We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovelly location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze
Ranked #3 of 49 Hotels in Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have just spent 4 nights at this hotel for a 'big' birthday and had a wonderful time. The hotel is situated in Garda, one of the prettier towns around the lake (middle on the East side). Our hotel was literally a 2 minute walk to the promenade where there were lots of restaurants and shops. It should be noted however that travelling in March not many of the restaurants are open at this time so you will not have the full choice as you do in summer months. Luckily I had read this from previous reviews but it is worth noting as it can be disappointing and quite quiet..although we didn;t mind that so much.

We stayed in the deluxe double with lake view, although with the trees in front you couldn't see much of the lake. The room was a good size, with sofa area and large bathroom with two sinks so no complaints there. (room 336). The walls were surprisingly thin however, and for the first couple of nights we were disturbed periodically by a family with a young child next door. I am not sure if they were particularly noisy or if the sound insulation just wasn't up to the job. The last two nights were nice and quiet and the beds were comfy so we had a good nights sleep.

Breakfast was included with the room rate and had a variety of hot and cold options. Staff were very friendly. We also enjoyed a meal in the restaurant one night and it was lovely. Vito made us feel very welcome and we wished we had eaten there more during our stay. Parking is free although there are not too many spaces and it can be a bit tight to reverse out of a space if cars are behind you. In season it may be difficult to find a space but we didn't have a problem.

Afternoon tea and cakes are provided between 4-5 every day which was a nice touch. Only problem was making the time to be there for them!

Would certainly recommend and would visit again when the weather is perhaps a bit warmer and more places are open.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 336 a deluxe double with lake view, although the view was obscured by trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGupsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, lovely decor, spotlessly clean, great staff. Booked in a moment of madness without checking tripadvisor first and relieved when read reviews. It does live up to expectations. Took others advice and upgraded to lake view which was lovely.
Breakfast very good, it is aimed at Germans who are majority of guests. Eggs every way plus Italian bacon, then rest continental - good choice of cereals, breads, fruit, cold meats and cheese - all excellent quality, you would be fussy if you could not find anything to eat. Did not try the dinner as 5 mins walk to town.
The car park is smallish but had no problems at all finding space.

Note: check weather before upgrading room, we were lucky with weather but if going in winter the lake mist could completely obscure view all day.

Would not recommend for those with restricted mobility, hotel set in hill and a bit of a steep incline to get to reception, there are hotels in Garda on the flat.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I want to write a negative review so others won't flock to the Excelsior le Terrazze, but that would be a lie.

This hotel is simply perfect. From the stunning location to the friendly, helpful staff, the picturesque views to the fantastic cocktails, this is an amazing place.

Garda is my favourite place on Earth. And this is the best hotel I've stayed in.

My wife and I stayed in a superior room, and it was gorgeous. Very spacious, with comfortable beds and a great view of the lake.

The housekeepers were attentive, and although we had no problems to report, they were always on hand.

The only down sides were - too few spaces in a cramped car park. With that said, it's not the fault of the hotel, which was built a long time before Garda built up its reputation, and more visitors arrived with vehicles. The car park is adequate, and when it was full, we left our keys with reception for staff to move from the front door if needed.

The hotel, again not its fault, is on a hill. There are some steep steps. I'm 27, so it wasn't a problem, but for older people/disabled people, it could be difficult.

Room Tip: We stopped in a room on the side of the hotel. It was towards the back of the hotel, so had less noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ACM2832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Fabulous Hotel, living up to the fantastic reviews given on this site. we upgraded to full lake view and had a unforgettable anniversary stay here. Everything was just perfect, from the location, food, room , view, staff, basically just everything. loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: go for the full lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed a restfull week in excellent lake view room being looked after by pleasant and professional staff. From house keeping to reception to catering all were top quality.
Restaurant food was well presented ample and delicious.
Grazia to all.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
9  Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We chose this hotel after reading such positive reviews on here and we were not disappointed. Upon arrival we were immediately made to feel welcome. Having booked into a superior room with only a partial lake view we were given the option on checking in to upgrade into a superior room with a full lake view for just an extra 30 Euros for the 3 nights we were there - this is something I would strongly recommended as the views are just amazing both morning and night.

The location of the hotel is also really central with the shops and restaurants a mere 5-10 minute walk away. The only thing I would suggest is that if you were to looking to visit areas other than Garda then you hire a car for your visit.

The bed we had was really comfortable and the balcony looking over lake Garda was just the finishing touch! Although we were informed of the restaurant times and prices for evening meals (16 Euros for 3 courses!) we never visited for an evening meal so it would be unfair to judge this. However, if the breakfast was good. Another good little touch was the fact that you could sit by the side of the pool for tea/coffee and a slice (or 3) of cake.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would definitely visit again given the opportunity to do so.

Room Tip: Definitely choose the superior room with a full lake view....... You will NOT be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank KenS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed here at Easter time and loved it, so much so, that we booked to return in September, using the hotel as a base to visit Venice and Florence.
Location is excellent, as are the staff, who always, always have a smile for you.
The restaurant is great value for money and the food is superb, and along with happy staff run by the outstanding Vito, I don't think you could find any hotel on the lake which gives you as much satisfaction from your holiday as this one.
We never go back to anywhere, ever, but this hotel, and the stunning setting, make one visit just not enough!

Room Tip: The front lake view rooms are definitely worth paying the extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve-a1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garda
0.2 mi away
La Vittoria Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Regina Adelaide Hotel
Regina Adelaide Hotel
#11 of 49 in Garda
424 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Eden Garda
Hotel Eden Garda
#5 of 49 in Garda
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Poiano Resort Hotel
Poiano Resort Hotel
#13 of 49 in Garda
1,678 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Anthea
Hotel Villa Anthea
#7 of 49 in Garda
220 reviews
14.4 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze

Address: Via Guglielmo Marconi 6, 37016 Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Garda
#3 Family Hotel in Garda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range: £79 - £432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Hotel Excelsior Le Terraze opened on the 1st of May, after six months of refurbishing. We have created larger and brighter rooms. Completely soundproofed with high levels of comfort and safety. The restaurant welcomes you in a relaxing and elegant ambiance with high levels of service. Rooms with air-conditioning, minibar, safe, coffee-making facilities, SAT TV, hair dryer. Balconies available. We offer standard, superior and deluxe rooms. Swimming pool with whirlpool, terraces overlooking the lake. Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Le Terrazze Hotel
Excelsior Le Terrazze Garda
Hotel Excelsior Le Terrazze Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing