We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”
Review of Byron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Byron Hotel
Ranked #29 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed here all week and were very pleased, apart from the sometimes very noisy Vespas,
motorcycles and horn blowing italian motorists on the boulevard in front of the hotel.
However the manicured gardens, terraces, swimming pool and restaurant at the other side of the main building made us feel like staying in our own private italian villa.
The service is excellent on all levels and so is the food at breakfast, lunch and dinner (one Michelin star) The place is spotlessly clean. Our groundfloor room had a large private terrace, a fine bathroom in Carrara marble, an excellent bed and was quite spacious. The only minus points were a somewhat ageing decor and a very small tv screen. Wi-Fi worked perfectly throughout the hotel and even on the outside terraces. Notwithstanding a rather high tariff, we considered the price level good value for money. Good hotels are expensive in Italy and certainly along the coast. And this hotel has only 26 rooms but full staff...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have stayed here several times. The staff is always nice and the experience is great. The hotel provides bikes that we used every day. The pool is lovely. The hotel is not flashy, but authentic. A most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

hotel Byron , is an old but very authentic house . very well located . infrontof the beach and 5 minute walk from the town .it offers a combination of the old Italian villa and the modern fuctiontoinal hotel, nice garden , large outdoor pool, very friendly staff.
The beach infront , is a very nice beach , golden sand , about 100 meters width. you have to rent your seat and umbrella daily and it is worth it if you are a fan of the sea and beach.
the only thing i did not like in the hotel is the bed , bed sheets and pillows. the matress is harder than I am used to , also the pillows and the linen is a bit rough in texture.
Aver all experince was great and memeroble

Room Tip: you can ask the reservation to send you pictures and description and you can get a good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammam e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed with my husband for four nights in this hotel. It badly needs refurbishment. The AC is weak thus not effective on a hot day, the Internet was erratic at best and forever asking us to relog-in.
The toiletries in the bathroom looked like what a budget hotel would provide with a miniature box of rough tissue paper. I had to laugh at the audacity of the management to think this is what they think guests who pay top rates deserves.
I asked for an ironing board and iron and was informed I can send my clothes for pressing or go to the staff/stock room to iron them myself.
Breakfast was adequate but not what you would expect from a hotel that is claiming to be a top hotel. The cheeses obviously came from the local supermarket as I saw the label stuck on one of them.
What a shame, this hotel has great potential but needs a lot of work.
However, the staff were friendly and helpful which made our stay very pleasant.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank marigo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

When I stayed at this Hotel in 2008 the quality of the room I stayed in was far superior to the room on this trip. My room this trip was located on the 1st floor, facing the Main Beach Road. It is extremely poorly insulated with the result that it was very noisy. This is not what one expects for 5 star prices!!
Unlike "Ozijoe", (who I happen to know) who had stayed at this Hotel 1 month earlier I was generally happy with the the staff's attitude and service. I also thought the breakfasts were quite good although when I ordered eggs the one day they took a long time to arrive and the waiter involved was not too fussed.
I thought generally the food and service at La Magnolia Restaurant was very good and the wine by the glass selection was also pretty good.
In summary the main issue that disappointed me was my room. Little things make a difference and they do not even provide guests with a normal box of tissues in their bathrooms.
I wouldn't recommend or be rushing to return to the Byron Hotel. There has to be a better value for money luxury accommodation proposition in Forte Dei Marmi

Room Tip: Do not choose an Ocean facing room on the main beach road unless of course you don't mind plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CicliOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

As previously reviewed the Byron is a well managed, very friendly and centrally located hotel - rooms away from the road are to be recommended (they are quieter) and enjoy the poolside dinner (BBQ excellent, soufflé historic !). The key feature of the Byron is the staff - they respect their guests and cannot do enough to help. Other properties may be more opulent, more modern or even better appointed - but for a brief stay, this place takes a lot of beating.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agedbutcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotels in forte dei marmi are pretty small, quite old and basic. Byron is definitely one of the best, only just accross the road to the sandy beach (huge and great sand) and 5 minutes walk to the centre. Definitely one of the nicest hotels and the best location and very good food. The reception also gives very good advice on good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steffi m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
0.3 mi away
Augustus Hotel & Resort
Augustus Hotel & Resort
#7 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
160 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#19 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
192 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Il Negresco
Hotel Il Negresco
#2 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St Mauritius Hotel
St Mauritius Hotel
#1 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Principe Forte dei Marmi
#10 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Roma Imperiale
Villa Roma Imperiale
#5 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Byron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byron Hotel

Address: Viale Edgar Morin 46, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range: £230 - £733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Byron Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Byron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byron Hotel Forte Dei Marmi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing