We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic getaway”
Review of Bellariva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bellariva Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“romantic getaway”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful stay at the Bella Riva.
A few days prior to our arrival they sent us a personal welcome email, much appreciated.
The hotel has a beautiful location, the rooms are spacious and the pool area is wonderful for a sunny day.
Having breakfast outside in that setting togehter with a fantastic breakfast made my day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lundgrencarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    34
    5
    8
    3
See reviews for
43
167
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Bella Riva for 4 nights in the Mansard Suite in July, and simply didn't want to leave! The hotel was luxurious, stylish and we both agree the best hotel we've stayed in. The staff are friendly and attentive without it being over the top, with a relaxed atmosphere during the day, in the bar and in the restaurant. It's well located between Salo and Toscalana, with plenty of good restaurants around to introduce variety as well. Will certainly go back one day and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends and family!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The guide books all talk about the faded beauty of Gardone Riviera's grand hotels. Whether that is right or not, there's nothing faded about the lovely Bella Riva. This fine historic building was revamped six years ago in minimalist chic Milanese style, its elegant bedrooms almost bare but for a splash of gold on the Klimt bed heads. The table napkins are such lovely raw linen that you think they should be made up as shirts. And even the bath mat is a thing of beauty. The Bella Riva has so much going for it. A stunning setting on the edge of the sparkling lake. A grand historic building elegantly modernised. But above all delightful staff with not a whiff of stuffy pretentiousness. Instead you have friendly, chatty Fabbio in the restaurant, stylish Enzo at the bar, and the pre-Raphaelite beauty of Antonella with her dry, sly sense of humour. Lovely people, stunning place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side have views over both the lake and the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The Bella Riva hotel is beautifully located right at Lago di Garda. We had a room with a big balcony and an excellent view over the lake. The breakfast was brilliant and offered everything I wanted to have for breakfast. The food in general was alright but too expensive. The service was really nice and extremely helpful. Our stay at the hotel was very relaxing and enjoyable. I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the beautiful Bella Riva for 10 nights in June and couldn't have asked for a better break. We are expecting a baby in just over two months and we wanted a stress free, relaxing and luxurious break - we got just that.

The hotel is in a great location with access to lots of local restaurants, gelaterias and Italian cities. We visited most of the lakes towns and villages and the West side of the lake is definitely the prettiest. We also went to Verona which is only an hour or so away. All in all, the perfect base for exploring. We would advise a car though!

My fiance took his bike and spent most days cycling around the lake or finding a mountainous route to explore. The hotel were brilliant at accommodating the bike and stored it in their garage for the entire stay.

The breakfasts are absolutely exceptional. We both couldn't wait to get downstairs for the pastries, fresh fruit and delicious hams. The lunches are just what you want when you're relaxing - sandwiches, burgers, salads (all with an Italian twist). We only ate one evening meal at the hotel simply because we felt it was a little expensive. The food on the one night we did eat was superb however. As mentioned before, there are plenty of cheaper options a short walk/drive away with Ai Pines being a firm favourite for pizza (and an amazing view).

Our room was just what was expected. We went for the standard option and the only two let down's were that it didn't have a bath or a full length mirror. However, the shower was powerful and the room was clean, bright and airy. We had a sweet little balcony that faced the lake. The bed was very very comfy and big. We requested hypoallergenic pillows and received them with no fuss.

The pool area is gorgeous and the pool itself is clean. The easy access to the lake is perfect and a quick dip in it was definitely a luxury.

The service and staff were absolutely brilliant throughout our stay, we felt welcome and were treated extremely well by each and every member of staff. Special mention goes to the restaurant manager who was very attentive.

We were both very sad to leave and hope to return next year with the addition to the family (kids are very welcome).

Thank you Bella Riva for a fantastic 10 days!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Bella Riva for 4 days, 3 nights. Without a doubt it was everything we could have wished for and more.

We stayed in Mansard suite room. The room consisted of a walk in wardrobe, steam room, roll top bath, huge bedroom and really comfy bed (we like a well supporting bed). The shutters to our roof (which opened onto a small 1x1 m square area to view the lake) kept out all light so we slept like a dream. Other than on one day when we ventured out for a drive, we pretty much stayed at the hotel and grounds as it was just so relaxing. We spent our time by the lovely pool or dipping into the lake from the hotel Jetty which I highly recommend. The lake was so clean and also lovely to swim in.

The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast I've ever had. The selection was so fresh and so well prepared. Definitely opt in for it. We ate in the hotel 2 out of 3 evenings. The manager of the restaurant was so good, suggesting great wines to accompany each meal and also just spending time talking to us. The food standard was excellent and whilst you do pay for it, for the quality seemed well priced. When eating any meal on the terrace or inside, the views are breathtaking. The bar man, Enzo also mixed some fantastic cocktails which left us very happy.

Sadly we had to leave. Would definitely recommend and want to go back. Not very touristy which is what we like and the area is just so lovely. If we had had longer we would have spent a day sailing / windsurfing/ hiring a boat down the road or perhaps going for a cycle. And there was also the option for spa treatments.

The experience was intimate without being too much which you can get from more boutique hotels. If I die, I want to live here.

A couple of very minor points. There is no iron in the bedroom, just a laundry service and also no dressing table which was a shame but not an issue.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1985waterbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Spent two nights with friends at end of June. The Bella Riva is both stylish and welcoming. A tad expensive but very much you get what you pay for. Breakfast superb, dinner good but not great.
major room tip avoid rooms at the rear of the Hotel that directly face the Church.......they ring loudly all night.....every 30 mins !!!We transferred with no fuss to a smaller room to side of hotel with side view of Lake...............no intrusion from bells on side away from church.
Would definitely return which is the best compliment of all.

Room Tip: Avoid noisy rooms at rear close to church bells and road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank propertyspiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
21.9 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
390 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa del Sogno
Hotel Villa del Sogno
#7 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
155 reviews
9.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#14 of 68 in Sirmione
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellariva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellariva Hotel

Property: Bellariva Hotel
Address: Via Mario Podini 1/2, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#5 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bellariva Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella riva is a comfortable hotel with a 5 star contemporary charm. An elegant architecture, beautiful suites, impeccable service, deluxe amenities, and, of course, our prime location on the lake await you so that your day flows pleasant and carefree. The historic building has been completely renovated in 2010 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bellariva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellariva Hotel Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing