We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Hotel 1908

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel 1908
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The staff at Hotel Ritz were very nice and very accommodating. The bed we had was much more comfortable than some of the other hotels we had stayed during our trip. The location is great - only a few blocks from the Wednesday market and close to the beach, shopping, etc. Also, the food was very good - we had breakfast and dinner and it was wonderful. They have bikes (for a fee which we were unaware - this was on our bill after we had used them) and there is a nice bike path running along the street by the beach. Overall our stay was very nice and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tri914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

Really impressed with this hotel. Great location and excellent customer service. The staff was extrememly helpfull and friendly. Rooms were up to date and clean, Clean towels brought in everynight during bed turning service and in the morning when the room was cleaned.
Free shuttle pick up and drop off to the train station. Amazing breakfast included.
The downtown is within walking distance as well as the beach and restaurants. They even had bikes for rent.
We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPL1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Location: On the beach, and 5-6 minutes walk to the centre of Forte dei Marmi.

Parking: Free- I parked on the side street by the Hotel Entrance but there is also a gated parking at the back.

Check in: Fast and polite. I arrived late, but they were expecting me.

Room: Somewhat larger than similar class Italian hotels. The large flat screen TV with HD channels is really nice . I don't see it very often in hotels in Italy. Room was a little too warm, and I kept the window slightly open all times, but it may be just me, because I find most hotel rooms a bit warmer to my taste.

Bathroom : Large enough with all the amenities provided .

Cleanliness: Sheets and towels were clean. So was the bathroom. They provided two pairs of slippers and bathrobes too.

Wi-fi: Pretty fast and seamless to connect.

Restaurants: Hotel restaurant was closed for renovation, but front desk recommended the fancy restaurant across the street where I had a delicious late dinner the first night I arrived.

Breakfast: Buffet was good enough with fresh orange juice and good coffee , in addition they made scrambled eggs for me with no extra cost. I really like the hotel when staff goes out of their way even a little bit to make you happier.

Price: It was off-season rate, so quite reasonable for me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ural_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

we come back year after year, this is our favorite..the staff is so helpful that it becomes your family.. they are so nice...the location is superb and the food is delicious..your perfect getaway hotel..The Tawils

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathant20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

As a female traveling alone it is important to find a place where you feel safe. The excellent family run hotel was just what was needed. Friendly and helpful staff always on hand to help but always left you alone when you preferred to relax. The bartender has a great selection of stories and the owner himself was always nearby with a smile and handy hints. Great food in the restaurant, clean rooms and lovely poolside. Perfectly relaxing and I would highly recommend visiting.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RCP289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed in the Duchessa Viscounti suite which had two balconies. It was pleasant but as with the rest of the hotel things are a little old & in need of refreshment. Breakfast which is always a highlight of our stay was v disappointing so actually for our last few days we either went to a local cafe or to Principe - the new Russian owned luxury property a couple of blocks up - which to be honest we wished we'd booked instead.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Just recently returned from our fourth stay at The Ritz Hotel in Forte dei Marmi.
Every time my husband and I go back to the Ritz, it is like going home......we are always greeted by both the Proprietor, his family, and the staff as if we'd just been gone for a trip abroad and are now returning back "home". Frequent travelers, it is this trip every year that we look forward to the most.
The proprietor of the property is always at hand to assist with directions to close by cities along
with helpful restaurant and shopping tips. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful with any assistance we might need and we just adore them. The bartender is always at hand to make pre-dinner cocktails and entertain you with a story. The beautiful and generously sized pool is extremely well maintained and a delightful alternative to the sea which is located directly across the road. The restaurants and shopping district is easliy assessible either by walking or by the nice selection of bicycles that The Ritz has to offer. What could be more idiyllic than staying in this lovely family run hotel, directly across from the sea, and be able to go through one's entire holiday without ever getting in the car and driving?

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Goya
Hotel Goya
#11 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
223 reviews
1.6 mi away
Logos Hotel
Logos Hotel
#12 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
228 reviews
1.1 mi away
UNA Hotel Forte dei Marmi
UNA Hotel Forte dei Marmi
#30 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#18 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
St Mauritius Hotel
St Mauritius Hotel
#1 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Principe Forte dei Marmi
#10 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1908? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1908

Address: Via Flavio Gioia 2, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy (Formerly Hotel Ritz)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range: £103 - £378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1908 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel 1908 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Forte Dei Marmi
Forte Dei Marmi Ritz-Carlton
Hotel 1908 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing