We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great birthday”
Review of Hotel La Perla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Perla
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great birthday”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

A party of 6 of us stayed at the la perla to celebrate my 50th birthday,the rooms are small but plenty of space for clothes,they are cleaned daily.The restaurant staff are excellent our waiter marco was always busy but always had a smile on his face,the maître de gerrado was brilliant at his job he always had time for a chat.The food was of a very high standard,the pool is the best I've ever used there's always sun beds when people turned up to look for them the ever helpful life guard Martha would find them a bed,Martha would take the aqua aerobics every day from 12 to 1 it was always done in great spirit.We travelled with thomsons our rep Hayley was always on time and very helpful,all in all I would definetly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool. View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    259
    57
    10
    1
See reviews for
107
374
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our chosen hotel was overbooked three years ago and we were placed in La Perla instead, fell in love with it and have returned twice more so far. Nothing is completely perfect - can we ask for Tiramisu on the menu! - but La Perla is very close. It has a wonderful pool, huge, clean, with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. There have been some negative comments about the lifeguard but she appeared friendly, very helpful and efficient - five stars to her too! All staff in the hotel are friendly and helpful - thanks so much to reception for calling us when we overslept on departure day! The maintenance and housekeeping staff, as the other staff, always greet you in passing and keep the rooms etc immaculate - you can't fault them. The rooms might be a little old fashioned i suppose for some but are comfortable and roomy enough. During our stay in the town there were bank holiday celebrations including boat races and a firework display. In addition to the two usual gala dinners at the hotel there was a special one for bank holiday and the seafood on offer alone was something to see. Breakfasts are huge and varied and while the hot breakfast is different from ours it is still very tasty. There is always a lovely range of fresh fruit and they will also do boiled eggs for example if you ask. We had a great day out on bikes we hired from the hotel - the route to Lazise via Bardolino has been widened and much improved. The lake front is about five mins walk and the ferry about ten. Can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: There is so much to see and do so don't worry about a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The staff on reception were fantastic in this hotel. Very helpful and amazing to watch them speaking so many languages. Room very basic but clean. Balcony though was so dirty we didn't use it! Air conditioning was good. We had intended to use this as a base to explore the area but the pool was so lovely that one day spent whole day there and even had lunch by the pool.
Breakfast was ok but there was an awful senior member of staff taking orders for the evening meal making people who were only having breakfast feel awkward and have difficulty find tables.
We hired bikes one day. Make sure you turn left as you look at the lake for a fabulous cycle round the lake.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed for 10 days in Jul/Aug 2014 and were very happy with this hotel (family of 4, with 10 yr old and 19 yr old). Some reviews state rooms small and basic - yes they are on the small side but you have everything you need, all in good working order eg safe, fridge, storage, shower. Rooms are cleaned daily to a high standard (and I'm fussy!!).

Reception staff were incredibly helpful and polite.

Food was plentiful and varied - you choose the evening meal at breakfast time (this is not a problem at all) and there was a good choice. We could always ask staff for assistance. Our waitress Elisa was a sweetie and the restaurant manager, Gerado, would do anything to help, for example, our daughter generally had the starter as her main course. We enjoyed every meal we had and all came back heavier!

Pool is lovely and in a scenic setting with trees, hills and a pretty church whose bells would toll (not loudly) during the day. Our daughter had a lovely time with a couple of other children she met. The only thing I would say is that it would be nice to allow lilos and balls and for the lifeguard to be a little more relaxed.

Garda town is pretty and we are pleased we chose this resort. We travelled round and the whole lake is gorgeous. We particularly recommend Malcesine and the cable car up Monte Baldo where the views are spectacular. Keep asking Reception for yellow cards which give you a significant reduction at such places as the cable car and the beach at Punto San Viligio.

We travelled by bus - cheap and easy to use and very punctual (If you go to Verona get the 205 bus which is quicker).

This hotel is so convenient for the bus station, the town and the lake front.

We were worried about the cost of food and drink in Italy - I would say similar to England in restaurants/cafes but you can buy cheaper in the supermarket in the centre of town where we bought bread, cheeses and wine for lunch, for approx £10-£12.

This was our 1st holiday for a while and special as it was the last time our son will come with us as he is now an adult - we couldn't have chosen better! Clean hotel with all you need, lovely pool, friendly, polite staff with the most stunning and breathtaking scenery. We would all go back tomorrow given the chance, including my husband who was adamant that you couldn't beat Greece!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eddie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at La Perla in early August for 2 weeks. We had 2 rooms as we had two older children. The rooms were a little dated, but had all modern conveniences, air con, satellite TV, wifi, safe, mini bar. Rooms were cleaned every day and were spotlessly clean and the air conditioning worked properly.

The pool was great, it was large and had plenty of sun beds. The lifeguard was extremely helpful, frequently locating a spare sunbed and was always friendly and chatty. She also staged a "water gym" a couple of times per week which (unlike another reviewers comments) we thought was very entertaining. Incidentally, we had no problems with ball games in the pool.

The restaurant served a very varied menu and we never had the same meal twice in the two weeks we were three. It was typical Italian fare with 4 courses for dinner, and almost always featured pasta at some point. There was a very extensive and excellent value (cheaper than the local restaurants) wine list. Breakfast had a huge choice of continental or English cooked items. The staff were a real highlight, especially the restaurant staff, ably led by the manager - Geraldo. Nothing was too much trouble, and "our" waitress was extremely helpful and friendly, and got to anticipate our likely orders for drinks before we had even chosen.

We enjoyed our time at La Perla immensely. Lake Garda itself is beautiful, there were great excursions, including Venice and the Opera at Verona, but to be honest just lying by the pool at La Perla was a holiday in itself.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and may well come back in the future.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I love Garda, it's one of my favourite places in the world. Usually we stay with friends, but on this occasion there were several of us visiting at once, so we booked into this hotel instead. It has been described by other reviewers as 'basic' - that it most definitely is. It was clean, they provided a great towel service and the hotel is ideally situated for the lakefront. But that, I'm afraid, is where the positives end.

Rooms were on the small side and bathrooms miniscule. A tiny shower cubicle with a weak/inconsistent flow of water which would lurch from freezing to scalding throughout a shower. Strange and uncomfortable was the hotel's use of slightly frosted glass-panelled doors to the bathrooms and even to toilets in public areas. No privacy!!!

We had booked and paid for bed and breakfast, but only tried breakfast once - once too many. There seemed to be some bizarre pecking order for tables which no-one bothered to explain to us, we were simply and rudely shoved into a corner. Hot food was cold, cold food was uninspiring.

All the above is enough to ensure we wouldn't bother with this hotel again, but as a word of warning to others...the pool is another saga. It's a lovely pool, very large. Large enough, you might think, to float about on a lilo/airbed in...but no, twas not to be. As someone with a slight disability, lying on an airbed in the pool is one of the few things I can comfortably do on holiday. But for no sensible reason, they have a ridiculous rule preventing the use of said items. Also, ball games are restricted to the very edges of the pool, thereby ensuring that balls fly out at regular intervals and sunbathers end up having to throw them back in. I have been to pools the size of postage-stamps where people have managed to use lilos and enjoy ballgames without a problem, even in Garda itself up at Le Palme - no problems there at all. At La Perla though, fun is in short supply in the water. Unless, that is, you want to dance round like a lunatic for an hour in the midday sun, to the sound of ear-splittingly loud music, whilst being bossed around by the staff sergeant (aka lifeguard) as she runs her 'look-at-me-fest' aquarobics sessions. Apparently this is not intrusive, but the use of a lilo is?....strange world. Oh, by the way, you can use a lilo or have a ball game in the middle of the children's pool - yes, the one where you might cause injury to small kids in a much smaller area of water....see what I mean? Nonsensical!

For the amount we paid (2000 euros for two rooms for one week), I did not expect to be subjected to such silly rules and attitudes around the pool - it's a big part of why we chose the hotel in the first place and at no time were we warned of such nonsense in advance. In fact, we asked at reception on arrival if it was ok to use airbeds and we were assured it was, hence we went and bought one. I think they owe me at least 12 euros!

Needless to say, on our many anticipated future visits to Garda, we will NOT be staying at La Perla.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europlan, Direttore at Hotel La Perla, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear guest,

we are very sorry that your stay with us was unpleasant and this just because you were forbidden from using your lilo in our large swimming pool by regulation!

The regulations which you consider to be ridiculous, are intended to safeguard the space of guests swimming in the large swimming pool. Just imagine what would happen if only a small part of our 200 guests used their lilos in the swimming pool?? This kind of regulations are in force in all reputable hotels in the world … as you can easily find out …

If you feel harmed because you have wasted € 12,00 to buy the lilo, we would like to remind you that on your departure you did not pay for minibar consumption by your children...

We cannot reply to all your negative comments regarding our services and our hotel staff, for it seems they often are petty and rather a result of your frustration.

Have a nice summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We travelled as a family of four in july 2014.The hotel was a little worn but spotlessly clean.The room was small but had everything we needed,safe,air con,fridge,hairdrier.Pool was a nice size with plenty of sunbeds.
Breakfast was lovely, good selection of food.The evening meal was fine for the adults but not for our picky 9 year olds taste.
Location was good,close to lake and bus station.
Not much to do in the evenings but Garda town centre is just a short stroll away.

Room Tip: we had rooms over the reception and our wi-fi was great,it may not cover the whole hotel as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garda hotels
0.2 mi away
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
Sky Pool Hotel Sole
#5 of 49 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.1 mi away
Poiano Resort Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Regina Adelaide Hotel
Regina Adelaide Hotel
#11 of 49 in Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Vittoria Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eden Garda
Hotel Eden Garda
#16 of 49 in Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perla

Property: Hotel La Perla
Address: Via Amerigo Vespucci 5, 37016 Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Garda
#14 Family Hotel in Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Perla 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a distance of just 200 metres from Lake Garda, the La Perla has a great location to walk to the picturesque town of Garda or go on exciting excursions. The La Perla boasts products and special services for guests and their bicycles, a bike rental and qualified and experienced staff. The hofel features a swimming pool and a children's pool, bar, restaurant, large lounge, basement bar, lifts, air conditioning, free wifi, heating and car park. The La Perla features an indoor garage and bicycle parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Garda
La Perla Hotel
Hotel La Perla Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing