We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never, ever again! by Mike & Monica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Poiano Resort Hotel
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

After a 20 year career in overseas travel and many holidays abroad, this is probably the worst hotel and rudest restaurant staff I have ever encountered. Like "Emma 2606" we also travelled to Garda en route to the Queen Elizabeth cruise.. We were herded into an alcove. Were forced to eat cold and often inedible food, a lesson in budget cookery, presented in unheated and unlabelled urns.How could any self respecting chef allow that? We were refused entry into the restaurant because that was for "paying guests...you are the coach party" , a phrase used several times by the unpleasant man in charge of the restaurant who failed to recognise the quality of the members of that "coach party" (ourselves excluded!) . After the thirdclass dinners coffee was not available: we had to order from the bar and wait up to 20 minutes, and the only wine easily obtained was house white or red .. We had to take it to the tables ourselves!
Food was not available during the day except snacks from the pool bar, which was closed in bad weather and difficult to access for those less mobile.Our tour guide was excellent, the venue very attractive but the restaurant totally spoilt what should have been an idyllic holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoianoGarda, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Mike & Monica
As we already answered to your tour partner Brenda, we realized that was a misunderstanding between you and the agency that organized your tour.
We can understand that is fair for you to think that we are responsible for your dissatisfaction, but I assure you we do the best we can to meet our guests expectations.

Your sincerely
Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,567)
There are newer reviews for Poiano Resort Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 1,567 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Before my holiday to this hotel I viewed Tripadvisor and saw the awful comments and thought that this can’t be right, but it was.

The Italians can cook spaghetti but they can’t cook either scrambled eggs or fried eggs. The fried eggs were congealed and the scramble eggs were a bright yellow – never seen scramble eggs so yellow, I did wonder if they were powered, surely not? The Orange Juice was tasteless even with the additional sugar. The water melon was ok but I can get tinned pears and peaches at home.

When the weather is poor then the thing to do is go to the Lake but the shuttle bus only seats 8. The hotel will put on another shuttle bus but only if the bellboy is available, at times he wasn’t and you wasted your time waiting for the bus; it’s a long walk! I don’t understand how the manager can say that this service is a’ plus’ because given the hotel’s location a viable shuttle bus service is expected from a 4 Star hotel, however, note my bottom line.

If you have children and the weather is ok then the hotel has some good activities and the pool is really good.

The trip, “Venice by Night” is a must. The desk staff tried their best and were polite and helpful.

However, the bottom line, this is not a 4 Star hotel and you should lower your expectations and then lower them again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoianoGarda, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

WOW! That was a real hard shot! ...

Dear John

It's really sad for us to know that Poiano didn't fit your expectations indipendently from how many stars we have or we should or could have since stars do not depend on the color of the eggs or the number of seats of the free shuttle bus.

Anyhow your recommendations help us to evaluate the average of satisfactions of our Clients and always try the best to improve our services.

The distance from the lake (that you can see on our web site or simply on Google maps) is what allow us to offer our guests 60 acres of greenery, 6 tennis courts, Olympic size swimming pool and children's pool, beach volleyball court, futbol field, playground, archery and a lot of outdoor activities.

For rainy days there is the new wellness center and a playroom for kids besides planty sightseens and excursion possibilities

Thank you for appreciating the kindness of our staff... for us this is very important!

We will be very pleased to serve you again.

Yours sincerely

Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just returned from stay at the Poiana Hotel part of a group of 40 with Imagine Cruising. Hotel totally unsuitable for our group this is not a 4 star hotel obviously Imagine must not have visited this hotel to judge its suitabilty. We were treated as second class guests in the restaurant and the food was poor. The shuttle bus service to and from Lake Garda was a joke as it only held 8 passengers and ran half hourly and only part of the day last bus from Lake Garda in the evening was 9.45. Hotel good if you have young children but basic. Saving grace was the 7 days we spent on the QE2 cruising otherwise our holiday would have been ruined in the process of claiming compensation from Imagine. Frank from Birmingham

Room Tip: quiet rooms are at the back as you get noise from the terrace in the evening
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRENDA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoianoGarda, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Brenda
As you can realize reading other reviews, made ​​by many different Clients (with different types of offers), nobody is a "2nd class Client" for us.
Really sorry if you perceived as inefficiency from us what, we realize now, was a misunderstanding between you and the agency which organized your trip, especially concerning the transfert and the excursions.... Even if we are not responsible, in the future we will certainly pay more attention to avoid this misunderstanding situation.
Poiano Resort offers a lot of ways to unwind: wellness center, tennis courts, olympic swimming pool, 60 hectares of greenery... is a pity that the lack of space in the bus has ruined your holiday.
We really hope Brenda to welcome you soon again at Poiano Resort.

Yours sincerely

Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have just returned from holiday which we booked through Imagine cruise. this we expected to be four days at Lake Garda and then our cruise on Cunard Queen Elizabeth. Our first impression of this hotel was terrible. We were part of a group and were treated as a bus party forced to be seated together. Food was dreadful apart from one night which was supposedly a special. Agree with the previous review with regard to the shuttle bus. The rooms were basic but clean. The Maitre D was most uncooperative and had an attitude problem. I was always led to believe that the customer was always right. Bottom line Imagine should never have used this hotel. Maybe it is suitable for families but not for people who expect four star which the hotel is NOT

Room Tip: never saw a good room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emma2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoianoGarda, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear emma2606

I'm happy to know that you found the Resort as clean as you expected.
I remember the Imagine Cruise group, of course. We really never thought that dining all together could be a problem. I also remember the weather was not so good on that period so you couldn't enjoy the huge private park with 60 hectares of greenery, the olympic pool, the tennis courts or maybe just a nice walk on the surrounding hills.
Even if it's true what you say, that Poiano is perfect for families, we work really hard to satisfy the request of all our guests, no differences.
The free Poiano shuttle bus has a timetable that tries to respond all guests needs, of course is not easy, even though we always try to help in every possible way... Sometimes is easy (the most), sometimes it's not.

Yours sincerely

Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

On arriving at the hotel we were given a shabby twin room overlooking the car park. We had booked a double room so requested this and also asked for a room with a view. We were given this but at an extra cost. There is a shuttle bus into Garda but this only takes 8 passengers which does not cater for everyone. We ended up getting taxis quite a lot. The food was the biggest disappointment of all. Evening meal was a choice of 3 starters and 3 mains. We didn't have a good meal all the time we were there (4 nights). The last night we went out for a meal as we couldn't face the evening meal again. Would not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank heathspitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoianoGarda, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear heathspit

So sorry to hear that your stay was not what you expected.
I'm glad to know that the reception staff immediately gave an answer to your request of room change.
The timetable of the free shuttle service is meant to give an answer to the demands of all our customers.
The restaurant's food is very important for us because we know that is a very subjective matter.
Despite this 2 things, I truly hope that you have been able to enjoy the olympic size swimming pool, the Spa, the 60 hectares of Mediterranean greenery, the beautiful views of the Lake Garda and the friendliness of the staff.

Best regards

Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our trip to Italy was a geuine surprise. I must admit to too many preconceptions, and beliefs in many (inaccurate) stigmas with regard Italy and the Italian people. Our stay was on a half-board basis and though the rooms were basic, the reception staff a bit cold in attitude, many of the remaining staff were blessed with good manners, and indeed a good sense of humour. The food was most definitely the highlight of our trip, looking forward each evening to the delights on offer.
Yes, there is an uphill treck from the local bus, that the older 'loons and quines' might find offputing , but we adopted the latin way of, taking our time.
The lake boats offer simply a waterbound bus service, with some planning not expensive. My challenge to anyone reading this is to spot where and when all the fish are caught ? as each and every restaurant has in pride of place on their menus "Fish from the Lake"
Another must is to visit the Dolomite mountains, spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank p and h s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is more school party on a bad day than a 4 star hotel. We arrived just after 3pm, and no food was available anywhere. The rooms are very basic. Extra was charged for very slow WiFi. The hotel is a 40 minute hill walk from the town and the hotel transport ran half hourly, stopped all afternoon and only had 8 seats so was impossible to get on! The breakfast was a buffet with tinned fruit, undrinkable juices that tasted only of sugar, congealed fried eggs and stewed coffee. Self serve extended to finding our own utensils and cups. Evening meals were a scrabble with soggy boiled carrots reminiscent of school dinners and the desserts ran out before we got to them. 4 of us got tummy upsets and the only food in common was a pool side salad. The staff varied, some were polite and helpful, especially the maid, others were abrupt and rude eg pushing my wife out of the way to get through a doorway. They were however prompt in dealing with the water running into our room. We sat in the bar / entertainment area but were never offered a drink. This hotel does not match any 4 star criteria but might be good for school parties who do not wish to leave the site.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank FoodiePenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PoianoGarda, Ufficio Marketing at Poiano Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Mr. AWilsonDo

We are really sorry to hear that Poiano has not satisfied your needs.

To be fair with what you said, after 3pm there's the Pool Bar with a lot of snacks and fresch salads and the Poiano breakfast buffet is really various: different kinds of cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit, fruit in syrup, brioches, cold cuts, cheeses, breads, 12 different types of jams, vegetables, teas, juices, 3 minutes eggs, 5 minutes eggs, bacon, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, coffee, hot milk, cold milk, butter... Anyway you can always ask to the maitre what you want and they will do everything they can to satisfy your requirements.

The free shuttle is a "plus" service and there's a time table for a better organization. For particular needs the reception is always willing to call a taxi for you at any time.

It would have been nice if you complained when you were here to give us the chance to resolve.

Believe me, we work really hard to ensure our guests a great stay.

Best regards

Mariana Zorzoli
Ufficio Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garda
3.1 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
21.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,028 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden Garda
Hotel Eden Garda
#4 of 49 in Garda
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#11 of 49 in Garda
658 reviews
1.2 mi away
Regina Adelaide Hotel
Regina Adelaide Hotel
#10 of 49 in Garda
413 reviews
22.3 mi away
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
Astoria Park Hotel SPA Resort
#11 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poiano Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poiano Resort Hotel

Address: Via Poiano, 37016 Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Garda
#5 Luxury Hotel in Garda
#9 Family Hotel in Garda
#12 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range: £53 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Poiano Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Poiano Resort is surrounded by 60 hectares of Mediterranean greenery and offers a number of ways to unwind: La Spa (with swimming pool with salt water, turkish bath, sauna, biosauna, emotional showers and massages), Olympic size swimming pool, 6 tennis clay courts, artificial 5-a-side football pitch, beach volleyball, archery, gymnasium with personal trainer, children's playground, game room, table tennis, shop, sporting events and musical entertainment in the evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Poiano Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poiano Hotel Garda
Poiano Resort Hotel Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing