We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poiano Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Panorama(Costermano)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,743)
Filter reviews
1,743 results
Traveller rating
903
541
209
67
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
903
541
209
67
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolympic size pooljunior suitewater polothe buspiano barlake gardaprepared fruitevery half hourself cateringtennis courtshalf boardthe main hotelup hilltable tennisshuttle servicefootball pitchfree shuttle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 1,743 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Once again, our holiday was made very special by the wonderful staff in this hotel, who go out of their way to be helpful and firendly. We were remembered by some of them from last year and received a warm welcome. Our favourites were Carmine in the restaurant, and Franklin & Luigi in the bar, but everyone was lovely. The bell boy, whose name I can't remember was particularly helpful and gave us a lift into Garda when we had an early start before the courtesy bus started. There has been some extension and maintenance work on the hotel and apartments, and we noticed a few cut backs this year, perhaps to offset some of the expenditure on that. Breakfast was almost as good as last year, but we missed the lovely muffins, and would have preferred them instead of one of the 3 types of croissant. Also, during the first few days, there was no prepared fruit at breakfast, and peeling pears with a blunt knife proved very messy indeed - nice as they were. When we mentioned that this was a disappointment, prepared fruit appeared the next day which was great. At dinner, the salad and dessert choice was great as always, but although beautifully presented, many of the 1st and 2nd courses were quite bland. After having pasta with beautiful flavours last year, this was a shame. Also some of the choices on the menu were a bit odd (fried eggs and ham? really?). The hotel itself is clean and well appointed. We prefer the back rooms as they are cooler, but the front rooms have the lake view if you don't mind the heat.The spa is good for a cool day, although the prices of the treatments seemed a higher than what we are used to in England. The olympic sized pool is great, as is the gym and the very helpful guy on duty. Activities are available for those who want them. The only facility that we would like to see is a more frequent courtesy bus, as there can be a battle for this even at quiet times when we visit. The walk downto Garda took us 20 to 30 minutes at a fairly slow stroll, so I'm surprised to read reviews saying it takes an hour -perhaps they didn't take the shortest route. However, returning is uphill all the way, and a bit of a strain when the sun is out. The last courtesy bus is before lunch, so if we want to eat in Garda, we have to wait until late afternoon, or walk back - this is our only real niggle. We loved afternoon tea on the terrace and pre/after dinner drinks on the terrace overlooking the lake. In summary, we will be returning next year as the staff made our stay very enjoyable, but it would be great if the food could be brought back to the excellent standard that we've enjoyed before.

Room Tip: See review
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was our fourth visit to the Poiano. We do visit when it is quiet and this year we managed to miss the German Bank Holiday which can make it a bit busy.
It is the wonderful staff that make this hotel so special. The whole period of your holiday they work hard in a very professional manor to ensure your every need is met. Staff do remember returning guests, particularly Carmine in the dinning room making you feel that bit special.
We understand that plans are afoot to carry out renovation work particularly in the apartments. As a result certain things seemed to have been cut back. Such as the smaller fresh fruits at breakfast. When we mentioned this, cherries and strawberries appeared at breakfast the following day.
It was as usual a wonderful visit.
We enjoy the pool area, the views of the lake from the terrace especially in the early evening when Franklyn and Luigi will serve you anything from afternoon tea to cocktails. It really doesn't matter where your room is. Yes you can have lake views, these rooms tend to get more sun. The garden views are quieter and cooler in the afternoon and evening.
Last year we mentioned that although there were plenty of sun lounger there was a shortage of sun parasols. There were more this year.
We were grateful that on the day we had an early bus to catch in Garda, Reception organised for the shuttle bus to run us down to Garda before the official runs started.
The mini bus for us is the only down side because of course everyone wants the first one down and the last one back. ( before the three hour break) . We often find the service bus, which is free, the better option, but again this stops in the early afternoon. Perhaps the hotel could offer the service that you could ring from the phones in the centre of Garda to ask for a lift up the hill.
This is a hotel that delivers the best but is always willing to listen to any ideas in order to make that best even better.
We have already planned our return for May 2015 - See you then

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MillsYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We visited Garda at the end of May and found this hotel to be in a beautiful position well above the town. As a result the walk to the lakeside was a bit of a challenge and would take at least 30 minutes going down and longer to come back and uphill. While there is a shuttle bus this sometimes does not run to suit the clients with the start at 10.00 am and finish at 12.45 pm, restarting at 5.00 pm until 9.45 pm. If you wish to go off early in the morning from the lakeside you then need to walk, which puts you at a disadvantage over other resort residents. The facilities in the hotel are excellent with a fantastic pool and plenty of loungers and umbrellas. Rooms were comfortable with fantastic views. Staff are excellent and very helpful. We found the food a bit hit or miss and while breakfast was generally good the dinner starter and main courses were a bit bland. As a result of this we had meals on two nights in Garda just to get some variety.

Cannot fault the staff, the comfort or the facilities but feel the hotel is quite far out of the resort and does not have the best food in town.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Banker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for four days at the end of April 2014. The room was very nice and clean. We had a balcony with a lovely view over the countryside. The food was not great and in fact rather boring with similar dishes every day. Definitely lacking in inspiration.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike_Liz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This Hotel is lovely with friendly and professional staff. Wonderful views too. Cannot complain about our room either - and the bathroom was very nice - All very clean with plenty fresh towels. Nothing wrong with the decor either - even though some people complain about it - you dont go on holiday to stare at the decor after all!!!
The disappointment was the food in the restaurant. Breakfast was OK - Dinner certainly could do with lots of improvement. We are certainly not fussy eaters and the salad buffet to start was very nice and also the cakes and fruit for dessert were great - BUT if you are not quick off the mark to get them then it seems to be "tough luck". The starters and main courses unfortunately left a lot to be desired. We did not enjoy the main courses the whole week we were there. Presentation was good - but the Pasta dishes in particular were completely tastless as was the majority of the food - not a great variety. All very boring and unexciting and we honestly never looked forward to Dinner. You also have to fill in a form stating what you are having for dinner the night before! A bit like when you are in hospital!! We were told by Reception that it was a 20 min walk down to Lake Garda - ha ha - it took us nearly an hour in the heat and if you walk back it is hilly. Much longer than is stated tool. Free shuttle bus from Hotel is good (seats 8) but get outside early for it and check the times as there is a big gap in middle of the day when it is off. In general we liked the Hotel - but definitely NOT the food. Would definitely go back to Lake Garda but would not stay at Pioano again- would want to be down nearer the Lake and be able to look forward to a nice meal in the evening.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and found it very quiet - even though we had read some reviews about noise we certainly were not disturbed by anything. Views were amazing.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marymary20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews