We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best on a budget”
Review of Hotel all'Ancora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel all'Ancora
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Garda
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A clean tidy presentable two star hotel in a perfect position on the lakeside. Continental breakfast can be taken on a tray outside and you can watch the world go by. Kristina speaks good English and is very helpful. Not all on the desk do however, but hey it's Italy. Consequently there was some confusion about our airport transfer at the end. Check things twice. 10 per cent discount if you eat there. But we were not staying there for the food. Some very good restaurants in garda.

A few nights a week an American named Rod plays and sings until after 11 and the outside bar area becomes one of the few places to go, have a drink and be entertained.

Rooms are not large as it is an old building. They are more than adequate. Public areas a little tired.

Definitely recommend and would return.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Rustpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Just returned from a three night stay at this hotel. Would have reviewed this hotel higher but for the bad attitude from the female owner. I think it is a couple who either own or manage this hotel and the man is fairly pleasant but I could not say the same for the lady. After we paid the bill she then stated there would be a car parking charge which we were not told about earlier. She wanted this payment paid in cash and was not happy when I said it would be paid by card along with the actual hotel payment. Quite an unpleasant woman. She also refused to hand our passports back until we handed back the car parking voucher which we had every intention of doing. (Not great customer relations) There seemed to be a real lack of trust between the management and the hotel guests which I found unnecessary and annoying.

On the plus side the hotel is in a good location and although the breakfast was the usual fare for a hotel in this price range we enjoyed being able to eat outside at the lake front.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrailScotlanduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

just back from a two week stay at this lake front hotel. Ideal location , quick check in , lovely room which was cleaned and had towels and bedding regularly changed . breakfast is continental and can be taken at the lakeside tables. friendly and helpful staff. near to bus and ferry stations . request a balcony/lake view if possible . we have already booked for 2014 :)

Room Tip: ask for balcony /lake front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank griffNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights recently. Hotel is centrally located on the lake front. Check-in was quick and friendly.
We had booked a room with a lake view and it seemed there were only 2 of these rooms available so we were lucky we booked well in advance. We had a shared balcony to the front of the building overlooking the lake. Since these rooms are to the front of the building, do expect a little noise/chatter outside from people using the restuarant's outdoor seating. It was no problem or disturbance for us.
Our room(s) was a family room - one room with double bed, a room with 2 single beds and a seperate bathroom. All were basic in design but spotless clean. Air-Con was great, though situated over the bed meant it had to be off at night to avoid discomfort! A mini-fridge would have made the room perfect for us!
Despite having the 'Do not Disturb' sign on our room door, staff tried to access our room a couple of times - once to water flowers on the balcony (and use our bathroom for water) and another time to check something with the TV remote (not sure why!).
Breakfast was basic but did the job if you're not fussy - cereals, breads, ham, cheese and (very sweet) juices. Ends at 10.30am.
We ate in the hotel's restuarant one evening. Prices were good plus a 10% discount for hotel guests. Waiting staff could have been friendlier here though.
We needed to park our car so availed of the hotel's discount at a 'nearby' communal car park. There's no road access to the hotel so we needed to park in another paid car park first (on Via Columbo) until we checked in and received directions and permit for the hotel car park (Via M.Polo / Via Preare). It was €6 per day and located approx 800m from the hotel. It took about 10 mins to walk back into town. A free shuttle bus does run by the car park every 30mins but takes the long scenic route through the whole town so best to walk if you can. We needed to leave one passport in the reception safe as security for the parking permit and got it back upon return of it.
Also because we stayed more than 2 nights, we could avail of free access to the nearby Garda Aqua swimming pool, sauna facility. We didnt have time to use it but it's a nice feature of the stay.
Check-out time was 10.30am according to our booking details but a leafet from the hotel upon arrival stated 10am (which is early sinice breakfast only ends at 10.30).
Overall, we would stay here again and would recommend the hotel to friends. We paid 50c city tax per person per night on top of our hotel fee. Ideally, a later check-out time of 11am/11.30am would improve this further.

Room Tip: A room with lake view ideally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicNiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

We spent sometime with friends we'd made who were stating here who said the rooms tho basic were great. They ate and drank here every night so it definitely had something our own accom didn't ( the dancing waiter was both hilarious and most importantly charming and did everything with a smile)

A yank called Rod plays at the bar 2/3 evenings a week and provided excellent entertainment on our visit

A place we've key the details of along with Hotel Roma for when we visit Garda town again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornwallgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Five of us stayed in this quaint little hotel for 5 nights from 7th June 2013. From check-in to check -out we were greeted warmly and well taken care of by Claudia and the rest of the staff, with a special mention to the two ladies who kept our rooms clean throughout our stay. Rooms are not luxurious but they are clean, safe and more than adequate for our needs. Breakfast was simple but delicious, with the added bonus of being able to take it out to the lakeside to enjoy the magnificent view and the morning sunshine.

I agree with a previous reviewer that the rooms do lack soundproofing, but in my case, the person in the room next to mine was clearly particularly sensitive, as I was subject to them knocking the wall because I had my television on. However, this was nothing to do with the hotel or its staff, who made my first stay in Garda so wonderful that I cannot wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackiewhite1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

Passing through, I found this quaint little hotel for a sweet price (€38,00 for a single room).
Making a reservation was easy: they can be reached via Skype, and they (Kristina and Klaudia) speak good English.

The hotel is located near the lake, so no traffic noise.
The room was clean, sufficiently spacious and contained a comfortable (single) bed. Having experienced clammy shower curtains at other places, I appreciated the small shower cubicle with a proper door.
Wireless is complimentary and good enough for browsing the net.

The only downside I have to share is the level of sound isolation. Conversations in adjacent rooms can be overheard, and the squeaky floor boards woke me up when the upstairs neighbour started walking around (at 5:30 in the morning).
Still, these are minor inconveniences, unless you are sensitive to auditory influences.

Truly a (nearly) perfect place.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtiBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#25 of 48 in Garda
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bisesti
Hotel Bisesti
#16 of 48 in Garda
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Remat
Hotel Remat
#22 of 48 in Garda
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#24 of 48 in Garda
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#19 of 48 in Garda
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#32 of 48 in Garda
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel all'Ancora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel all'Ancora

Address: Via Alessandro Manzoni 7, 37016 Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Garda
Price Range: £58 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel all'Ancora 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel all'Ancora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All'Ancora Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing