We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Hotel Villa Anthea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Anthea
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Garda
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great little hotel.
Short walk from the bus station, we arrived early and our room was ready. Really friendly, helpful staff. We had a room on the top floor, facing the front of the hotel. They mention on the website the recent refurbishment and it has been done to a high standard. The place is spotless as well.
Room was a good size, large king size bed, a little harder than we are used to, but we got used to it. Chair and a small desk. Large wardrobe with a safe inside. Really nice bathroom, walk in shower and bidet. Good air conditioning unit. Flat screen TV, hundreds of channels, but none in English. 90% Italian and the rest German and Austrian. Great, super fast wifi, although it wouldn't allow auto join once you had signed in once, so you had to keep putting in the special username and password. No tea or coffee in the room.
Small pool outside, but the loungers are in the shadow most of the day. Small car park at the back of the hotel, but I read they wanted 35 Euros a day to park there. Still parking in Garda is very expensive. I noticed the lakeside pay and display was 1.50 Euros an hour.
Large breakfast room in the basement. Breakfast was really good - cereals, fresh fruits, juices, pastries, continental meats and cheese, plus scrambled eggs and bacon and a range of breads and toast, plus coffee and tea on tap. Very good. They didn't mind you taking stuff back up to your room.
Location very good. 5-10 minutes down hill to the lakeside. If you sleep with the windows open there can be some traffic noise.
Usual check out is 11am. On the day we left our airport shuttle wasn't until nearly 4pm and they let us keep the room for nothing. They also arranged the airport shuttle for us, 20 Euros per person that was added to the bill.
Overall, very, very good value. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Some traffic noise on front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janeandallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 220 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just spent 7 nights at this lovely small hotel, it has recently been refurbished, everything was great, quiet aircon, all mod cons, lovely bathroom an I loved the electric window blinds....better than any blackout curtains! The breakfast was nice, all very fresh and replenished often, had no complaints....although next time I woulday extra and I would upgrade to a bigger room...we had room 308 opposite the lift ( although I never heard the lift) the room was extremely small....but did have plenty of storage space for clothes....but no space for the empty cases.... But this did not bother us greatly, as we were out every day, and only slept in the room. The pool area is small, but very clean and adequate, and great if you have a few hours to spare and relax.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Janmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel with my family in May 2014 for 4 nights – we booked two double rooms and one single. The rooms were adequately sized with plenty of room for storing clothes and suitcases during the stay – there was a large wardrobe and two sets of drawers in each room. As the hotel has seen recently refurbished the door keys, air conditioning, safe, fixtures and fittings were all very modern and very functional. The bathroom was large with a powerful shower with plenty of hot water, a toilet, bidet and a good sized mirror. The beds were extremely comfortable and there was little to no noise from the surrounding streets.

The hotel is situated in a fantastic location of only about a 2 minute walk down the hill to the main promenade and lake front in Garda. There are a number of small shops nearby to purchase water and snacks.

The staff were excellent and very friendly. Breakfast was superb with a great selection of items including bacon, sausage, scrambled and boiled eggs, yoghurts, fruits, pastries and cold meats and cheese – the breakfast set in a reasonably sized room on the lower level of the hotel and was served from a respectable 7am to 10am. We had an early train from Peschiera del Garda on our departure day and the staff organised a taxi and packed us up a picnic breakfast for the train which was greatly appreciated.

The pool area was quite small but very clean and tidy with a good number of sun beds for the size. Although quite small the pool was more than adequate for a quick swim and relax.
Overall we all had a fantastic time at this hotel and I would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in Garda.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasperblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We had room 306, a superior room, so it was very spacious. Large bed – very firm, which was great for me but a bit too hard for my husband. The room also has a single sofa bed and a small table and chairs. The bathroom is also large, has shower, separate to the bath, which is actually quite a large Jacuzzi. This proved bliss on returning from long walks by the lake! Breakfast was a generous buffet; cereals, fruit, yoghurts, pastries, cake, toast, cold meat, tomatoes, boiled eggs, sausage, bacon and scrambled egg, (all topped up regularly and kept fresh). The staff are friendly and very helpful. We will return, hopefully next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed at the Villa Anthea in September booked with crystal the room we were given was very small couldn't swing a cat in it was that small very clean and was kept that way but would not take much cleaning it was that small.As this hotel has just been converted I was expecting a little bit more.The shower room and toilet was also small and no place to put your toiletries but in the bidet but again very clean.Went to look at other rooms which were much more equipped with power shower in comfort and a sitting area so the answer is don't book with Crystal/Thomsons because I have noticed that their rooms in any of the hotels we have stayed in Garda are like this.The breakfast was alwright but nothing to right home about only two cereals flakes and muesli,the day we left we had an early pick-up we asked if we could have an early breakfast we were told we would get a packed one consisting of ham and cheese sandwich a peach an apple piece small piece of cake three small biscuits in a pack and a bottle of frizzaze water that not everybody likes,the older lady said that breakfast did not start till 7.30am but low and behold who turns up at 6.30am as we were waiting for pick-up guess who.In the crystals book on the table it said there was a night porter who we think we seen come down stairs at 6.15am who opened front door and said to us in broken English if anyone comes in tell them he will be back in 15 minutes if he was the night porter why is he not told to do early breakfasts,and as far as the noise is concerned if you get a room above front door be prepared for an early morning call about 5.30am as this is when the bin men come and again at 6.00am followed by delivery men also the street noise was on-going motor bikes racing up and down a main road that joins the main Garda to Riva road as we have been to Garda many times and stayed in better places that have the same star rating as this hotel and were much better but we could not get in but at a push we would return to this hotel but not with crystal/thomsons

Room Tip: Don't book with Crystal/thomsons they do not have the biggest rooms book with booking.com they s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taybrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelvillaanthea, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Anthea, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you couldn't enjoy your holiday.
We are very surprised that you didn't appreciate the variety of our breakfast , as we offer fruit, croissant, cookies, cakes, eggs, bacon, chees, ham, salami, different kinds of bread, and a lot more. Usually, breakfast is from 7.30 to 10 and we use to prepare packed breakfast to take away for early departures, if guests prefer to have breakfast earlier we always try to satisfy their requests as far as possible, and if you remember we did it for you, opening the breakfast room and preparing you the breakfast. Of course, it was not possible to get everything ready for 6.30, an hour earlier than usual, but we did our best.
Moreover, we are sorry if you couldn't sleep well, but the hotel is situated in a central position and of course it brings advantages but also disadvantages, such as the noise on the street.
We hope to see you again in our hotel.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Our family stayed in Garda in Italy on 21-28 Aug...we took 3 rooms, and all were clean, well equipped and comfortable. With an amazing location only 200m from gardas shops, restaurants, bus station and lake its the perfect place to base yourself. The family who run this hotel are friendly helpful and provide a wonderful service to its guests.The breakfast is great, fresh, always refreshed and a variety to choose from. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cass616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We have just returned from a week staying at the Villa Althea in Garda and as all other reviewers have stated this is a perfect hotel. We had a double classic room at the back of the property very quite, with everything we needed for a stay. Only one point but it is not a criticism, it would have been nice to have tea and coffee facilities in the room. The breakfast was excellent, with a generous hot and cold buffet breakfast to cater for all tastes including freshly baked rolls, croissants and pastries, this was continually being replenished. The Hotel provided us with a packed breakfast, on the morning when we had a very early start to visit Venice, there was so much it provided us with breakfast and lunch. Others have listed all the facilities and the convenience of the location but what impressed us most as well as the cleanliness was the continual attention to detail and helpfulness of the staff nothing was left undone or thought of. The Hotel has a three star rating but it was 5 star as far as we were concerned would recommend this to anyone wanting a B&B Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OTDS E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Garda hotels
0.1 mi away
La Vittoria Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Poiano Resort Hotel
Poiano Resort Hotel
#13 of 49 in Garda
1,670 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Eden Garda
Hotel Eden Garda
#4 of 49 in Garda
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior le Terrazze
0.1 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#8 of 49 in Garda
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regina Adelaide Hotel
Regina Adelaide Hotel
#11 of 49 in Garda
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Anthea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Anthea

Address: Via Giotto 2, 37016 Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Garda
#3 Best Value Hotel in Garda
Price Range: £80 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Anthea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Anthea is a family-run hotel in the city of Garda. The cozy and welcoming environment allows guests to enjoy their holidays feeling like at home thanks to the courtesy and helpfulness of the staff. The property is located just a stone’s throw away from the city center of Garda and from there you can reach the harbour in a couple of minutes by walking. Moreover, it is well connected by public transport. You will not miss relaxation and sport: the hotel’s location is ideal to practice sports, as kite surfing, windsurfing, sailing, golf, hiking, biking, etc. thanks to the numerous sport centres nearby. Alternatively, you can cool off in our whirlpool and swimming pool where you can dive in the fresh water or have a drink at the pool. Around the pool you will find the Solarium area equipped with sun loungers and umbrellas where you can relax, recover your energies and enjoy the warm summer sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Villa Anthea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Anthea Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing