We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Poiano Resort Hotel
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed for a week and were not disappointed. The setting is really lovely and the pool excellent. Staff could not have been better, very attentive and tolerated our attempts at Italian. Room was very clean and comfortable, only drawback was we were just above the main entrance and terrace and the noise level from other guests and the music meant don't try to sleep before 11.30 pm. Some compensation was the view from the room balcony. Food was good but we had to choose our menu the evening before! The hotel shuttle doesn't operate between 12.30 and 5.00 and this we thought could be extended to accommodate a morning trip into Garda and back after lunch. All in all this was a most enjoyable holiday

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    444
    174
    44
    16
See reviews for
367
761
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We visited here for a 10 night stay, Half board from 28th May - 7th June and thoroughly enjoyed it. Most of the hotels nearer to town are 2 star, so at 4 star, Hotel Poiano may be a walk away but it is worth it in several factors:

Pros:
- The staff are very friendly and work extremely hard! Little touches made our holiday from our cleaner noticing we pushed our beds together the first night and therefore making our bed into a double every night after, to one of the drivers picking us up in his own car on his way to work as we walked back from the town! They really go above and beyond.
- The room! So spacious and spotless - ours had a huge balcony with 2 sunbeds, a table and 2 chairs. There is also tons of wardrobe space, a safe, a TV (although only 1 English channel CNN - but who wants to watch TV on holiday?!), a dressing table and jacuzzi bathtub bathroom.
- The location - this is a pro and a con. Yes, it is far away (about 25 min walk which in the heat was a bit draining even for us 24 year olds!) but the hillside views, the quiet and the best of the sun make it worth while!
- The free shuttle bus service - this was very handy, you need to time it right but the timings caused no major issue for us and if there wasn't enough room they'd send another one right away.
- Pool is HUGE! Bit chilly but this is very refreshing
- Pool bar - great if you're staying at the hotel for the day and prices aren't bad, same as usual local ones

Cons
- Food. This really is the only thing that truly lets the Poiano slip. With such a lovely restaurant with great views, it's a shame that certain elements let it down. You have to choose your next night's meal whilst eating dinner, which can be annoying when you're trying to eat having to then look at what to have the next night. Also, the breakfast was a bit lack lustre - yes, you could argue it had almost everything, but with no fresh juice, no sausages, pancakes or anything too hearty it often meant we ate out at lunch as we were so hungry, which we don't usually do when on holiday. I have been to 4* hotels or less who serve fresh omelettes, bread, pancakes, sausages, bacon (Poiano bacon in really parma ham lightly fried) etc etc. The dessert also let the side down - no labels (bad for allergies and also bad for choosing), no refilling so all the chocolate orientated ones are gone in a flash and they charge extra for ice cream.

We didn't use the facilities much - it was too hot for the spa but this looked good, table tennis free and they had football and tennis courts you could use at a cost.

Overall, my trip to Garda was excellent and Poiano is almost there in keeping everyone happy - only the food really lets the side down. I think next time I come to Garda I would still stay in Poiano but pay for the room only and use my money to eat out and have proper Italian cooking!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here at the start of May. The first room we were offered wasn't acceptable - but on telephoning reception they moved us to a junior suite. This was quite a distance from the hotel - up a steep hill - the room was very spacious with a fabulous view of lake Garda.

The hotel was fairly busy when we arrived.. Breakfast was a bit of a bun fight for a table that wasn't made up - and food was average.

The bell boy Benny was fantastic and was always available to give us a lift up to the apartment (if we required it) in the back of a golf buggy. He was by far, we found, the most communicative and friendly member of staff on the site.

The shuttle bus was useful and ran regularly - which was great.

The area is lovely and we really enjoyed our break in Garda.



Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank C-A63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Once again, our holiday was made very special by the wonderful staff in this hotel, who go out of their way to be helpful and firendly. We were remembered by some of them from last year and received a warm welcome. Our favourites were Carmine in the restaurant, and Franklin & Luigi in the bar, but everyone was lovely. The bell boy, whose name I can't remember was particularly helpful and gave us a lift into Garda when we had an early start before the courtesy bus started. There has been some extension and maintenance work on the hotel and apartments, and we noticed a few cut backs this year, perhaps to offset some of the expenditure on that. Breakfast was almost as good as last year, but we missed the lovely muffins, and would have preferred them instead of one of the 3 types of croissant. Also, during the first few days, there was no prepared fruit at breakfast, and peeling pears with a blunt knife proved very messy indeed - nice as they were. When we mentioned that this was a disappointment, prepared fruit appeared the next day which was great. At dinner, the salad and dessert choice was great as always, but although beautifully presented, many of the 1st and 2nd courses were quite bland. After having pasta with beautiful flavours last year, this was a shame. Also some of the choices on the menu were a bit odd (fried eggs and ham? really?). The hotel itself is clean and well appointed. We prefer the back rooms as they are cooler, but the front rooms have the lake view if you don't mind the heat.The spa is good for a cool day, although the prices of the treatments seemed a higher than what we are used to in England. The olympic sized pool is great, as is the gym and the very helpful guy on duty. Activities are available for those who want them. The only facility that we would like to see is a more frequent courtesy bus, as there can be a battle for this even at quiet times when we visit. The walk downto Garda took us 20 to 30 minutes at a fairly slow stroll, so I'm surprised to read reviews saying it takes an hour -perhaps they didn't take the shortest route. However, returning is uphill all the way, and a bit of a strain when the sun is out. The last courtesy bus is before lunch, so if we want to eat in Garda, we have to wait until late afternoon, or walk back - this is our only real niggle. We loved afternoon tea on the terrace and pre/after dinner drinks on the terrace overlooking the lake. In summary, we will be returning next year as the staff made our stay very enjoyable, but it would be great if the food could be brought back to the excellent standard that we've enjoyed before.

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was our fourth visit to the Poiano. We do visit when it is quiet and this year we managed to miss the German Bank Holiday which can make it a bit busy.
It is the wonderful staff that make this hotel so special. The whole period of your holiday they work hard in a very professional manor to ensure your every need is met. Staff do remember returning guests, particularly Carmine in the dinning room making you feel that bit special.
We understand that plans are afoot to carry out renovation work particularly in the apartments. As a result certain things seemed to have been cut back. Such as the smaller fresh fruits at breakfast. When we mentioned this, cherries and strawberries appeared at breakfast the following day.
It was as usual a wonderful visit.
We enjoy the pool area, the views of the lake from the terrace especially in the early evening when Franklyn and Luigi will serve you anything from afternoon tea to cocktails. It really doesn't matter where your room is. Yes you can have lake views, these rooms tend to get more sun. The garden views are quieter and cooler in the afternoon and evening.
Last year we mentioned that although there were plenty of sun lounger there was a shortage of sun parasols. There were more this year.
We were grateful that on the day we had an early bus to catch in Garda, Reception organised for the shuttle bus to run us down to Garda before the official runs started.
The mini bus for us is the only down side because of course everyone wants the first one down and the last one back. ( before the three hour break) . We often find the service bus, which is free, the better option, but again this stops in the early afternoon. Perhaps the hotel could offer the service that you could ring from the phones in the centre of Garda to ask for a lift up the hill.
This is a hotel that delivers the best but is always willing to listen to any ideas in order to make that best even better.
We have already planned our return for May 2015 - See you then

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MillsYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We visited Garda at the end of May and found this hotel to be in a beautiful position well above the town. As a result the walk to the lakeside was a bit of a challenge and would take at least 30 minutes going down and longer to come back and uphill. While there is a shuttle bus this sometimes does not run to suit the clients with the start at 10.00 am and finish at 12.45 pm, restarting at 5.00 pm until 9.45 pm. If you wish to go off early in the morning from the lakeside you then need to walk, which puts you at a disadvantage over other resort residents. The facilities in the hotel are excellent with a fantastic pool and plenty of loungers and umbrellas. Rooms were comfortable with fantastic views. Staff are excellent and very helpful. We found the food a bit hit or miss and while breakfast was generally good the dinner starter and main courses were a bit bland. As a result of this we had meals on two nights in Garda just to get some variety.

Cannot fault the staff, the comfort or the facilities but feel the hotel is quite far out of the resort and does not have the best food in town.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Banker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for four days at the end of April 2014. The room was very nice and clean. We had a balcony with a lovely view over the countryside. The food was not great and in fact rather boring with similar dishes every day. Definitely lacking in inspiration.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike_Liz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garda
21.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 32 in Torbole
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
21.7 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Regina Adelaide Hotel
2.0 mi away
Aqualux Hotel Spa & Suite Bardolino
1.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poiano Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poiano Resort Hotel

Property: Poiano Resort Hotel
Address: Via Poiano, 37016 Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Garda
#4 Luxury Hotel in Garda
#9 Family Hotel in Garda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Poiano Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poiano Resort is surrounded by 60 hectares of Mediterranean greenery and offers a number of ways to unwind: La Spa (with swimming pool with salt water, turkish bath, sauna, biosauna, emotional showers and massages), Olympic size swimming pool, 6 tennis clay courts, artificial 5-a-side football pitch, beach volleyball, archery, gymnasium with personal trainer, children's playground, game room, table tennis, shop, sporting events and musical entertainment in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Poiano Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poiano Hotel Garda
Poiano Resort Hotel Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing