We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, friendly staff, great location and a frog story.”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #20 of 48 Hotels in Garda
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I am going to compare this to American hotels just so that those in America have something to base it on. It will not be figured into the ratings though.
I stayed here in March for 2 nights with my wife as part of a school group of 30 people.
First off this hotel has a strong frog theme, they're everywhere. Not live ones but all other manner of frogs. There's a story that goes along with it, some princess kissing a frog story, that I heard second hand so won't retell here.
The room was nice, clean, average to small, witha fairly good size bathroom and the smallest shower I've ever used. I'm 6 foot 225 pounds and took up every inch of the shower, so it's tight. There was however a large private terrace off the bathroom which was very nice. The breakfast was typical Italian continental with various breads, prociutto, cheese, pastry, cake, jellies and even cold cereal, There was also cappuccino, espresso and hot chocolate. Seating was good for our group of 30 plus still room for more. We also ate dinner there and the food was very good and enough to fill everyone up. The staff was great all around, very friendly and accomodating. In fact the second night I came down with a severe stomach bug and stayed in my room instead of coming to dinner. When the staff found out they had a special dinner sent up to me of plain chicken (which was still very tasty) potatoes and rice. The location of the hotel is awesome. Right on the lake in a small plaza with plenty of sights within walking distance.There is also free wi-fi but you can only access it in the lobby, not in the rooms.
OK now the very few bad things with the hotel. There is no elevator so everyone has to travel up at least one flight of stairs. Unencumbered it's not too bad but dragging luggage up one flight, or possibly two, is a pain. The only other complaint is you hear everything going on outside, there is no sound proofing whatsoever. Being on the plaza you hear everyone walking by or ending there evening even with the windows closed. It's nothing a set of ear plugs wouldn't solve and it's worth it when you add all the positives in.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fyrfyter12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed here as part of school trip during the March break.  It was one of the highlights of the trip.  The hotel was on Lake Garda in a little resort area.  It had a frog theme that was very cute.  Our room had a balcony and the end of the hall there was also a terrace.  The area was unbelievable.  The food was to die for as well as the service in the restaurant.  The one negative may have been the breakfast.  Only cereal and bread not fruit or anything else.  It's an Italian breakfast I guess.  I would definitely stay here on my own.  Cat in the lobby so if you have an allergy to cats you may want to stay away from the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bucko007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This is a very comfortable and friendly hotel. The staff and management are excellent as is the location. The food is very good and the atmosphere is interestingly 'quirky' (frogs). We recently spent three weeks there as part of a coach party and were impressed how everyone worked hard to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Little things like complimentary tea and cake/ biscuits each afternoon in the lounge giving us a chance to get together, some live entertainment we were not expecting and a farewell christmas present were all nice touches. The wifi which also worked in our bedroom made a lot of difference.

All in all we felt that this was a place where you could relax but still expect good quality service. Well worth a try.

Room Tip: There is a better view on the west side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ken w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

The Astoria is one of those odd hotels that don't comform to the rules, it has a easy going relaxed "home from home" feel to it The hotel is very warm and welcoming, set in the romantic old town part of Garda, overlooking the lake, it is in a perfect quiet location.
In the main hotel, which is a shrine to everything frog/toad (you really need to see it), most of the rooms are on the first floor, some on the second, there is no lift here. There is also a sun terrace on the first floor with good views if the lake. There is also a annex that is a shrine to faries! the rooms here are on three floors and this part of the complex does have a lift.
All parts of the hotel are clean and well maintained. The hotel has a addiquate sized dining room, the food is of a good quality and plenty of it, there is also a outside bar/restarunt area. There is a comfortable reception / lounge area you share with the frogs.
The staff are friendly and helpful, always have a smile and seem to be happy to work at the hotel. We are in the last week of a 3 week stay and are pleased that we are in this hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
5  Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Located 30seconds from the lake, this hotel is ideally positioned to enjoy a holiday in Garda. It is close to the ferry port and bus station and is convenient for strolls along the lakefront.
The hotel itself is clean, the staff friendly and the menu is vast and of excellent quality.
The rooms are comfortable, the only minor issue was that the shower cubicle was very small, everything is well maintained and the staff are very helpful.
We are definitely hoping to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarah4879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Have just walked in the door back from a weeks stay at the Hotel Astoria , Garda so whilst it's fresh in our minds here's our review ( the good and the not so good !)

Position of Hotel - The Hotel is situated just a 30 second walk from the lake front adjacent to the town square which makes it very handy for your after dinner stroll along the lake front or as a base in general being so close to the ferry point,bus station and of course shops.We found it so much more convenient than other hotels we have stayed in at Garda not having to walk back up through all the shops then crossing the main road to reach the other hotels.

The downside of it's position is the hotel has a street that runs on either side of it and you hear the voices of people using the streets to get to the lake and bars and then their return all day and night sometimes to 3am , then at first light you hear the commercial wheelie bins coming past from the adjacent bars and restaurants to then be picked up by the local waste collectors
not a quiet peaceful hotel at all and as the wife and myself sit in our lounge at home the quiet seems uncanny !

As you enter the hotel you cant help but notice the ' Museum of Frogs ' and the hotels obsession of frog memorabilia , amusing but a bit weird !
Access to the hotel reception is up 5/6 steps and into the lounge area with reception desk and reception staff ( as all the staff in the hotel ) were excellent friendly and helpful and all spoke very good English ( far better than my Italian ! )

All rooms seem to be on the first floor accessed by two lots of steps which you have to carry your case up as there is no lift , the Sun terrace is also on this level with views of the lake etc.
Our room was a reasonable size as was the bathroom and kept very clean and tidy by a lovely and comical little Italian cleaning lady who would run to open our door for us if she saw us coming greeting us with an exaggerated ' Bonjourrrno ' most mornings,lovely.

Hotel entertainment, there was none but the hotel is next to an arts centre which holds a Argentine tango night on a Sunday and a ballroom dance night on a Tuesday,well worth seeing
plus there is entertainment along the lake front most nights.

We also found it strange there was no bar in the lounge area ( or anywhere really ) where we would normally have met up with other guests staying in the hotel for a chat over a couple of drinks,we did miss this bit of socialising.

Breakfast , this was a buffet style breakfast and was quite a good choice of Breads,Fruit,Yogurt,Cereals,cold Meats and Cheese,scrambled Eggs and Bacon,
Boiled Eggs and Toast. The hotel is open to non residence for all meal times and some mornings was so busy certain items would run out but staff were quick to replenish.

Tea and Coffee. This was a real disappointment for me as I am well into my coffee, roasting my own coffee beans at home and expecting some really good Italian coffee but no, the hot water and more importantly for me the coffee came from a vending machine !! This is a self serve machine only used at breakfast and ' proper ' coffee is available with evening meals.

Evening meals. Where do I start !
The Astoria is Primarily a restaurant and I would say one of the busiest restaurants in Garda and not surprising seeing the fantastic dishes they produce , this is not your usual hotel food but proper Italian restaurant dining and of the meals we had ( we stayed half board ) were mostly excellent except the lasagne which was disappointing.
The problem was ( also mentioned in an earlier post ) is the menu is massive and the ' heart '
system they use as what you can have ( when half board ) and what you cant have, for reference I'll try and explain.
If staying half board ( which I recommend as unless you live on t/a pizza it will cost you a packet ! ) You are allocated a full heart plus a dessert,the meals in the menu have a 1/2 heart or a full heart symbol by them so you can choose a full heart meal + dessert or two 1/2 heart meals + dessert , that's simple enough isn't it !
Problem is if you want a starter,pasta,soup,or whatever that is 1/2 a heart gone which only leaves you 1/2 a heart for main course which is OK if you want a pizza ( excellent ) which is a 1/2 heart but many main course dishes wont come with veg or salad and you would have to purchase these separately or miss the starter and use your full heart and choose a better main course with salad or veg. Any meals you do pay for you are given a 10% discount in the restaurant. We much prefer the usual hotel choice of 3 starters,mains.and sweets as found in the other hotels but as I said earlier in the review the other hotels we have stayed in do not produce food of this quality.

I have given the Astoria a 4* rating which is down to the excellent staff , quality of food , and the location on the waterfront , but unfortunately the hotel Astoria is not for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank oncebit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was a great hotel. The room was small and the bathroom could do with an update but the location, food, staff and atmosphere in the hotel went a long way to make up for these issues which became less important as the week went by.
The hotel was also a short stroll from both the bus station and the ferry port which was great for planning day trips.
We plan to return.

Room Tip: we were close to the roof garden and it was lovely to have morning coffee there and pre dinner drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 485bridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Remat
Hotel Remat
#26 of 48 in Garda
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Vittoria Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Regina Adelaide Hotel
Regina Adelaide Hotel
#10 of 48 in Garda
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Benaco
Hotel Benaco
#15 of 48 in Garda
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#9 of 48 in Garda
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Anthea
Hotel Villa Anthea
#5 of 48 in Garda
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Via Giuseppe Verdi 1, 37016 Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range: £70 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Garda
Hotel Astoria Lake Garda
Hotel Astoria Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing