We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, terrible service”
Review of Hotel Il Negresco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Il Negresco
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Certificate of Excellence
Eupen, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small rooms, terrible service”
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Our family visited the Il Negresco and we should have listened the TA-comments on extremely small rooms. The rooms are cluttered in layout and worn-out in condition.
The attitude of the staff was unbeliveable: most of them had almost hostile attitude towards children and we didn't feel comfortable at the hotel. Some persons were nice, even though promises for the kid's welcome packages and play corners were not delivered.
Visit to Il Negresco was very sad experience!
Internet connection is far from high speed and it does not function with Apple-devices.
Only positive thing was the swimming pool, it is very nice and clean.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosso997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    98
    23
    8
    7
See reviews for
60
142
13
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

I stayed here for one week in May. Overall the hotel is acceptable however it is extremely overpriced for what it is offering. The room was very small and in need of a coat of paint. The furniture was dated and worn out. The best thing about the room was the breathtaking view from the balcony. The breakfast buffet offered a wide variety of options and was good. I ordered dinner to the room several times during my stay and each time it was just plain bad. The hotel also claims to offer many amenities. However most of these are "available on request" and the staff is not at all eager to accomodate. It made for an uncomfortable situation. The entire staff seemed unhappy and were not the least bit helpful when I enquired about nearby attractions and restaurants. I do not mind paying for quality but this hotel is average at best. Also, be aware that the price to use the bathing establishment across the street is not included in the room rate so be prepared to be overcharged yet again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderlustChicag0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and had a wonderful stay, we would highly recommend it. The hotel was extremely relaxing, staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a classic room with a sea view which had a balcony overlooking the sea, (one thing to note is that some rooms don't have a bath). It is a 15 minute walk to the centre of Forte de marmi, you can rent bicycles from the hotel reception which we would highly recommend as it is a lovey cycle by the beach. The pool area was lovely and extremely relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VHealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Front desk staff very nice and helpful and cheerful - especially Laura. Pool looked nice, but was undergoing maintenance and was not open. Breakfast pretty good. Dinner very good, although not excellent. Ocean view room very nice, and I would guess the view from the mountain view rooms are nice, too, given how incredible those mountains look. A little far from Centro than some of the hotels, but still walkable.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2008

We have just returned from a short break at Il Negresco, Forte dei Marmi. The hotel was superb. Lovely location, very comfortable room with bathroom furnished in marble. Restaurant was first class and staff were always helpful and friendly. We wouldn't hesitate to return but possibly not in November as the weather could have been better. However the magnificent sunsets reflected in the sea which we watched from the rooftop terrace were unforgettable.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — The use of umbrellas
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

In July, after spending some days in Portofino at the beautiful Splendido, we opted for three relaxing days in Forte dei Marmi.
The location of the hotel is nice, with charming sea views and vacation atmosphere. Forte dei Marmi is a typical upscale sea resort but it has something more: it is quite, clean and what we liked more was that you can use bikes to go everywhere. Every night we rent the hotel bikes and went out for a stroll in the centre.
There are many good restaurants and we liked the Bistrot and Enoteca Marcucci in Pietrasanta.
Our room at the hotel was small but nicely decorated, with nice views and marble bathroom. Breakfast was standard but good and the front desk helpful and friendly.
If you want to relax, this is the place!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Samandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We stayed for a week in July with two boys. Forte dei Marmi is a great resort that can easily be used as a base to visit places like Florence, Pisa, Cinque Terre and Lucca. The family enjoyed the resort town so much, we kept the visits out of town to a minimum. The shops are as good as in Flornece. The restaurants are excellent but more expensive than in Lucca or Florence. Leave the car parked and do like everyone else, use bicycles to go everywhere. The hotel is a gem. Understated elegance. It provides good (if small) accomodations for families. The pool is great. The breakfast is excellent. It is very clean. Staff is very helpful. They recommended good restaurants and they even arranged for chartering a boat to Cinque Terre. A wonderful experience. We will be back to Il Negeresco.

  • Liked — Understated elegance. Not arrogant. Extremely pleasant.
  • Disliked — The pillows.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Emma011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
1.3 mi away
St Mauritius Hotel
St Mauritius Hotel
#1 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
442 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Roma Imperiale
Villa Roma Imperiale
#4 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#5 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Principe Forte dei Marmi
#7 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
165 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#6 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#16 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Il Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Il Negresco

Property: Hotel Il Negresco
Address: Viale Italica 82, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Il Negresco 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Prestigia, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Il Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Negresco Hotel
Hotel Il Negresco Forte Dei Marmi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing