We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Certificate of Excellence
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed here last week with my sister and loved it. The location is excellent, the hotel staff were very helpful. The buffet breakfast was very good with a lot ov different variations. I would recommend the hotel to anyone as it Is near the beach, shops and restaurants. I am already planning my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lovleen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    88
    18
    16
    7
See reviews for
63
100
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

My sister and I really liked this hotel. Our rooms were clean and the cleaning service was really good. The breakfast was nice and grand.Its the near sea and very near the shops.

I would recommend it.

Room Tip: We were to the front of the hotel and I liked the view from the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lovleen71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This hotel is not a must. Rooms are ok, but nights are very uncomfortable due to lots of noises all around the place. Service is ridiculous, waiter even does not know which is a water and which is a wine glass. Pool has no ambiance and please don't look too close for dirt.... Menues where not even canteen like and breakfast was poor, no variety at all, no fresh fruit, coffee was just not to drink. We went on a coach tour, so the price was fair, but I would never in my life pay the full price asked, besides the beach is not free, they want to charge you even if you arrrive after 5.30 p.m! and not a bit but 25 Euro! per person! Avoid this place if you can, there are better ones I am sure

Room Tip: rooms on the back side of the hotel might be less noisy than those facing street an park (with peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Aaretal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The service was terrible in the hotel. We arrived very late in the evening at the hotel and the children had fallen asleep in the car. We took our luggage out of the car on our own, checked in and took our own luggage to the rooms and not even accompanied to the room!! The receptionist saw we were having great trouble holding kids, bags, luggage and didn't even bother to ask us if we needed some help!! Just gave us the keys and said "lift is to your left, first floor, good-night".

We had connecting rooms and to our surprise the rooms were very big, very clean and nicely furnished. Everything was new and in order. The cleaning ladies were very good and efficient in anything we needed.

The restaurant however was a complete joke. We only stayed for breakfast as that was enough for us as the waiters and waitress's were not professional at all. They had no clue how to serve or place a fork on a table! They also looked a total mess!! We waited hours for anything!

The position of the hotel was fantastic, right in front of the beach and 3 minutes walking distance to the center of the town.

I would recommend this hotel if you want a great position, clean and modern rooms but not looking for good service.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PattyBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tongeren
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Due to an administrative missing from the booking organisation, we arrived after a trip of 15 hours - booking was not ok yet, so they found it amusant to let us stay outside and let us the choice to pay double or nothing - especially the receptionist Claudio was laughing and seemed to be very pleased to send us away.
after our double payment, we could stay the night, and the other day things were settled between the booking organisations - the dinner at evening, included in the price, could we forget - but we were happy to have our meals in the restaurants in the village, people liked there guests there and were very friendly..now just trying to get our double payed money back..

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patrickponcelet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights (bed and breakfast) in June and we were very pleased with the hotel. The hotel is found right on the seafront and very close to the centre of forte dei marmii. We found the staff very friendly and the rooms clean, comfortable and spacious with some sea views. The pool was very nice, and the sun loungers were free as were the towels. Overall we had a lovely holiday here.

It should be said that Forte Dei Marmii is very expensive and you need to have alot of spending money to enjoy it to the full. This hotel is expensive compared to other hotels in other destinations but for Forte Dei Marmii prices, it is very reasonable for what you get.

Another tip, if arriving by train, is to get off at Viareggio and catch a bus to Forte Dei Marmii, you'll save £20 pounds on the taxi (from Forte Dei Marmii station to the hotel, the station is right out of town!)

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lottie483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

We stayed half board here for a week. but if you dont like seafood, this is not the place for you, plenty of squid, octopus & mussells etc, and tiny tiny portions, apparently "Nouvelle Cuisine".
The pool is not heated, tap water cold, and the beach is not for use by anyone staying at the hotel, it is all privatley owned, and can only be used if you want to pay 100 (£86.22) euros a day for 2 beds and an umbrella.
car hire 170 (£146.67) euros a day for a fiat uno, and only designer shops to choose from.
3 cups of tea will cost you 9 euros (£7.76) ok if you are loaded, but not something that Thomsons should be recommending for the average family.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fiori94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
0.3 mi away
St Mauritius Hotel
St Mauritius Hotel
#1 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
429 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Il Negresco
Hotel Il Negresco
#2 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
296 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#3 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Pleiadi
Le Pleiadi
#9 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Principe Forte dei Marmi
#6 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Roma Imperiale
Villa Roma Imperiale
#5 of 45 in Forte Dei Marmi
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Via Cesare Giorgini 1, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Forte Dei Marmi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing