We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big, basic but perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residenza Turistico Alberghiera Doria
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Garda
Durham, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Big, basic but perfect location”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Firstly it is exactly what we imagined after reading all the other comments. It is a spacious apartment spotlessly clean in a perfect location. The owner and other staff are charming and friendly. We have stayed in huge hotels before and you are just another visitor. At the Doria it's different and you really get a warm welcome. The cooking facilities are not great and I could never have cooked anything appetising than heating a tin of beans up. Air con was needed at 50 euros a week.
A lot of reviewers have commented on the noise. It never bothered us but the hotel is on a Main road. The bar is cheap and again the service is excellent and they have free wifi. You must try Doria spritzer. The imperial hotel next door is relaxing and quiet if you want some chill time by the pool ( the water is freezing).
We stayed for a fortnight and tried to visit as much as we could. Garda is perfect to explore other towns including Verona, Simmone, Bardolino, Malchesine and loads more either by ferry or local bus. We went with Crystal (Thomson) on a organised tour of Venice which was excellent and worth the money.
There is loads of places to eat, we enjoyed la losa just beware some places have a hidden cover charge. We loved every minute of Garda and the Doria was perfect for our needs. We would love to return and explore more and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NicDurham_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    20
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was a brilliant holiday! The Doria is basic but brilliant! The rooms were spotlessly clean and the staff were really friendly- the maids and the Manager always had a smile on their face and were always ready with a 'Ciao' in the morning! The bar was very reasonable for drinks and there is a lovely pizzeria called "Jolly" nearby.We were also greeted with welcome drinks on our arrival.

The rooms were very spacious with an equally spacious balcony. Hotel location was excellent for a short stroll to the lakefront. Bardolino was in easy walking distance. There was also a wonderful cobbled beach to the Malcesine side of Garda. We also had access to the Hotel Imperial pool which,although small, was great for our needs. We had a heatwave whilst we were staying there so the Euro 55 was a must! We will definitely be returning there soon- I just hope that everyone else doesn't get there before us!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mattshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This family run residence is excellent for its friendliness,size of apartments closeness to the lake and helpful staff.Bar is open until midnight and very reasonable for drinks and snacks.Breakfast is continental with plenty of cold meats, yoghurt,eggs,breads,pastries,juices and fruit. Beds are comfortable and cleaning is regular,housekeeping staff are friendly and always pleasant. We have stayed here before and wouldn't stay anywhere else when we holiday in Garda,and would always recommend the Doria.

Room Tip: back of building is quiet if you don't like traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anna186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atyrau
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Spacious apartment with large balcony to the back of the hotel. Soundproofing not good and decor / furniture basic ( our wardrobe doors wouldnt shut). 2 ring hob with basic cooking equipment but no sharp knife. Euro 55 for aircon for a week. Aircon was noisy bit worked well. Location very near town centre. The staff were exceptionally pleasant and i would visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Far more spacious than we had expected. Large bedroom with loads storage space and in the very large kitchen/lounge are there were two settees that would have converted into more beds. Fairly well stocked but only a hob to cook on. Friendly owner/manager and staff and decent bar area. Food was available but we didn't check it out. Some have commented on noise but we were at the back (large balcony overlooking car space) being there beginning May found there was little traffic. Although self catering, daily maid service with towels changed every other. Great centre for getting about with bus station and two supermarkets round corner and boat stop on the front. Walking distance of next resort.

Room Tip: In season, consider back rooms if sensitive to street noise - or just drink a little more wine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Just returned from a week in Garda, staying at the Doria Apartments. It was far more than we had expected, especially for the price. Clean and spacious rooms, and reasonably well equipped. Being self catering, I would have liked a small grill, so I could vary the diet a little! But with a wealth of local cafes and resteraunts, at various prices, including the Doria's own bar, this is a very small niggle. We were told there would be no kettle - but there was.

Some reviews have mentioned the noise of the road. We didn't notice it, but we were at the back of the building which probably made a difference. Certainly little noise from other guests, less than you might get in a higher cost hotel.

Rooms were cleaned every day, with fresh linen twice in the week.

There was supposed to be a deposit on the key, but they didn't want it even when we offered. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Even to the point where the barman ran out of ice, and despite us saying it was OK, he ran down the street to fetch some. Lovely people.

Garda town, and the lake are a feast for the eyes. Simply beautiful. Local transport is cheap and efficient to get around on. Our tour rep said it wasn't easy to get to Verona and back (30 miles away), but it was, and less than 8 euros return. The local people are so very polite and helpful. Especially in the tourist advise office (100 yards from the Doria).

Garda appeals to the more mature age range. No noisy bars, no drunken louts. Very peaceful and pretty place. Try as I might, I can find nothing bad to say about our week. On a limited budget, I highly recommend both the Doria, and Garda.

Room Tip: Probably a rear facing room. You get to see the locals, and it may avoid any noise from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ARC123186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

First off, let's say that the apartment gave us more room than we would expect from a place of this overall size, and the rooms were clean, with fresh towels daily, and all the facilities we would expect. The distance from the town was fine (10 mins walk if that) and there is a very good fruit and veg store two doors away (that also does drinks and some ham/cheese etc). The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke sufficiently good English.
However, the noise from the road is significant if your room is at the front and would not suit light sleepers. Even with the shutters down and the windows closed, the traffic sound from the main road into Garda was intrusive to say the least. Also the interior walls and floors are very echoey, so sounds from neighbouring rooms (toilets flushing, doors opening) travels well !
If they could sort out some sound-proofing this would be a perfect location.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeyTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garda hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#8 of 49 in Garda
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#10 of 49 in Garda
639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
#9 of 49 in Garda
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#27 of 49 in Garda
59 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Anthea
Hotel Villa Anthea
#7 of 49 in Garda
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palme & Suite
Hotel Palme & Suite
#43 of 49 in Garda
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Turistico Alberghiera Doria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Turistico Alberghiera Doria

Property: Residenza Turistico Alberghiera Doria
Address: Via Don Carlo Gnocchi 47, 37016 Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Turistico Alberghiera Doria 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doria is situated 300 meter far from the center and the garda lake, offer twoo-rooms apartments ,one parking per apt guarantee, garage, bar, buffet breakfast available, roof terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residenza Turistico Alberghiera Doria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Turistico Alberghiera Doria Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing