We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”
Review of Hotel Virginia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Virginia
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Garda
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Arrived In Garda on 14th August To a very warm welcome from the family who run this Gem of a hotel ,It is well located ,Air Conditioned and spotless throughout , continental breakfast was of high standard and plentiful ,we were well acomodated when going on early morning trips nothing was to much trouble,a few minutes walk from the main town and Beautiful promenade ,a great location on Lake Garda For boat and bus trips,and some absolutely fantastic walks To Bardilino or Torre De Benarco if you dare via the mountains ,Yes this Is an Absolutely Amazing hotel from which to explore one of Italy's stunning Lakes and surrounding Cities ENJOY you will :) We will Return.Just a small note there is no pool at this Hotel but you don't need one the beautiful Lake is a short stroll away :)

Room Tip: All the rooms look great but a little added extra would be to request one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenwestwood1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

A lovely quiet hotel 5 minutes walk from the centre of Garda. The hotel was easy to find and just a five minute walk from the lakeside. The service of the family that run the hotel was excellent. The daughters both spoke good English and were very helpful throughout our 5 night stay. They helped us organise a trip to Venice for one of the days of our stay and organised for breakfast to be ready for us early on this morning so that we could still have it before we went to catch the bus to Venice.
The room was a good size and we had a good sized balcony area overlooking the mountains where we could sit out. I would recommend this hotel to others looking for a simple base from which you can explore the beautiful surrounding areas of Lake Garda.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a very enjoyable weeks stay at this small hotel. It is well located and is very well run by a very friendly family. The rooms are air conditioned, spotless and the continental breakfast was of a high standard. If you are looking for somewhere quiet to stay and near the centre of Garda then this hotel is ideal. Garda is a great location and we used the public transport (ferries and buses) to travel around. The organised tours by the tour companies can be very expensive but if you use public transport you can save quite a bit. We bought a daily circulation ferry ticket (busso lago) for the lower part of the lake for about 23 euros each and were able to visit Salo, Sirimione and Lasize in the one day and were able to spend approximately 2.5 hours at each town. We also took the bus to Malcesine and went on the cable car to the top of Mount Baldo where the views of the lake were amazing. For an extra 2 euros you can visit the castle in Malcesine by purchasing a joint ticket. Riva is also well worth a visit. You can travel by ferry from Garda and then return by bus or vice versa. The buses are really good value for money. I would advise that you do some research on the Web before travelling to Garda. I was able to download ferry timetables and tariffs, bus timetables, information on cable car at Mount Baldo and various street maps of all the towns including Verona, Garda, Bardolino, Malcesine, Lazize etc. All in all Lake Garda is a great location and Hotel Virginia is a great base for an excellent holiday experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fluteplayer1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here in may with my boyfriend! The family who run the hotel were nice. The owners don't speak much English but their daughters do. The room was fine, very clean!! Breakfast each day was lovely. We knew it didn't have a pool but there was a nice area to sit outside. Overall our stay was good. If you're ok with not having a swimming pool then this hotel is great and its just a short walk down the hill to the lake!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tammy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Just back from a week long stay in Garda at this lovely little family run hotel. If you are looking for a budget hotel which rates far above it's two stars then you should certainly consider the Hotel Virginia. The family who owned it couldn't have been nicer, the room was spotless with a lovely modern bathroom and a suntrap balcony. I would recommend getting a room with a balcony for those afternoons when it's just too hot to do anything except sit and relax, although there is a nice wee outside patio surrounded by lemon trees. The breakfast was a good mixture of cereal, toast cake, fruit, cheese and ham, yogurts and coffee. Location wise it's an easy 5 minute stroll via a handy underpass to the centre of Garda yet the hotel is so peaceful and quiet. No pool area or garden so probably not a hotel for families wanting to spend time round the hotel grounds but for a base to explore the lake it was absolutely ideal. A genuine bargain and lovely owners, heartily recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scot628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Nearly cost me my marriage booking a 2 star hotel, but saved by the hotel. Very clean. Breakfast a bit basic but fresh and reasonable choice. Good coffee. In quiet area but very easy walk to local eateries etc. Less than 5 minutes to lake even if you have a limp or have had too much beer. Deserves its higher than expected rating.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Bluenose0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We have just come back from a weeks holiday in Garda
We stayed at the hotel Virginia it is a lovely hotel spotlessly clean, you could eat off the floor. It is in a good location for the town about a 2 minute walk. The proprietors make you feel very welcome and are very obliging nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfast is continental but it is the best continental breakfast we have ever had and it really set us up for day. We was sorry to leave. We also have to mention the lovely cleaner Angela she worked so hard and was so happy and cheerful. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we are already looking forward to going back and staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel has no swimming pool but I pressed by mistake and can't delete it is no detriment to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Anthea
Hotel Villa Anthea
#7 of 49 in Garda
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#27 of 49 in Garda
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alla Torre
Hotel Alla Torre
#38 of 49 in Garda
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Terminus
Hotel Terminus
#24 of 49 in Garda
199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#18 of 49 in Garda
179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Benaco
Hotel Benaco
#16 of 49 in Garda
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Virginia

Address: Via Monte Baldo 19, 37016 Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Garda
Price Range: £56 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Virginia 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Hotel Garda
Hotel Virginia Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing