We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay in upmarket resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 1908

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel 1908
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in upmarket resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed in the Duchessa Viscounti suite which had two balconies. It was pleasant but as with the rest of the hotel things are a little old & in need of refreshment. Breakfast which is always a highlight of our stay was v disappointing so actually for our last few days we either went to a local cafe or to Principe - the new Russian owned luxury property a couple of blocks up - which to be honest we wished we'd booked instead.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    29
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
10
44
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just recently returned from our fourth stay at The Ritz Hotel in Forte dei Marmi.
Every time my husband and I go back to the Ritz, it is like going home......we are always greeted by both the Proprietor, his family, and the staff as if we'd just been gone for a trip abroad and are now returning back "home". Frequent travelers, it is this trip every year that we look forward to the most.
The proprietor of the property is always at hand to assist with directions to close by cities along
with helpful restaurant and shopping tips. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful with any assistance we might need and we just adore them. The bartender is always at hand to make pre-dinner cocktails and entertain you with a story. The beautiful and generously sized pool is extremely well maintained and a delightful alternative to the sea which is located directly across the road. The restaurants and shopping district is easliy assessible either by walking or by the nice selection of bicycles that The Ritz has to offer. What could be more idiyllic than staying in this lovely family run hotel, directly across from the sea, and be able to go through one's entire holiday without ever getting in the car and driving?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Booked the hotel thru commercial website and we
found a perfect location, staff very friendly and a family room for 4 persons.
I have stayed three times in Forte dei
Marmi and this was definite the best location 4 stars for 2 adults and 2 children in off season period. Hotel very well entertained and 10 minutes walking from shopping and restaurant district. Best regards federico

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ftoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10024
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

I found the staff very cordial and helpful, the sea view room was a decent size, clean with a great shower and amenities. The hotel has a fleet of pedal bikes and a small courtesy vehicle. The beach is 100 feet and the town center a few blocks away so the location is great.

When we arrived booking.com had not notified the hotel, I would strongly advise NOT to use booking.com as the rate I was quoted walking in was far less than I paid through booking.com do not use them just call the hotel which I will do when I am in town next.

Great hotel in every way.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidmicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gold coast
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

The Hotel Ritz is a nice hotel , great I would not call it compared to a lot of European hotels for that money , the rooms are very small and basic, they lack a bit of ambiance I think this a boutique hotel but what it lacks in ambiance it makes up for in service the staff extremely helpful and happy , the outdoor area very tranquil and pretty the flowers around the property gorgeous all in all this hotel is nice I believe over priced that is without a doubt is it worth visiting this hotel for sure I think this is one of the better hotels in Forte dei marmi .

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KennedysGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

On arrival at the hotel, we found desk staff aloof and unhelpful. This was prevalent throughout our 3 night stay. Our room was a good size, but dated and there was a fault with the toilet. We asked them to fix however after 2 attempts there was no success . After some fuss, we were offered another room which again was dated. The breakfast buffet was average but certainly not reflective of the price we were paying. The pool and garden seating was very good and the location is ideal for those who want quick access to the beach. Not good value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KUMALO_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

Our first time in Forte dei Marmi, and what an amazing place... so understated and chic.... We chose the Ritz from the professional website and were pleasantly impressed. The Hotel is a little expensive but worth every penny as the quality of the clients is extreemely high... no riff raff here, just obviously wealthy and important Italians... one just has to look at all the cars in the carpark! The rooms are beautifully appointed and I would advise the deluxe rooms as the standard ones are a little small. The pool is fantastic and we enjoyed being pampered for the week we stayed +++++

  • Liked — English spoken and position
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank medl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#10 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Il Negresco
Hotel Il Negresco
#2 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#5 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#6 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kyrton
Hotel Kyrton
#30 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.2 mi away
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Principe Forte dei Marmi
#4 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1908? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1908

Property: Hotel 1908
Address: Via Flavio Gioia 2, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy (Formerly Hotel Ritz)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1908 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel 1908 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Forte Dei Marmi
Forte Dei Marmi Ritz-Carlton
Hotel 1908 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing