We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hosts...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #2 of 21 Garda B&B and Inns
Reading
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely hosts...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We recently stayed at the San Marco for 8 days. The owners were very helpful and made us very welcome. We hadn't told them in advance that we were vegetarian and they looked slightly dismayed when we told them on our arrival. Tariq made a point of going through all of the foods we ate and during the week presented us with enormous tasty plates of food that we thoroughly enjoyed. The room was very clean and was cleaned and tidied every day.

The only criticism we had was that our room did get very hot - the fan in the room was not enough in the peak season heat. At night we had to choose between closing the windows and overheating or opening them and hearing the noise from outside -air conditioning would have made a big difference.

Room Tip: Facing on to the lake is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maddy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    31
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
42
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

excellent hotel. perfectly positioned on lake garda.rooms are very clean and tidy, staff are very friendly and helpful. thankyou for wonderful stay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Ak
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Hotel San Marco is a gem in the splendid little town of Garda. I have been visiting Garda nearly every summer since 1981 and have stayed at most of the hotels along the lake. Hotel San Marco is the best bargain in Garda. Not for those requiring and willing to pay for a four star experience but a clean, well located, well managed, Italian Inn type hotel. At the quiet end of Garda and only a few steps from the lake. The owners are delightful and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BLawrence1391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Have recently returned from a lovely 12 night stay at the Hotel San Marcos in Garda. Situated in an excellent location next to the lake and only a few minutes away from the bus stop and lake ferry terminal. Our spotlessly clean room had a lake facing balcony which was great for relaxing in the afternoons. Food at the restaurant was excellent with everything we ordered cooked to perfection, loved the fish dishes. Tarik and Marina, the managers, provide an excellent and helpful service. Can honestly recommend this lovely hotel to anyone wishing for a relaxing holiday in a great location and at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biella
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

The hotel is really wonderful, dedicated to who wants a relaxing holiday. It's in front of the lake, and it's one of the best places we've ever been. The owners make everything to make you feel at home. The rooms are spacious and light. The ratio quality/price is really really good. I would advise this hotel to everyone without thinking twice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraCarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Stayed at the San Marco hotel in Garda for one week.
This hotel is situated in a near perfect position, across the road and promenade from the Lake, and only minutes from the main Bus station and town centre.
Obviously, due to it's close proximity with the road and town centre, there was outside noise at times, but this never bothered us.
However, the nearby church clock does ring at 7.00 in the morning and 7.00 at night,
but we felt it was part of the charm of the area.
The manager and his wife were the perfect hosts and served an excellent variety of evening meals.
The breakfast was of the continental variety, as per most small european hotels, and some guests may find this repetitive. However, there are several cafes serving English breakfasts in the town, which may provide a welcome change.
The hotel has approx 12 letting rooms and this engendered a feeling of camaraderie amongst the guests, particularly at mealtimes, where discussions took place regarding favourite places of interest around the lake.
Obviously, the best rooms are to the front of the hotel, some of which have balconies,overlooking the lake.
Garda itself, is in a prime position for visiting various towns around the lake by Ferry or Bus.
One note of caution : when waiting for a bus or ferry, most europeans tend not to queue, and merely rush forward at the sight of the bus or ferry, so you have to be sharp and get on quick.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chesterfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Derek and Marina, the hotel managers, made us very welcome to their small but traditional hotel. Nothing was to much trouble for them. The food choice was limited but very, very good. The location is fantastic, overlooking the lake with views out to the mountains, where you can take your meals on the terrace. Would recommend a balcony to enjoy the views from your room.
Could'nt have picked a better place to stay and we have stayed in some fantastic hotels but San Marco is extremely charming and welcoming.
(No lift to the 3 floors in the hotel)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueberry03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Regina Adelaide Hotel
Regina Adelaide Hotel
#10 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.2 mi away
Poiano Resort Hotel
Poiano Resort Hotel
#11 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#6 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
#5 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Vittoria Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Remat
Hotel Remat
#22 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Property: Hotel San Marco
Address: Largo Pisanello 8, 37016 Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Marco 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel san marco, confortable ad tranquil,situated in a central zone,just 50 meters from the beach.7 rooms with lake view,2 withbalcony.Satellite tv ,parking and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Marco Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing