We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Royal
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Garda
Fyn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Very surprised to read the many bad reviews this place recieves. Yes the hotel is somewhat oldfashioned and tired, but given its location close to Lake Garda and in beautiful Garda we enjoyed our holiday a lot and spent very little time in the hotel room.

The rooms are of an O.K. size and every room has a balcony which was very nice. Rooms are clean and kept clean every day, towels and other amenities are supplied every day. The pool area is very nice with a rather big pool, plenty of sun loungers and a quiet and relaxing atmosphere and it is possible to find a cool and shady place too. Other guest were quiet, relaxed and polite and seemed to enjoy their holiday.

The hotel is very conveniently located across from a nice park with play facilities for children, just a short pleasant walk from the lake and the city center and close to a small super market, a bank and quite a few restaurants and bars. We highly recommend the Tratoria Jolly, huge menu of lovely food from pizza to grilled sea food, very clean and staff very nice. Very god choice if you want to get away from the more touristy places by the lake.

To us the only real draw back was the food. Break fast buffet was O.K. but dinner very bland and sometimes overcooked and we are not fuzzy. If you can avoid do not opt for half board.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    34
    28
    30
    27
See reviews for
27
51
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
co.laois
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

we found very little space in the rooms, not suitable for families with small children. Be careful if booking with more than 2 children as you will be charged full price for any extra children that you have. Manager not at all helpful when we tried to settle our bill and were even told that we were stupid for booking the hotel the way we did. It was booked for us as we were part of a large group and were not aware that the third child would be full price.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank femmelaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Garda hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
St.Paul's Bay
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

We are from Malta and we were with a group Tour. We stayed from the 8-15 August 2009. The room was ok,you only have to give the reception a 5 euros deposit for an adaptor to charge mob or cameras.The bar was a bit poor,i asked for a blue caracoa and the barman told me that he never heard about it. No nuts or anything with drinks were given.The buffet breakfast was horrible, only bread which sometimes was very hard,cheap orange juices and cereals,boiled eggs,cheese,salami,ham and some cakes.Only on our first and last day there was croissants.The big disaster was the dinner, the buffet consists of 1 type of pasta which finally they admit that the leftovers of the pasta from the last dinner they bake it and use it for the buffet for the next day!! They only do 2 dishes and if it finish they don't bring more so you have to hurry and be on time for dinner.There was also some salad and cold pasta!! Then you have the main course:which you have to fill a form from a day before.Limited choise!! I don't like all type of pasta so i ordered penne al ragu which in Italy it should not be a problem!! The waiter came and told me that i can not have it because it is a problem to do al ragu so i had to order penne with plain red sauce because that is the only type of pasta that they can do.It was horrible,a plate with penne and only 1 spoon of red sauce!! The other day i ordered penne with white sause and the waiter told me it is ok and guess what?? He gave me a plate with pasta,no white sause,no oil,nothing!! I told him where is the white sause? He told me that it was a problem!! Then he told me that instead he is going to make me red plain sauce again but he did not do me fresh pasta he used the same one that it was supposed to be with white sauce,our tour leader went in the kitchen to see why he did the same pasta.The chef told him that they don't have any more pasta!! It is unbelievable but it is true!! Don't go in this hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarioDarmanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2009

You get what you expect from a 3 star hotel.I can rate the food as 5 star,the sevice as well,the area is great ,only a few minutes from the center,My only complaint was the beds and pillows,too soft,Otherwise I really recommend it

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luqam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devonshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

we got our trip on lastminute.com with inghams so didn't actually know where we were staying until we landed in verona. my husband had never been on a package deal before so was suitably nervous but the hotel was lovely. it had a nice big bar area with outside terrace, a good sized pool with plenty of loungers, lift and slopes for wheelchair users too. there was a private balcony and air-con in our very clean room. decoration was basic but it was big, comfortable and had everything you need - tv, hairdryer, free safe and loads of space for clothes. it also had a sofa/extra bed. we stayed on a half-board basis where you have to share a table for the duration with another couple, some people coupled up under this arrangement whereas we bonded with our table partners by agreeing to eat at different times and never seeing them after our first encounter - though we did send each other notes occasionally! breakfast was a buffet with an eat as much as you like and keep returning if you wish attitude (which my husband enjoyed greatly) with a big jug of good coffee to keep you going. dinner started with a self-serve salad buffet then there were 2 courses (picked in advance) served direct to you followed by a help yourself pudding. the food was great and the amounts were good and i can't praise the staff enough. apparently vegetarians are well catered for according to a man on the next table. it was less than a 10 minute walk to the old town centre and the lake. the town itself being absolutely gorgeous with shops, cafes, promenades, ice cream to die for, friendly locals and a great market on friday mornings. we had a trip around the lake by a local tour operator which i'd also recommend. finally, we had to check out by 10am on the last day but weren't being collected until 4pm but the hotel has clean showers on each floor that you are able to use to freshen up after a final rush of present buying and people watching!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grrrrr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2008

My sister and I booked our holiday lastminute at a very good price. We have travelled a lot and been to Lake Garda before and just wanted a restful break knowing how lovely it is there. We did not expect a high quality hotel or food at theprice we paid. We did however expect it to be of the usual italian quality (looked after with pride, clean, fresh smelling and .. you would have thought.. real coffee at breakfast). We are also not that fussy but had never experience a hotel as poor as this in Italy before (and we have both youth hostelled around the country).

We have stayed in 1, 2 and no star hotels before. The Hotel Royal and Suite is very poor in comparison. We felt the only reason for its star rating was that it had a pool.

The building itself is very ugly concrete clad 1970s but our complaint is that it has not been maintained everything is very worn but also slightly smelly in the common areas (the lift particularly smelled of wet dog) the carpet needed replacing and mould was just starting to grow between the tiles in the bath room. One afternoon some beer bottles and cigarette butts were left out on a table by the pool - they were still there the next morning when we went out!

The reception area at the Royal (the royal and suite hotels are next to each other) was gloomy, dark roomy and empty most of the time with faded nylon curtains just about clinging on to life.

We thought we hadn't paid much so we'd spend our time outside but then visited a couple of 1 and 2 star hotels in Garda to compare and they were clean, tidy, pristine, fresh etc etc the usual italian set up. We were very disappointed.

We had our evening meal the first night to be told the first night people have the meat.. erm but we don't eat meat ... so i had what i could - my meal was laughable the buffet bit was ok but food was not covered and flies were partying on the table. My main course as I had asked for fish was a jar of pickled seafood on some salad with a bit of celery. I had some strange clear soup as well. I was very hungry going to bed.

We tried for breakfast - the coffee was not fresh but in flasks to keep warm and had no scent of coffee and no flavour. My coffee cup was dirty I had it changed - the waiter was very nice and plainly embarrassed at what he had to serve both that morning and in the evening.

We decided to give up on the food and eat out for the rest of the stay - best move! Wish we had had the money to move to the 2 star hotel too but could afford to eat out AND change hotels.

We had breakfast at a nice coffee and cake place in the town and ate at various places during the week.

We hired bikes and went out on boats etc etc but our hotel.. was not Italian - Chincherini holidays who look after this hotel WHAT ARE YOU DOING.

The whole place needs new carpets to get rid of the smell and brightening up - weed around the pool - have someone check around the pool on a regular basis to clear up etc etc where is th service?

And Inghams - WHY ARE YOU USING THIS HOTEL?

If you go there enjoy the lakes and Garda but please this hotel is not a representation of the service you get in the rest of the country.

So disappointed

Jenny and Lois from London

  • Liked — Leaving it
  • Disliked — Everything except the staff they had a tough job on their hands!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salsauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2008

We have just returned from a 10 day stay in the Hotel Royal, Garda. We booked through Crystal Holidays and the rep (Wayne) was friendly and helpful. The location is great, not too close to the main road, and a short walk into Garda itself. The staff were great, building a good raport with the guests.
The room was a good size, comfortable beds, cleaned daily and had a balcony with a great view over the hills. The carpet, however, had probably seen better days. Showers had high water pressure (adjustable) and plenty of hot water.
Meals were plentiful. There was no way we were gonna starve on this visit. The meat course could be a little variable (went from merely OK to really nice according to my partner). Being a vegitarian, I can sometimes have trouble finding something to eat, but a different option was available each evening. Breakfast was continental, and fresh fruit was always available at each meal.
Local amenities included a supermarket, takeaway pizza, internet cafe, tourist information and a selection of bars and restaurants.
All-in-all a lovely 3 star hotel. We both had a great stay, and were very sorry to be leaving.

  • Liked — Staff, convenience, views
  • Disliked — Carpet
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaznTef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Garda
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palme & Suite
Hotel Palme & Suite
#44 of 48 in Garda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#30 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
22.0 mi away
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#54 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Oasi
Park Hotel Oasi
#45 of 48 in Garda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Perla
Hotel La Perla
#6 of 48 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#26 of 48 in Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal

Property: Hotel Royal
Address: Via Don Luigi Sturzo 1, 37016 Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palme Royal Hotel
Hotel Royal Garda, Lake Garda, Italy
Palme Royal Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing