We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing and pleasant stay for the whole family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
California Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2010

The hotel is located 3 blocs away from the beach and 500 meters away from Forte downtown. You drop the car the first day and commute by bicycle during the stay. Family run business, meaning first quality service in general, excellent italian food, enormous backyard / playground for kids. Large swimming pool if not willing to go every day to the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crans6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2010

Friendly staff, English definitely is a minority here in Fort Di Marmi, do brush up on your Italian!
Room smaller that expected, but great balcony and tidy. Relaxed pool area, easy bar service or waitress by pool. 15mins north on a bike takes you into Forte Di Marni for great selection of bars and restaurants along the beach front and in the main piazzas. Bikes are the future here. Great night fair for kids.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neilsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

We booked the California Park hotel for a four night stay by the coast before heading to Tuscany. We arrived around 2pm to be told that lunch was in fact over but the very helpful receptionist said that the restaurant would be able to rustle something up. Luigi the Maitre d then appeared-he was extremely unfriendly and incredibly rude. He told us we could have some pasta with a sneer on his face and when we dared to ask what sort of pasta he dismissed us with a wave of his hand. We sat down to have bowls of luke warm pasta put down rather heavily in front of us and then we were charged for the set three course lunch-not a good start! We were then shown to our room. When we booked I requested a room with a balcony-what they did not tell me was that the balcony was shared with the room next door-a rather loud Italian couple. In addition to the noise created by next door there were building works over the road which created a constant drilling sound.
Trying to be positive that evening we decided to give the restaurant another try-we shouldn't have bothered. The food was appalling-the starter was particularly vile- clams served in vol au vents(clearly straight out of a packet), and incredibly expensive. The main course was the toughest, driest piece of fish I think I have ever had and the salad was rather limp. The following day we just couldn't bear it any longer. Having pre paid for four nights at a rate of 360 euro a night and having only been able to bear a single night we attempted to negotiate so we could move on. The manager was not working but the delightful student receptionist was able to contact her by telephone. She refused to speak with me directly and instead kept passing messages through the poor receptionist essentially saying we could not get any of our money back. Eventually after protrated negotiations we were reluctantly refunded a single night and 50% of the lunch. If you are even thinking of visiting Hotel California do think again!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank spareroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2008

This hotel has had mixed reviews but for a short stay in Pisa its fine. The rooms are small but very clean and comfortable, the staff were polite professional and VERY helpful. The breakfast buffet is fine, please stop complaining that there is no english breakfast!
The hotel is set in surprisingly attractive gardens not far from the main road but is quiet at night so you will not be woken up by juggernauts. Outside there is a very convenient and reliable bus service that takes you into PIsa itself ( interesting but not pretty ) or if you prefer the bus will also stop at the site of the leaning tower which IS worth a visit
We also took the bus to the beaches at Villareggio and Tyrrenia
Both were very good. The sea and beach is better at Tyrrenia but more shops at Villareggio. It was also 32% which helped
In our short stay we also got the incredibly cheap bus service to Lucca ( Puccini's town ) which is a walled town which we enjoyed but dont go on sunday when everything is shut practically, and we also took the train to Florence- about 1 hour from Pisa- but you need at least 1/2 day here and we only had 2 hours. Impressive town and about 20 euros for the bus tour which goes right outside the train station
One thing to do if you are booking this hotel - CHECK the pool is open. Normally it is in June, but on weekend we decided to go they shut it for repairs! Didn't spoil our visit but the management were adamant that all the travel agents had been inforned including Ryan Air hotels. By way the pool is above ground , huge and deep
Nothing wrong with this hotel - in spite of the very good public transport we would prob hire a car next time

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bazzerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

We stayed here because of the pool, which was to be fair lovely (despite only being allowed 1 thin towel each). The neutral room with its IKEA wardrobe was quite small but clean. The bathroom too. Breakfast was OK but basic. We never experienced the restaurant because it only served food between 1pm and 2pm! Check your bill at the end as they don't request a signature. Town is a comfortable 15 minute stroll away but watch out for the mosquitos, they're everywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IGetAroundALot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2008

Very bad taste decoration, mostly german clients with loud children. Too far away from town center to walk. Rooms without view. When a next door guest goes to the bathroom it s so noisy you think you have been yourself. You hear about everything being done or said in the other rooms. No sound proofing at al. Depressing, especially the dining room. But than again some people seem to like what we hate, that is probably what makes human contacts so interesting.

Stayed: May 2008
6  Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arancio8, Proprietario at California Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2008

I am the owner of the Hotel and very disappointed to see this comment. I have invested a lot of money and energy to totally refurbish my Hotel this year and have so many clients appreciating our new design and decor both in rooms and common areas. The hotel is located in a 10.000 meters park, in a quiet area next to the beach and all rooms have balcony with view over the park or the pool, pity you did not notice this. We are not located in city center but if you like walking it is just a 15 minutes away or if you prefer you can cycle and get there in a short time. We are infact located in the most exclusive area of Forte dei Marmi called Roma Imperiale, next to the Versiliana, surrounded by beautiful villas and parks. You cannot combine quiet location with the traffic and noise of the city center, it's anyway the guest's choice. One of the aspects most appreciated of Forte dei Marmi is to cycle around the pine parks and our clients usually rent a bicycle to enjoy this area. With regards to soundproofing, yes you may hear some noise from another room, but this is due to the fact the property was constructed in the 70ies but also because the hotel is so quiet and in the silent you notice even small noises that you would not in a noisy environment. I hope to host you again as our guest, if you come back in Versilia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2003

We visited this hotel in June 2003 on a package holiday from the UK.All the staff were very friendly, although most only spoke limited English.For most of the two weeks we were there we were the only Brits but by the end of our stay their English had improved 100%, likewise our Italian.I got the impression they would love more English speaking guests to visit.
Food was excellent four courses at dinner and a good buffet breakfast.Wine menu had a good range of excellent Tuscany wine averaging 18 euros.Pool area and terraces very spacious with free sunbeds and towels.We had the pool area to ourselves every afternoon during siesta time. The only downside was the smell from the drainage canal of an evening round the perimeter but I would not hesitate to go back to this hotel.

17  Thank pancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Roma Imperiale
Villa Roma Imperiale
#5 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
170 reviews
0.4 mi away
St Mauritius Hotel
St Mauritius Hotel
#1 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
481 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Il Negresco
Hotel Il Negresco
#3 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Principe Forte dei Marmi
#13 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Augustus Hotel & Resort
Augustus Hotel & Resort
#9 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#24 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Park Hotel

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 32, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range: £199 - £490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — California Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
California Park Hotel is an exclusive 4 STAR Hotel set in a luxuriant park, at 300 meters from the beach and only 800 meters from the center and shopping area. Totally renewed in 2008, it offers an equipped swimming pool and solarium, outdoor cafe, restaurant. All rooms and suites are elegant and quiet with balcony overlooking the park or the pool. Indoor Parking, bicycle hire, babysitter, wireless and internet point, tennis courts (50mt.) and golf course (2km). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your California Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel California Park
California Park Hotel Forte Dei Marmi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing