We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Lake Garda Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gardone
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best Lake Garda Location”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

For our first Italian Lake experience we booked the Grand Hotel through Prestige Holidays Uk, who organised flights, superbly efficeint private car between Verona Airport and the Hotel itself. We used the boats , accessing them immediately by the Hotel entrance to explore the lake and its other locations- although Limone, Malcesine, Bardolino, Sirmione,Riva, Garda, Salo have their own attractions and interests what separates Gardone Riviera from these other resorts is the peacefulness, elegance and lack of crowds that are more noticeable elsewhere. As for the Hotel an absolutely perfect location, wonderfully attentive and informative staff in reception and breakfast room. A fabulous breakfast choice ( absolutely must eat scambled egg!) Winnies cocktail bar lounge prices are "on the high side" but the wonderful piano and singing entertainment in the evenings compensates and is highly recommended and presented in just the right tone and, of course, mine host of the bar is worth the visit just to see him in action.
The rooms balcony was fine , two chairs and table and wonderful views of the Lakeand of the boats arriving and departing. The room and bathroom spacious= super hot showers- the maid service excellent and a truly safe room safe ! (For tbose who cannot survive without English speaking TV there is Sky News, CNN and BBC World News.)
The Hotels "garden and promenade" offer sunny and secluded seating areas and the dual choice of lake swimming or pool swimming is a real plus. Plenty of loungers, towels and lack of poolside noise made the sunbathing areas relaxing and must go to places.
Only two slight criticisms- a pot of tea for two via room service costs 16 euros! (no tea/coffee making facilities in the bedrooms for health and safety reasons) and for use of the sauna/steam room a 30 minute advance booking is required and a 14 euros charge is made...
Immediately adjacent to the Hotel entrance is the further walk to a half a dozen or so restaurant and bars with lakeside views ( and a variety of food choices and prices)
On the road side of the Hotel a bus stop takes you to Salo (in 10 minutes) and further south Brescia and Desenzano for rail connections to Verona and Venice and to be recommended either by the little road train from the Hotel or by an uphill walk from that bus stop go to Il,Vittioriale (and check out the three restaurants nearby) and the botanical garden.
The majority of guests were aged 40 plus, not a location for teenagers--and many were time and again returners and it was perfectly obvious why. Go and see for yourself

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jonroncol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    270
    63
    15
    12
See reviews for
171
647
24
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We had a great week's stay at the Grand Hotel. The food was excellent and all the staff are very friendly and efficient and keen to resolve any problems. We had a few problems; we booked a superior lake view room which when we got there at 7.00pm had a view from the balcony of a big impenetrable tree just in front - see picture. This was room 167. We were told the hotel was full but that they would show us another room the following day. The following day we moved to a 3rd floor room with a fantastic view from the balcony - see picture. It turned out that the air conditioning in this room was not working and as it was a Sunday couldn't be fixed. We asked for and were given a fan. The air con was fixed early the next morning. The other problem was the non slip shower mat in the bath that slipped all over the place because it was missing most of its suction pads. This was changed by the housekeeper.
We had these teething problems which one can do without on a holiday - but once sorted we loved our stay at the hotel. The breakfast is superb, and food generally was excellent. The restaurant has a policy of reserving the same table for you each night. If you order wine or water and dont drink it all it is there for you cold the next evening.
We rented a car on arrival in Verona and used it to explore the countryside. Hotel parking cost €12 a day.
Internet access was in the main lobby only and slow and expensive.

Room Tip: Best to go for rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank viajero20091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We've travelled to several Italian lakes, Lake Gada being the favourite and Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera best hotel of them all. We've stayed at this hotel now several times, and it never disappoints. There's always a warm welcome from the friendly, helpful reception staff and it's good to see so many familiar faces amongst other hotel staff, specially in the dining room where we fortunately always have a table on the terrace for breakfast and dinner. Roberto the Maitre D' is charming and feels like an old friend now, and this year our main waiter was Patrik, a really cheerful and gracious man. Wonderful food, wine and service - over many years, the standards remain high. We've always had a lakeview room and that view is good for the soul! Here again, standards are high with towelling robes and slippers provided - the room is serviced morning and evening each day. Gardone Riviera is very quiet but the hotel is right by the ferry stop for trips to larger, busier,noisier places. It's always heaven to return to the tranquility of Gardone Riviera and this wonderful Grand Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trudykosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Our first visit to Italy and lake Garda. Could not fault the hotel. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble.The food and presentation second to none. The waiters were excellent. Room was spacious and had a lovely lake view. Hotel well located for touring the lake.Quieter part of the lake at Gardone Riviera, but good as a base and serviced well by ferries of various kinds.(Timetable took some getting used to). Will go back and highly recommended.You will not be disappointed! Jayne and Michael Keay, Tipton,West Midlands.UK.

Room Tip: upgrade to a lake view, some rooms face busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JaynieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BELFAST
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

This is a stunning hotel set on the side of the lake. Very convenient to the ferry and local shops and restaurants.
The staff are excellent. The hotel is very peaceful and quiet.
It s worth paying extra for a lake view room.
Would recommend it for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Lake view room worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLJBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

We visited this hotel as part of our Ruby Wedding celebrations in May 2011. We started off in Venice where we stayed at the Danieli (see seperate report) for 3 days then travelled by train and Ferry/steamer to Gardone. So we will start this report from the time we left the Gardone by Vaporeto to Venice railway station. We had purchased prebooked seats (return) to Peschiera at the southern limit of Lake Garda. The harbour is not well signed from the station and when we got their we found the ticket office closed. Apparently it only opens 20 mins before a departure. Fortunately the Tourist Information office is nearby and they told us that the next fery to Gardone was in 3 hours. Ah well 3 hours to people watch in Peschiera and wander about. The ferry at app 5pm was a fast one and it took about 1hr 20mins to get to Gardone.
As already reported to Gardone is right next door to the jetty. We were welcomed at reception and taken to our room which was spacious with a separate dressing area and spacious toilet. The Grand is sandwiched between the (busy) road and the Lake such that it has a curious plan. It is long and narrow with, I think, only one set of rooms off the corridors. Needless to say these rooms overlook the Lake and you are buffered from the road by the corridor and the functional rooms of the hotel.
Breakfast was buffet style and good, I would have preferred greater choice of cereals and meusli. Dinner was excellent, but again not much selection in the menu. A choice of 4 starters and main courses with a buffet style sweet.
The hotel is ideally placed to explore Lake and Gardone itself. The Ferries or steamers are very reasonably priced and we visited Riva at the head of the Lake. (ps there is a bust of Verdi in Riva - could anyone enlighten me as to his connection with the town?)
Gardone boasts 2 remarkable gardens - the quirky Heller garden and the Vittoriale built by G D'Annunzio. The latter has a reassembled warship incorporated into its design.
We returned to the Danieli in Venice the way we came - only to find we could not use our return tickets as they were prebooked for an early train we could not catch. So we purchased tickets for a non-bookable train at 8 euros each - no big deal.
All-in-all we really liked this hotel it was spotless, rooms were spacious, views were spectacular, it had a relaxed atmosphere and is ideally located.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Inchconnachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Probably the nicest position on Lake Garda, not busy, very peaceful, lake side rooms are superb. Food was excellent so take no notice of the other reviews with food problems we tried all sorts and no worries ! The breakfasts are without fault. Plenty of local restaurants of all price structures so no need to eat in all the time if you want a change of scene. One restaurant I give a plug to is called "Emiliano" just 100 metres from hotel has its own wood burning oven and the family look after you well. Re an old comment about baths being slippery, we found them perfectly Ok and think would have to be very drunk to fall over in one ! The air conditioning did not work & was a let down sadly. So check the aircon when you go in your room and make a fuss its advertised so should be working and sleeping is hellish without it. Overall still a brilliant helpful hotel,nice staff who are trying their best.Parking is secure and costs 12 euro a day as of May 2011,the lake is great for swimming & hotel pool is divine with plenty of loungers /decking areas. Enjoy. We will return.

Room Tip: State lakeside view as the road side is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobnMarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
23.0 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
573 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
943 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#6 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gardone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gardone

Property: Grand Hotel Gardone
Address: Corso Zanardelli 84, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gardone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 as the first hotel on Lake Garda, the Grand Hotel Gardone testifies the elegance and style of an era. The view of the lake is majestic and very picturesque, and becomes even more impressive with the ever changing light, sun and shades during the day and night. The hotel has 167 bedrooms and Jr. Suites with balcony, offering every comfort with a splendid view of the lake. Refined cuisine with local specialities can be enjoyed at a candlelight à la carte dinner on the terrace restaurant “Il Giardino dei Limoni” by the pool. The menu of the day is served at the lakeside restaurant with veranda, while at the pool snack bar you can have a quick informal lunch. The Winnie's Piano Bar offers the opportunity for a drink and dance after dinner. There is a private beach, a solarium terrace along the lake, heated swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam bath, massage and beauty parlour, jetty for motorboats, internet points and Wi-fi in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Gardone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gardone Riviera
Gardone Riviera Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Gardone Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing