We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
Review of St Mauritius Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Mauritius Hotel
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Stay at St.Mauritius for a weekend. Very good staff, nice rooms (108) recently renewed. Large bathroom and confortable bed. Nice swimming pool. Breakfast OK. Restaurant OK too with good food and service. No negative points, I recommend this hotel to everybody!. Also the location is fine, very quiet into a garden area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatto67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stmauritius, Direttore at St Mauritius Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

we thank you very much for your positive comments on our hotel and for recommending it to everybody!
We think that our guests' satisfaction is our best and most reliable advertisement, as well as a reason for a great encouragement for the property, for the employees and myself.
Hoping that you will come back soon, we make our best regards

Giovanna
Dirctor St. Mauritius Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    139
    20
    2
    3
See reviews for
117
212
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sawbridgeworth
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed in the St Mauritius for 3 nights and enjoyed every moment. The rooms are high tech, cool and comfortable. We had a room overlooking the pool (at the front of the hotel) which had a small but well proportioned balcony. The rooms are cleaned daily and the rest of the hotel is exceptionally clean.
We chose half board and this was very good value. The breakfast was varied, with a selection of hot and cold options (scrambled egg and bacon). Homemade cakes, pastries and pancakes, the capuccinos were spot on as you would expect in Italy. A four course evening meal was provided with a good choice and stunning desserts. We ordered food that we might not ordinarily try - te standard was excellent. The restaurant was modern and clean and the waiters were extremely pleasant and helpful. The pool area is very clean. We didn’t actually go in the pool as it was a bit chilly but we enjoyed the sun loungers etc. Forte dei Marmi is stunning lovely and very exclusive with some fabulous shops to enjoy.

I booked this hotel direct - this gave me the added bonus of a welcome drink and free bicycle hire which came in extremely handy - Forte dei Marmi is very flat and there is a cycle track along the seafront.

We ate lunch at Gilda (reasonably priced and stunning location) on the beach and rented a gazebo for the afternoon for Euro 40 (not sure of price in high summer).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovedoodledogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stmauritius, Direttore at St Mauritius Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,
we are really happy that you and your daughter's stay with us completely satisfied you and we thank you for the detailed description you made for each point of view of our hotel.
Getting a lot of appreciation by a careful guest like you are is a great prize for us and we think that your good, accurate and scrupulous comment can be really useful for our future guests.
We therefore thank you once again and hope to see you soon!
Best regards
Giovanna
Dirctor St. Mauritius Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Great staff from the front desk to the waiters and bartenders. The lady bartender (forgot her name) is a doll and made our stay much better. Everyone is polite and happy to help with whatever you need. The Rooms are nice and reasonably priced. We will be back again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chanel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stmauritius, Direttore at St Mauritius Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much from all the staff for your good comment. Sara (this is the bartender's name) in particular thanks you for the specific mention.
We are glad that you liked everything and that you have found the price, good according to our hotel's quality.

We look forward to welcoming you again with our kindness.


Best regards,

Giovanna

Dirctor St. Mauritius Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinner
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Just came back from a 3 night stay. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. It is located within 10 mins walk to the centre, 5 mins from the beach. Completely newly refurbished to a very high standard with comfy large quality beds and silent air conditioning. Good sized swimming pool. Excellent buffet breakfast. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. No complaints.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Superior Room to include balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterwaltersco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stmauritius, Direttore at St Mauritius Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Guest,

we thank you for recommending our hotel with no hesitation.
Compliments of a careful guest like you are reward our efforts in our work and help us to improve.
We hope to see you soon, thank you once again.

Best regards
Giovanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I spent 4 nights at the St. Mauritius with my husband in May. The hotel is well situated in a quiet street, about 500 hundred mt. from the beach (only too bad that it has not even a view of the sea!) and just a 10 minutes walk from the centre of Forte dei Marmi. The outside look is not particularly appealing, the swimming pool is quite small but the garden and the terrace are nice and pleasent to spend some relax time. There are also a useful parking lot on the rear and an additional one in front of the hotel. We had a superior room on the second floor with a tiny balcony facing the swimming pool: the room looked newly refurbished, not really big but comfortable and spotless clean. We liked in particular the wooden floor, the comfy bed with a lovely light duvet, the automatic rolling shutters and the large bathroom with an excellent big shower. Only minor negative point, the TV was a bit small and lacking of Sky channels. Breakfast, as usuallly in Italy, is included in the room rate: buffet is not very extensive and especially lacking in hot dishes but everything is good and fair enough for a typical Italian/continental breakfast, although in a hotel of this level you would expect to find freshly squeezed orange juice and some fresh ready-to-eat fruit instead of canned ones. Positive points are the free use of the hotel bycicles (quite useful in Forte!), the free wi-fi in all areas and the staff of the hotel, always helpful and polite.
Overall, I would recommend the St.Mauritius if you can get a good enough rate (in this area hotels are often overpriced!) and you are looking for a quiet place to stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank stefi1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stmauritius, Direttore at St Mauritius Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive and detailed comment on our hotel’s service and characteristics. We are very glad that you notice it offers a good quality/price ratio: this is very important for us because we consider it as an honesty sign to our guests. Actually, all the rooms and bathrooms were completely renovated and furnished with mattresses and blankets that give the best comfort: we are happy that you appreciated them. Our hotel always aims to improve and realizes nice news every year.
Therefore, we hope we can welcome you again with our kindness.

Giovanna
Director of St. Mauritius Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautifully kept. The rooms are exactly as stated and shown, and just a short bike ride to the private beaches and centre. Fortunately the bikes were included with our rooms, making this even easier to get out and see the town. It is an expensive town in general, this hotel isn't any different from this norm. The service we received from all employees was wonderful, however two individuals stood out and made our stay extra inviting. Sara at the bar took excellent care of us, recommending places to eat and arranging for transport for us when needed. Julia at the front desk also went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. Thanks Julia and Sara!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stmauritius, Direttore at St Mauritius Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Julia and Sara thank you very much for the appreciation: it was their pleasure to contribute making your Holiday beautiful! All the staff aims to always be helpful and careful for any request, so that guests feel perfectly comfortable, and they are happy when this is noticed like you did!
Thank you for the appreciation of many characteristics of the hotel and its services as well.
Come back soon to visit us!
We look forward to welcoming you.

Best regards

Giovanna
Director St. Mauritius hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

After searching for hotels on the Tuscany coast and reading the reviews on Tripadvisor,we are so pleased to choose the St. Mauritious. Our booking was made with hotel directly and chose half-board at a very reasonable rate. From the moment we arrived we were very impressed. We probably should have up-graded to a superior bedroom, but the room was spotlessly clean and linen and towels changed daily. The breakfast was excellent, with a varied choice of cereals, fruit,pastries,meats and eggs,and coffee served with a smile from Laticia. The 4 course evening meal was worthy of some of the very best restaurants, with plenty of choice. The Maitre, D Rocco was both professional and friendly and certainly helped to make our holiday.
Matteo on reception along with his colleagues were extremely helpful with advise on buses, trains etc. particularly in booking our taxi at the end of our stay, also the night porter for providing a breakfast at short notice before we departed. The hotel was due to close at the end of our stay, so it was rather quiet, and feel sure that the staff were looking forward to a welcome break, but this did not show as everyone was so helpful.Thank you all.
The town centre is a pleasant stroll, either along the sea-front or down leafy lanes past was have been expensive villas.The beach is fantastic, but because the weather during our stay was rather cool and rainy, was deserted. For the fashion fans, many of the leading fashion houses are there, and the Wednesday market is something not to be missed.
The only downside to Forte Dei Marmi is that the train station is not near the town centre, and the buses are not timed to coincide with the train times, everything else is lovely.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenneth105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stmauritius, Direttore at St Mauritius Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest,

all the staff and me personally thank you very much for the enthusiastic comment you did about our hotel. Your kindness to mention positively every aspect of our organization and of our structure, touched us.
It was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we hope you’ll come again very soon. Our Hotel has many new proposals every year and consulting our site you can know them.
We are waiting for you to receive you with all our attention and courtesy.

Thank you again and best regards

Giovanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Il Negresco
Hotel Il Negresco
#2 of 44 in Forte Dei Marmi
299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#3 of 44 in Forte Dei Marmi
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Roma Imperiale
Villa Roma Imperiale
#5 of 44 in Forte Dei Marmi
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#6 of 44 in Forte Dei Marmi
217 reviews
1.7 mi away
Le Pleiadi
Le Pleiadi
#8 of 44 in Forte Dei Marmi
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Principe Forte dei Marmi
#7 of 44 in Forte Dei Marmi
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Mauritius Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mauritius Hotel

Property: St Mauritius Hotel
Address: Via Venti Settembre 28, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#3 Business Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — St Mauritius Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your St Mauritius Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mauritius Hotel Forte Dei Marmi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing