We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel very nice, food boring” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poiano Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poiano Resort Hotel
Ranked #11 of 48 Hotels in Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Queenstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel very nice, food boring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for four days at the end of April 2014. The room was very nice and clean. We had a balcony with a lovely view over the countryside. The food was not great and in fact rather boring with similar dishes every day. Definitely lacking in inspiration.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_Liz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    426
    166
    43
    15
See reviews for
348
716
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This Hotel is lovely with friendly and professional staff. Wonderful views too. Cannot complain about our room either - and the bathroom was very nice - All very clean with plenty fresh towels. Nothing wrong with the decor either - even though some people complain about it - you dont go on holiday to stare at the decor after all!!!
The disappointment was the food in the restaurant. Breakfast was OK - Dinner certainly could do with lots of improvement. We are certainly not fussy eaters and the salad buffet to start was very nice and also the cakes and fruit for dessert were great - BUT if you are not quick off the mark to get them then it seems to be "tough luck". The starters and main courses unfortunately left a lot to be desired. We did not enjoy the main courses the whole week we were there. Presentation was good - but the Pasta dishes in particular were completely tastless as was the majority of the food - not a great variety. All very boring and unexciting and we honestly never looked forward to Dinner. You also have to fill in a form stating what you are having for dinner the night before! A bit like when you are in hospital!! We were told by Reception that it was a 20 min walk down to Lake Garda - ha ha - it took us nearly an hour in the heat and if you walk back it is hilly. Much longer than is stated tool. Free shuttle bus from Hotel is good (seats 8) but get outside early for it and check the times as there is a big gap in middle of the day when it is off. In general we liked the Hotel - but definitely NOT the food. Would definitely go back to Lake Garda but would not stay at Pioano again- would want to be down nearer the Lake and be able to look forward to a nice meal in the evening.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and found it very quiet - even though we had read some reviews about noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marymary20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melegnano, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We got there for our anniversary weekend. Using a smartbox. We got a room with a beautiful view, the room wasn't big, actually for what I'm used to it was kind of small, the bathroom was good, with shower and hydromassage. Room and bathroom clean. The decor is kind of old though, curtains and bed clothes are like my grandma's used to have.

Breakfast and 1 dinner was included in our package, for breakfast there are not a lot of options, and coffee wasn't really good, it's better to arrive as early as possible because the 2nd morning was chaotic with all the people trying to get a table and breakfast. For dinner, I wouldn not recommended it at all, the good thing is there is a salad buffet so you can eat all the salad you want, also the dessert it's a buffet. The 1st dish I got canelloni wich were so so... my husband wasn't thay lucky, he got a pasta with tomato sauce or something similar but it was flavorless. The 2nd dish I got chicken with curry and rice, I believe the rice wasn't well cooked, and the chicken + curry... not so good, my husband the unlucky one got shrimps, that he couldn't eat, he told me it was inedible, i real shame for a 4-stars hotel.

The landscape it's fabulous, we didn't use the pool but it looked nice, the staff was really cordial, always saying hi and wishing you a good day. The spa you can get in there and use the sauna, and other things for 12euro, they include slipper, towel, and bathrobe. We got 2 massages, wich were at 70euro each one, but I loved my masseuse. That night I slept wonderfully.

The wifi is not for free...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizvbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoianoGarda, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Elizvbm

First of all I have to say that your grandma has a very good taste! ;-)

It's a pity to hear that our breakfast buffet was not good enough for you with all the sweet and savory options that there are... Anyway there's always the possibility of ask to the maitre what you want and, be sure, they will do everything they can to satisfy your requirements.
... I'm really thinking about what we are missing for breakfast with all the different kinds of cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, fruit in syrup, brioches, cold cuts, cheeses, breads, 6 different types of jams and 6 different types of diet jams, honey, vegetables, teas, juices, 3 minutes eggs, 5 minutes eggs, bacon, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, coffee, hot milk, cold milk, butter... Now I'm really curious to know what we are missing!!!! :-)

About the restaurant, again, if there's something wrong you can always call the maitre, he will be happy to help you.

Best regards from Lake Garda!!

Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

My partner, myself and our 4 year old booked to stay in the poiano hotel for a week in may. We were impressed by the lovely grounds. However on checking in we were given a room with only two single beds. The room was cramped with dirty walls with a outside view of a stone wall. I complained to staff at reception who said that they could put in a camp bed. i was not happy about this so they offered us another room with three beds which was right above the noisy reception.Being 31 weeks pregnant and not sleeping to well i found this to be an unacceptable room also. we decided then to pay extra for a suite. The buildings that house the suites are in two different buildings which are accessed by a steep hill. luckily we had rented a car so this wasnt much of a problem for us but for others with health issues it may be.
The suite was an improvement, the views were spectactular. we had a little patio area with two sun loungers.The room was cleaned daily with fresh towels everyday if required. However there is no double beds just very uncomfortable low single beds that bow in the middle. The room was also overrun with ants. By this stage i couldnt be bothered complaining as i imagined little would be done.
Breakfast was nice enough apart from the foul juice that they serve. we didnt eat in the restaurant so i cant comment on that. There is a nice pizzeria at the end of the road which are happy to do a takeaway. There is also a fantastic steakhouse not to faraway that was great value and provided lovely food and service.

The pool area is good. The water is freezing but there is no shortage of sunbeds. Just bring your own towels as the hotel charges for towel rental.
I used the spa facilities on one day at an extra charge of €12 which was ok.

overall the poiano is not bad. The surrounding area is beautiful but it is a bit of a hike from the centre of the town. unless they decide to upgrade the beds i dont think i would stay again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank smuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

In all we liked our visit to the Poiano very much. The Hotel is about a Mile away from Garda in it's own magnificent grounds offering relaxation and also a variety of sports. The Hotel itself is clean, the staff is excellent and the service faultless. The meals offered were generally good and well presented, though the breakfast could do with fresh juices and a bit more variety. The rooms were clean and comfortable, so were the baths, but fittings were outdated and need an urgent update. The rattan furniture needs replacement and storage facilities are inadequate. Still, we liked the Poiano and the only real complaint is the shuttle service which is timed wrong for the needs of the Hotel guests and should be revised. Still, Lake Garda is wonderful and makes up for any shortcomings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redsilence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed in one of the Hotel apartments. Accommodation was perfect, staff friendly, our children adored the Hotel, especially the Olympic size swimming pool and pool-side bar/food stop, playing football too and enjoying the play areas. We even had a dramatic storm when the pool area was evacuated and we had to shutter ourselves inside our apartment!

We stayed slightly off-season (May) so Hotel was not packed. Few points to note:
~single Hotel shuttle runs to and from Lake Garda but this is not too frequent and often too busy to get on, especially when family of 6.
~use local bus service, very cheap and regular and drops/picks up right by Lake.
~beware in peak season we understand the Hotel is absolutely rammed, mainly with German tourists, no chance of getting on Shuttle and local bus also difficult.
~Lake is walkable but would take a good 45mins-1 hour as family, and very hot!
~Hotel has a small shop but best to buy any provisions at nearby supermarket, en route to Lake.
~Pizza restaurant at end of Drive is excellent.
~Gardaland is a family theme park within reach via buses from Garda centre but take note of closing times and plan return trip carefully as limited buses coming back.
~lots of excellent walks alongside the Lake.
~take a boat trip on the Lake to one of the other towns.
~take a coach/bus up to Mt Baldo, cable car up and strikingly different vista.

We had a fantastic time on our Italian adventure. Only small gripes were that the Poolside food-bar was advertised as open until late but closed very promptly in PM, that caught us out first night but did lead us to discover the pizza-house at end of drive. We booked via Inghams and whereas everything was co-ordinated in terms of coach pick-ups the one thing they hadn't advised us properly about (we got an ambiguous note) was that on morning of departure we had to organise a shuttle from Hotel reception down to the coach pick-up point. Only concern would be going back in peak-season as could be awkward getting to and from Lake, use taxis I guess.

Room Tip: Read above bullets about things to do and logistics.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I was stay with this hotel in moth of January . It was a good hotel with good sight view. Staff is very friendly nature .i enjoyed here with my friends .beautiful restaurant with various breakfast.every room has wonderful view

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckettColeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garda
21.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 32 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
21.7 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Hotel Residence Torbole
Hotel Residence Torbole
#4 of 32 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.2 mi away
Regina Adelaide Hotel
Regina Adelaide Hotel
#10 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.0 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poiano Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poiano Resort Hotel

Property: Poiano Resort Hotel
Address: Via Poiano, 37016 Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Garda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Garda
#9 Family Hotel in Garda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Poiano Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poiano Resort is surrounded by 60 hectares of Mediterranean greenery and offers a number of ways to unwind: La Spa (with swimming pool with salt water, turkish bath, sauna, biosauna, emotional showers and massages), Olympic size swimming pool, 6 tennis clay courts, artificial 5-a-side football pitch, beach volleyball, archery, gymnasium with personal trainer, children's playground, game room, table tennis, shop, sporting events and musical entertainment in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poiano Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poiano Hotel Garda
Poiano Resort Hotel Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing