We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric restaurant”

Il Giardino Delle Rane
Ranked #9 of 90 Restaurants in Garda
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Attached to the Astoria hotel in Garda.
Blackpool
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Atmospheric restaurant”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Il Giardino was the restaurant at the hotel Astoria where we stayed this year so we visited a couple of times. All the restaurants in ~Garda are good but this one always seems to be very busy which gives a good atmosphere, it is very popular and sometimes you have to wait for a seat. The last night of our holiday it was pouring rain, torrential, but still the restaurant was full and you can eat under the canopies even in the rain. We had a dish which we shared between us, chicken in a yogurt and garlick sauce (afraid I can't remember what it was called on the menu) but we loved it, and it was a change. ~There is an extensive menu and if you want something light I can recommend the cheese and ham omlettes.~Although it was busy the staff were quick and efficient, they all work so hard. If in Garda give this restaurant a try

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank poshpawsBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    311
    126
    59
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Super salads”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Had a salad here for lunch recently which was fabulous. Good choice of salads, I had Aria which includes smoked salmon, almonds, pineapple. Generous portions too. Staff were helpful and polite. Would eat here again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank 534HappyExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coulsdon, Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very Characterful”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

An easily recognisable place with all the frogs outside.

We had walked past this place on many occasions on both this and our previous stay at Garda and decided to try it for lunch.

There is a good choice of places to sit (either outside, in a 'conservatory' type structure or in the hotel/restaurant itself.

We thought the food was very good although those with a lighter appetite may prefer to order from the children's menus.

There is a huge selection of food and very helpfully instructions are provided (in Italian, German and English) as to where and how to pay.

There is a cover charge of €1.50 per person although bread is provided and it's actually very tasty. I thought the price for the food itself was very reasonable.

Overall the restaurant has a great character, the food and service is great and it certainly stands out from the crowd.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY SUPERB FOOD”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Dined 'In the Garden of Frogs' every night on our short break of 4 days. Waiters were efficient and polite and welcoming but bearing in mind how busy and successful this restaurant is, it must be tedious to smile when different languages expect the waiter to understand them and describe what the food is - most of us can't speak a word of Italian. Yes there is a cover charge, here it was E1.50 per person and you get a basket of bread. Most restaurants appear to have a cover charge from E1 to E2.00 per person. Our 10% discount card included food and drinks, so for instance my husbands freshly prepared and not packeted carbanara was the best he had ever had, likewise was my huge freshly prepared salad which incuded just about every salad ingredient possible and consisted of pieces of crab, salmon, sardines baby mozarello and olives, a large beer, carafe of wine came to E26.55 - worth every single Euro. Lively buzzing restaurant, every table taken both in the garden and upstairs. Fresh, quality food prepared to order. The huge parmessan crisp which was loaded with sliced chicken breast and served with a rosemary and sage sauce and rice was good enough for masterchef in its flavour, uniqueness and presentation. Be prepared to wait, order a drink and sit down and just enjoy the surroundings. We saw repeat diners night after night,that says it all!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swim12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Discount not applied”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We visited this place after the Thomson rep. told us just mention your with Thomson and you'll get 10% off so we did but when paying the bill I was asked for a card. I told them, 'There is no card' and as a result no discount was applied. So instead we did not leave a tip. The way to avoid this hassle is go somwhere that advertises 'no service charge' like the place next to them, then you'll get more than 10% off a lunch bill and not to be served bread you don't want for E3.
Food nothing special in any case!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GeordieJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Giardino Delle Rane also viewed

Garda, Province of Verona
Garda, Province of Verona
 
Garda, Province of Verona
Garda, Province of Verona
 

Been to Il Giardino Delle Rane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing