We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Forte Dei Marmi
Reviewed 14 November 2012

As a businessman who travels allot, I was compelled to let people know about a certain hotel I recently stayed in that really stood out. Frankly, it’s the best hotel I’ve ever stayed in. It was the Grand Hotel Imperiale in Forte Dei Marmi, Italy. I have stayed in allot of luxury hotels in my travels, but never one quite like this.
Everyone was so accommodating, and I was treated like royalty. When I checked in, I was immediately upgraded from a normal suite to a royal suite. The split level bathroom was divine, and huge. The hot tub was great. There was a living room and bedroom with a little porch where I sat outside and had breakfast every morning. There was total privacy and quiet, and anything I needed, anything at all, was brought up to me instantly.
The shuttle would take me wherever I wanted to go in town, and they always asked where and when I would like to be picked up. Shopping in the town center was glorious. On the second day, I felt like exploring the town, so the concierge hooked me up with a surprisingly nice bicycle, and pointed me toward the beach. It was a beautiful day, and riding through the streets of Tuscany, I really got a sense of what it would be like to live there. From a grandmother yelling and smiling to her daughter who brought groceries, to the wonderful man who invited me into his pizza shop for lunch, it was like going back to a simpler time. I felt so at peace amongst the landscapes, the traditions, and the artistic legacy from the buildings alone. They had my cabana on the beach ready with towels and a drink menu. Perfect! The food was excellent, and the beer was cold.
The next day I did some sightseeing. Tuscany was definitely a permanent influence on high culture, notably, the square of the Cathedral of Pisa. I walked all around Pisa with its Piazza Dei Miracoli and the leaning tower, and then the same day I drove to Lucca, which is a medieval town with ancient medieval walls surrounding the town center.

On my last day, I checked out of the hotel and headed to Rome. I visited San Gimignano, then Siena with its beautiful historical center, and Pienza, which has a typical tuscan landscape: vineyards, olive oil trees and sunflowers. I did some wine tasting there, and I met a lovely couple from Philadelphia, which is near my home town of Pittsburgh.
After seeing all of those beautiful things, I’m surprised at what really stood out. It was the hotel and their wonderful staff. The reception was made up mostly of beautiful women. They spoke English so well, that they were actually joking around with me. All of their recommendations were perfect. It was truly the perfect stay, and if you are ever in Tuscany, this is the best of the best.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Reb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

Beautiful hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the free of charge room upgrade - we received Suite with a marvelous balcony. The service in the hotel is excellent as well as the dishes offered in the hotel's restaurant at the evening. The location is very good. The weather in September was warm and we had a wonderful time. So, although usually we do not visit the same place again, we would be glad to come back here.

Room Tip: The view of sea side rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tetiana X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We knew we wanted to go to Forte dei Marmi, which is a lovely beach resort and ideal for a family with kids. Hotels in Italy can be hit or miss, as you all know, so we took a bit of a gamble picking this one which we found on the internet with little research. We arrived and were allocated two large suites (one upgrade) for a special off season rate. The rooms had nice balconies and were fully kitted out, except no soap in the rooms. They offered complimentary bikes although make sure you "reserve" yours for the duration of your stay else you find "yours" taken by someone else who got there earlier the next day. The staff were very nice and helpful and always smiling. The hotel pool in the back was heated and kids loved it.
I must warn you not to order any room service though as the charge is EUR 15 to EUR 20 each time they bring up a plate or even a glass of milk. I complained and the charge was removed, but this is a real trap.
The spa was small but nice, including Turkish hammam, sauna, jacuzzi (not so nice) and treatments which my wife said were excellent.
The best part was the location, which is literally a 3 minute walk from the central shopping area. The hotel also has access to the beach with its own beach club. Again, the charge for a tent is high considering it is hotel-owned and should be complimentary.
All in all, great hotel but a few pitfalls to be avoided.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mazy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I recently stayed at this luxury hotel for three nights during which we had the opportunity to try out the restaurant and enjoy the quietness and enjoyable surrounds of the hotel complex.
Without any doubt what so ever, I recommend this hotel to all. The service and professionalism of the staff was exceptional yet very friendly. A perfect balance and indeed highly appreciated by my wife and I.
The area in general, makes Italy proud and the attention to keep the town tidy and safe made our stay even more attractive.
Thank you very much for a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I often travel to Forte dei Marmi for bushiness, and this is my favorite hotel there. It has the nicest rooms and a great pool. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Only suites face the front of the hotel (and therefore the ocean). If you get a king room you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r7k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We were two families (4+4) traveling to Forte dei Marmi and decided to stay at Grand Hotel Imperiale. One of the families chose a suite for all four and the other family booked two exec rooms. From the moment of our arrival we were impressed by both staff and facilities. This is a true 5 star hotel situated perfectly in FdM. The pool area is extremely charming although located in the back of the hotel. This means that in October the sun will set behind the hotel at around 4PM. The breakfast was great and the restaurant impeccable. The Spa in the hotel is amazing, small but very luxurious and intimate. Turkish and dry sauna were as they should be. Given that the hotel standards were impeccable it was great to have a staff that did everything they could for you. Very personal and professional but definitely the best! PS. free bicycles available - a fantastic experience!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arispa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

My family and I stayed here in August 2010 but I forgot to write a review and feel that I must as I too rely heavily on other people's comments when booking family summer holidays.

I take many months searching for a five star holiday for the family, particularly in Italy as it's our favourite holiday destination. This is the only 5* hotel in Forte dei Marmi.

I had a feeling when I booked one room was going to be too small for my husband and I and two children and it was... but there were larger rooms available which we took and with an interconnecting door to the children's room. Now these rooms were more like to. Large, luxurious, amazing bathrooms and wonderful large terrace to each room and so much wardrobe space!

The hotel is amazing, a short distance from Florence airport. The hotel is within easy walking distance to the beach and lovely expensive shops and delightful restaurants. The market is wonderful as is the beautiful clean park and we so enjoyed racing cars around a cicular park, great fun.

We spent every day by the stunning mosiac pool. Breakfast was delicious. We had superb dinners in the hotel restaurant most evenings with live music. The staff were very attentive and friendly.

YES it is expensive and YES we would definitely go back to this hotel, we all loved the Grand Hotel Imperiale and Forte dei Marmi is beautiful but would make sure I book the larger rooms in future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Giottolovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roberta_Bonfanti, Direttore at Grand Hotel Imperiale, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2011

Dear Giottolovers,
thank you so much for your review. We do really appreciate that.
We will be pleased to welcoming you back soon at Grand Hotel Imperiale in Forte Dei Marmi.
Warmest Regards,
Roberta Bonfanti, GHI General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Forte Dei Marmi hotels
0.8 mi away
Principe Forte dei Marmi
Principe Forte dei Marmi
#12 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
177 reviews
1.2 mi away
Augustus Hotel & Resort
Augustus Hotel & Resort
#9 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Il Negresco
Hotel Il Negresco
#2 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Villa Roma Imperiale
Villa Roma Imperiale
#4 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
170 reviews
0.7 mi away
St Mauritius Hotel
St Mauritius Hotel
#1 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
486 reviews
0.9 mi away
Byron Hotel
Byron Hotel
#29 of 43 in Forte Dei Marmi
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Imperiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Imperiale

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini n. 20, 55042 Forte Dei Marmi, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Forte Dei Marmi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#4 Spa Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Forte Dei Marmi
Price Range: £177 - £641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Imperiale 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Imperiale is a 5-star luxury hotel situated in a splendid position in the pedestrian area of Forte dei Marmi, in Versilia. Only 300 metres from the sea, and surrounded by the splendid Apuan Alps, this hotel offers, to lovers of style and luxury, perfect accommodation in which to relax and to recover their physical and mental wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Imperiale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Imperiale Forte Dei Marmi, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing