation for our Staff and service, it is for all of us a real success!
Hope to welcome you again soon and thank you again!
Simonetta Pellegrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews