We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby”
Review of Hotel Marco Polo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Marco Polo
Ranked #48 of 49 Hotels in Garda
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shabby”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel is situated at the far end of town up a hill and about a 15 minute walk from Garda. First impressions in the evening when we arrived weren't great, as the room had a trail of ants entering and leaving through a crack in the room plus the obligatory cockroach. Worst still was the lack of any hot water. I complained to the receptionist who immediately said something like " not possible - if your room has no hot water then the whole hotel has none. Try running it for a while" (I'd tried that for 20 minutes and pulled the cords which hung in the shower which were connected to electrical switches that did nothing). She said they'd try to contact the owner to fix it (it was obvious nothing would happen that evening) and would ask the cleaners to clean up the ants the following day (remove them rather than treat them, so they appreared the next day and the day after that..). The bathroom really was terrible: no shower curtain, so water runs into the bathroom floor making the tiled floor lethal to walk on. The jaccuzi bath was ancient, damaged and disconnected. The sink plug mechanism didn't work. The towels were made of the thinnest material I've ever seen: useless for drying you. Day 2: still no hot water so I complained again before breakfast and then afterwards. It transpired that the whole hot water system for the hotel had stopped working the day before..and I'd been the first one to complain !

Breakfast was ok: a wide range of stuff..but the cheese slices seem to have been stored somewhere very warm where they all melt togther into one big solid unseparable blob.

The swimming pools are excellent and were the best feature of the hotel. We always managed to get a sunbed when required even though it became very busy at about 4pm

The room was generally ok : clean enough. There was no fridge.
The room had no air conditioning, contrary to the description on Hotels.com, but our room had an air conditioning grill..so maybe it worked one time in the far distant past.

The rest of the hotel is shabby, needs to be maintained better (the light bowl in the area we sat out on for a drink on the first evening looked like it had NEVER been cleaned and a huge spider was crawling over it enjoying feasting on the many flies it had caught in its many webs. It hardly creates an image of a hotel you'd wish to stay in.).

There is a small supermarket a few minutes walk away which is good and a local restaurant on site (I didn't try this but the menu looked ok )

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob-BB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chincherini, Direttore generale at Hotel Marco Polo, responded to this review, 18 February 2015
Dear Robb

Thanks for your review; but just one think.....maybe was not all all right but say "Shabby"...
Shabby is really a hard word
I hope to see you again for see the hotel's updating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    50
    55
    46
    64
See reviews for
62
92
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel probably had its golden days in the eighties-early nineties. It has a beautiful garden and a large pool. The restaurant serves an included three course dinner every night, which was a pleasant surprise! But this is where the positives end. The rooms where incredibly dirty and infested with vermin. In one case with ants, in the other with lots and lots of bed bugs! We were in for a nasty surprise after the first night when we woke up totally covered in red bite marks (which still itch by the way!!). The staff of the hotel were not at all pleasant and seemed more to think that we were a nuisance than the bugs. Even though we got to change rooms they put new guests in the same room the next day! Poor people! I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nano-matte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Garda hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Just returned from Garda which is absolutely beautiful but, unfortunately, can't say the same about the hotel marco polo! I stayed there with a group of friends for five nights.

First of all: there is mould in the hotel (in the rooms, balconies, everywhere)!! In some of the rooms you can really smell the mould. The smell was so bad that some of my friends had to change rooms. In one room there was a black mould stain size of a hand!
Many of us were sneezing and had a runny nose when spending time in the hotel. Luckily none of us had asthma!
New guests were placed in the smelly room the next day!

In our room we noticed a big stain in the ceiling that looked like water had been leaking. We were right: when it started raining the ceiling leaked and our stuff got all wet. We got another room but
the worst thing was that another family was placed in the leaking room the next day!

The corridor ceiling was leaking too and there was a lot of water on the floor. We complained but the receptionist merely shrugged and said "what can we do?".

It was extremely damp and chilly in every room I visited. There was no air-condition nor heating. The clothes that got wet did not dry during our stay.
We woke up every morning with a sore throat. Many of us got a cold during our stay.

The hotel needs serious updating! The furnitures are shabby, the jacuzzi in the bathroom (sounds great but is not) doesn't work and was quite disgusting.

The service was poor. It seemed like they couldn't have cared less!
We had halfboard but no one explained to us how the dinner service worked.
The meals for the next evening were pre-ordered at the end of the dinner for the whole table. Because of that we were to sit at the same table of four with the same people every night.
That was a bit problematic as i was travelling with a larger group and we all weren't at dinner the same time every evening.
And it was weird that they did not ask for our dinner order every night and just brought us random meals the next evening. There seemed to be no logic!

The waiters were quite reluctant to take our drink orders (water and coffee/tee, too) at dinner and at breakfast. We got the feeling that we were unwanted even though we were behaving politely.

The food wasn't good which was surprising as we were in italy! The desserts were awful: fruit salad from can and frozen-and-melted panna cotta. We skipped the last two dinners and ate out.

I seriously can't recommend hotel Marco Polo of garda to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelleeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buda, Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

They sell more rooms than they have... When we arrived, they said they had an offer: we could go to a four-star golf hotel of their chain, instead of three-star Marco Polo. We visited the hotel, but it was very far from the coast, and seemed quite miserable. We went back, but they said, they did not have free rooms - so their "offer" proved to be an obligation. But finally we received a room - one dark attic room above the bar-restaurant. Pools are not heated, water was around 17-18°C in the beginning of September. Dinner was a nightmare, long queue, boiled meat, overcooked pasta, re-used leftovers of the breakfast, immensely overloaded and a bit hypocrite waiters. Every guest is a laureated German, receiving "gutentags", some staff even does not speak English.
Why we give it an average rating is its location and the bar-restaurant near the bigger pool: amazing, traditional Italian food made of high quality ingredients, smiling Italian waiters and kitchen staff, beautiful view, reasonable prices. It was a great gastronomic experience!

Room Tip: There were plenty of bungalows with car parks, grills, terraces - they seemed pretty nice. If you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZombiNici G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontuclun
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

Good hotel, friendly staff, good views, 2 amazing pools, 3 tennis courts, 1 pizzeria, ok food, small hill but no hill no view! (Everything's on site) The staff automatically assume that your German because the whole population of Germany are in the hotel but they speak decent English. A few bugs in the room, but it's Italy and your not going to find any hotel that doesnt. Good rooms but the beds are a bit hard!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llew777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Very beautiful...
We can recommend the hotel to family, especially with children. We stayed at the hotel for seven nights and had a real good time.
The cleanliness was excellent, the pool area is very nice, the location was perfect, the food was good. Simply... Beautiful!! Thanks all staff.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan9012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Just got back from lake Garda which is absolutely stunning unfortunately cant say the same about one of the hotels we stayed in. We booked through a travel company to save some pennies which we did but maybe too many on this hotel.i checked trip advisor after we booked(stupid i know) so at least we weren't expecting anything different.... i will attach the photos i took. The hotel was full. We were the only English everyone else was German even the entertainment was all in German, Extremely basic room wise. This hotel has not had an update since it opened in the 60's. The reception staff weren't rude like other reviews i think they are just depressed that they have to work in this hell hole. the bathroom hadn't seen grout or a interior design book in years the tap was completely covered in mould. we did have a balcony with a view of a brick wall which was supposed to be the lake.. we pretty much shared the balcony with everyone else too. There is no privacy in this hotel at all. the walls are paper thin so you can hear people on the toilet in every room you are surrounded by The tiled floor doesn't help either as you can hear people on other levels walking around especially the wooden legged pirate in the room above us.You don't get any sleep either unless you drink about 8 bottles of the local wine. The cleaners bless them started at about 7 every morning. The Germans get up early too so don't even bother with a lie in. I nearly went and slept in the hire car. We attempted breakfast once thats all it took. very basic breakfast that wasnt nice . Dont bother booking anything thru this hotel either as you get no where not even with a taxi!!!.. The room was clean although the cockroaches were in the corridor. the sheets on the bed however had the aroma of damp stale mould.We stayed here only 4 nights which was too much and when we came home drunk as we needed to we accidently opened the wrong door which explains the smell of the sheets and towels. We had opened the door underneath the restaurant, as i was a bit tipsy i thought it was something out of aliens with them hanging from the ceiling we realised this was the wrong door and quickly went back to the room i didnt sleep a wink after that. The next day we snuck back and i took pictures. the ceiling was falling down due to damp and mould exposing all the electrical wiring. the walls were mouldy and damp it stank and there were all the clean towels and bed linen !!! hence the smell on the sheets.. this was all underneath the restaurant.. surely this isnt good for your health. to top it off the owner would turn up everyday in his designer clothes and his porsche !! oh and i got stuck in the old lift for a good 10 minutes which was an experience. The bar stuff were nice i just felt sorry for all the staff. The pool is probably the best thing even then on close inspection its not very safe. I would not take kids here at all. the play ground was something out of Chernobyl... if you touched it it would disintegrate. It did have self catering bungalows which might have been better ...but all round dont stay here if you want your holiday to start on a bad note...

Room Tip: Seriously wouldnt bother until if it does get updated and that room gets fixed...its not worth 3 sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Boxy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garda hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palme & Suite
Hotel Palme & Suite
#44 of 49 in Garda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel Oasi
Park Hotel Oasi
#46 of 49 in Garda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#43 of 49 in Garda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Appartamenti Pratone
Appartamenti Pratone
#34 of 49 in Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parco del Garda
Parco del Garda
#35 of 49 in Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#23 of 49 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marco Polo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marco Polo

Property: Hotel Marco Polo
Address: Via Dei Cipressi 8 | Loc. Como, 37016 Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 49 Hotels in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marco Polo 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Marco Polo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Hotel Garda
Hotel Marco Polo Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing