We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden cost”
Review of Hotel Conca d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Conca d'Oro
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Garda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden cost”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and me and our daughter stayed there the beginning of September 2013 for 3 nights. We stayed there before a couple of times and planned to stay in the future as well. When we reached out to the hotel and asked what the rates are, he responded 45 euros per person per day. So we figured 90 euros total per day, makes 270 total. When we payed the night before it showed 120 per night. I asked why and got as an explanation that a girl with less than 2 years of age cost 30 percent of the room. So another 30 euros on top. First of all, this was never mentioned and 30 percent of 45 is not 30 euros. He based thus of the 90 euros for both of us. When I asked him about it he just shruck with his shoulders. I had exoected more. This was a rip off so beware of these hidden costs. Will look for another hotel there since they all charge the same for rooms. Could have been handled differently

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SchedlerC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    20
    15
    8
    9
See reviews for
13
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Just bak after weeks hol an highly recommend, everything 1st class. Staff very friendly and hard working. Beech is litterly on your doorstep.fresh room service everyday, great rooftop terrace, I myself is a fryup morning person but didn't miss it one bit as the continental breakfast was more than enough and not to heavy. I will definitely be going back to garda and most definitely be same hotel.

Room Tip: Bak noisy through day, but who is in their room for any length off time through day.bak is cooler at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank finlay u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed in this lovely Hotel in July, such a great position opposite the Lake.

Weather was very hot 34o everyday- we had to pay for air- con ,essential.

Our room was on the back, can be very noisy- so shut doors and slept with air-con. The was clean and functional, tv only Sky news- but didnt bother us!.

We loved sitting in the terrance- so cool- terrific views- sip an Aperol spritz
and watch world go by.

The 2 young waiters are very friendly-esp Arif-- charming and efficient!

The owner and daughter were most pleasant and helpful.

Breakfast was fresh and lots of choices, cheese/ham fresh rolls, fresh fruits,
eggs, jams, juices and lovely coffee.

It is the prime position that made our holiday.,.and the 10% food/drinks discount was most welcome!

Another relaxing holiday, would definately recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to Upgrade to Lake view- back is noisy on main road. Do hope they improve roof sun terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dellas60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

To justify the title of this review, my wife and I stayed at this hotel in 2007. It was very basic then and still is. It is clear that a refurbishment has occured. New flooring in the rooms, double glazed doors leading to the balconies and a fresh lick of paint in the corridors. Also it would appear that they have installed air con which was not available then. However you have to pay for it and on the contol box in the room they quote a charge of 7 euros per day. Another improvement is the fare on offer for breakfast where a buffet is now available which we did not have on our first visit. They would still offer you their ham and cheese daily and an extra croissant on Sundays. Our decision to return to the Conca d'oro was based on the strkingly beautiful location of this hotel, its airyness on the shore of the lake and the view over the mountains, not to forget its closeness to the beach a mere 400 yards away. This year we were allocated a room at the end of the terace on the first floor, room 22 the best on this level. Regular as clockwork on the doorstep every Fridays you wake up with the local market. All and all a much better hotel altogether and one we would return to with confidence. We are rating this property as average because the furnishing in the room could do with upgrading, the wardrobes offering not enough shelving.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean Pierre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have visited Garda many times over the last decade and stayed at this hotel three or four times now. We have just come back from 11 nights there last week (July 2013.) This hotel not only is clean and spotless it has a great location. The staff are friendly and helpful and the other reviews baffle me! This hotel is a great place to stay and after visiting Italy many times I can say this is one of the better hotels. We stayed on the first floor with a lake view and the room had been updated and was clean, fresh with a daily maid service and clean towels everyday! The breakfast was continental which is fine and the produce was fresh. Overall a great holiday and would go back to the Conca d'Oro anytime.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shef123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We travelled to Garda (party of four) on 12th June 2013 for one week with Thomson Holidays. This hotel is rated 2* plus so we did not have high expectations. We were very pleasantly surprised however as the hotel is in a great location and very clean. We were in rooms 22 and 1 having paid the supplement for a lake view. The rooms are certainly not palatial but had everything required and the beds were comfortable. These rooms are both on the first floor. The trees mentioned in a previous review are along the full length of the promenade so I suspect no hotel on the front could offer an uninterrupted view. In fact the trees and foliage had obviously been trimmed so we had a very good view of the lake, possibly not so good if later in the season.The terrace at the front of the hotel is lovely and offers a 10% discount to residents for both food and drink. Very welcome !! All the staff are polite and very friendly. I have to make a special mention of Arif who looks after the terrace. He has a smile for everyone and is a joy to meet. It is worth mentioning that residents are welcome to sit on the terrace with no purchase necessary. We all enjoyed a fabulous week in Garda and would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: Although were were at the front of the hotel, I think the rooms at the rear would be noisy as the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanJeff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just returned from a lovely week in Garda staying at this hotel.

The hotel itself is fine, we were in room 3 on the 1st floor. The room had been updated and was clean and tidy, except for a small problem with rogue ants every now and again all was ok and i would recommend this hotel.
The location is excellent, 1 minute from the small busy beach area and 5 minutes from the town centre.
The major issue we had with this hotel is that we paid the tour operator a supplement for what was described on their web site as a 'lake view'. Room 3 may be on the front of the hotel but the lake is totally obscured by trees and foliage. We feel very short changed by this and we were both looking forward to long evenings sat on the balcony admiring the lake view. We have contacted the tour operator requesting the a full refund of the supplement....lets hope they not only refund the money but change the description on their web site.
The owner of the hotel was very short tempered when my husband showed him the booking for with confirmation of the 'lake view' supplement paid, he said " if you can find a room with a sea view in Garda that is available, i will pay for it". Not really the reaction we wanted., It was a flat out 'no' when we asked to be moved to a higher floor.

I forgot to mention that we had emailed the hotel before we went to request a high floor room, which we received a reply from confirming this was okay.

Don't let my review put you off going to Garda. It is beautiful. Bella Venezia was our favourite place to eat which is on a back street off the lake front, wonderful true Italian food, made with TLC.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hampster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garda hotels
0.3 mi away
Miro Hotel
Miro Hotel
#13 of 49 in Garda
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#34 of 49 in Garda
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#27 of 49 in Garda
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel all'Ancora
Hotel all'Ancora
#31 of 49 in Garda
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Virginia
Hotel Virginia
#22 of 49 in Garda
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Benaco
Hotel Benaco
#15 of 49 in Garda
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conca d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conca d'Oro

Property: Hotel Conca d'Oro
Address: Lungolago Europa 2, 37016 Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Conca d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Conca D'Oro Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing