We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Marco Polo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Garden(Garda)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
6
51
61
50
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
51
61
50
68
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We spent 9 nights at this hotel, and having read the reviews our expectations weren't great. Having been there, I'm not impressed and I just don't get why they don't try a little harder to improve the hotel standard and the service from staff. It could be a great place but it is run down. However, it worked out ok - probably because we expected nothing and didn't pay all that much.

Positives:
- Quiet location and great views from the balcony (which is in the bar area)
- Inexpensive
- Two pool areas - one of them really nice and big
- Spacious family room
- Beds ok and nice soft pillows
- good cleaning every day

Negatives:
- Poor service from reception staff - they couldn't care less about guests and would rather sit in the office and talk rather than attend to guests needs.
- Restaurant: You had to sit at the same table every day and the room is ugly. The breakfast is awful and limited - coffee doesn't taste like coffee. Dinner was a 4 meal thing, and ok for the first two courses, and then just forget about the rest. Poor quality. We had dinner there 4 times and had to skip it after that to go to Garda where we could eat better and sit outside and enjoy the view and the atmosphere.
- Rooms are ok for size, but there was no view as it was blocked by buildings and trees. They are very basic and in need of renovation and in the bathroom there was no shower curtain, the towels were paper thin and the lights didn't work properly.
- The view: As mentioned the view is great .... where you can see the lake. But there are so many trees and bushes that block the view. It would be panoramic if the would cut them down... or just some of them.
- No free wi-fi and only access in the reception area

Room Tip: The rooms below the bar area will get the noise from above
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Reception and bar staff gave very poor service, when asked on anything, ie. the services in hotel, food, bus service, shuttle bus, trips, etc. met with complete negativity, one example, "how do we get a bus," staff answer, "I dont know i never use the bus I have a car"!!! " is there a shuttle bus", " Its being repaired". After selecting our lunch from the menu card we were told "the chef isn't in today".
The day before leaving, checked with reception at what time we had to check out of room, we were told 10am, our flight was at 9pm, so asked if we could stay in room or did they have a courtsey room to leave cases in the day and shower before leaving, We were told no there isn't, no alternative offer was made, no apologie, I asked if we could just shower somewhere their reply was, "you can use the shower outside by the pool". We had to leave our cases in the reception foyer an unsupervised area.

On arrival entered our basic, not very clean room to encounter a cockroach. Thought this was a one off since the balcony windows were open but after encountering many more during our stay we were horrified and did not sleep to well. Unfortunatly we were at the end of the corrider were staff seemed to occupy the remaining rooms, there was a grubby settee just across from us where they congregated at the end of the day , chatted laughed and smoked which all permiated into our room, not helping our sleep problem.
The breakfast staff were very attentive and brekfast quite good.

The hotel is on a hill and although we didnt mind the climb, we felt the road should have been lit at night as it was badly potholed and a bit dangerous in the dark .
The scenery from the hotel was beautiful , not all rooms shared this view though, ours looked out upon buildings which blocked the lake view behind it. Also we had the problem of being situated under the dinning room and could hear chairs being scraped across the floor, early morning, late evening. The shower did not have a curtain so once one person had showered the floor became very wet and slippy. All in all we were totally disappointed with this dirty hotel and would not recommend to anyone let alone our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggysc0tland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2010

I don't get, why people complain about this hotel so much. It is cheap and only 3 stars. So don' expect to much!
Surroundings are beautiful! The walk up to the hotel not as steep, as we're led to believe after reading otter posts. Breakfast was ok, everything you expect to find at a breakfast buffet is there. We ate great spaghetti for lunch (aglio e olio), service was good and our child loved the grilles cheese sandwich. We didn't enjoy dinners though, so we skipped them.
We also greatly enjoyed the pool and the room was ok and cleaned everyday. Don't be surprises to find cockroaches in the room though! The towels were very smelly, they smelled like they were washed only in a tile of vinegar. Good thing we brought extra towels from home.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stedentripsvansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

This is our sixth visit to Marco Polo. Although it sounds a little sad to go back to the same place year after year, we love the area and know exactly what to expect from the hotel. The hotel itself is adequate and has well-run bar and reception areas. The food on offer at breakfast is all-you-can-eat buffet style and dinner is a four course affair that you pre-order the previous evening. The first course is the all-you-can-eat buffet which is incredible, then a choice of 3 primi, 3 secondi a 3 dolce (which usually consist of fruit salad, watermelon and some glop-type effort). The serving staff are very friendly and accommodating.

The hotel resort has a number of facilities - 2 great pools (the main pool doesn't open until 0930 - so no mad rush with the towels), an on-site shop and pizzeria, at least 3 clay tennis courts. The views from the rooms are excellent - you can see right across the lake to Sirmione and to the Rocca and San Vigilio at the sides. If you like simplicity then the rooms are spot on - the bathrooms are functional - great walk-in shower; the furniture is okay and each room has its own veranda or balcony area. The walk from town is fine - previous reviews have exaggerated the hill beyond belief. No hill - no view!

A valuable phrase would be "Mi dispiace, non parlo tedesco". The hotel caters mainly for German groups, so it is natural that they assume that every pale-looking person speaks German! All the staff have a good grasp of English.

All in all, you get what you pay for. It's cheap, cheerful and a great base for exploring Garda and its beautiful surroundings and attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We can indeed recommend the hotel to other groups, especially with children! We stayed at the hotel for five nights and had a real good time. The cleanliness was excellent, the location was good, the food was ok, the swimming pool by the pizzeria was very nice, the staff was friendly. Beyond our expectations! (We stayed in the bungalows.)

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summer20108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews