We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardone Reviera and the Grand Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gardone
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gardone Reviera and the Grand Hotel”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

In September 2011 we visited the Grand Hotel in Gardone Reviera as part of a package with Great Rail journeys. We travelled by rail from the UK and our hotel was the Grand in Gardone Riviera.

The location of the Grand is superb, on the shore of Lake Garda with most of the rooms having a beautiful view across the lake. If you book a room at the Grand check with the hotal that you room view of the lake will not be obstructed by trees, on or two rooms do have this problem.

The rooms are excellent, with plenty of space and very clean a full bath. The view across the lake is is really special from your own balcony. The hotel has a small swiming pool but why swim there when you can swim in the lake which is absolutely delightful and at the time we were there warmer than the pool.

The dining room looks across the lake and for breakfast you can sit outside under an awning which is fantastic. The breakfast is excellent with a chef on hand to cook your own pecial formula omelette, yum.... In the evening we sat inside for dinner which was always excellent and to a very high standard. The dinning room can be a bit warm in the evening, bit more cooling air would have been nice.

The Grand hotel is where Winston Churchill went in the 1950s and the main bar is known as Wini's bar and is where he sipped his champagne.

Overall a great hotel in a lovely area with easy access to boats going to all places around the lake.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with the view of the lake obscured by trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank macmclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    286
    63
    15
    14
See reviews for
190
704
25
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
roma
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I'm visiting Hotel Gardone for 15 years every year about ten days and love it.
It's like going back to a fin de siècle atmosphère, but with all modern services. The hotel is situated on the Garda Lake in the small town of Gardone. You can go for a walk on the lakeside, play tennis very close ( walking distance) and play Golf. You can also rent a boat, for a day or a week an travel by yourself on Gardalake. The hotel has a swimming pool and a huge garden an from the garden you can jump directly in the lake and have a swim. The alentours are full of good restaurants and you can visit the villa of the poet Gabbriele d' ANNUNZIO right behind the hotel. For more shopping visit Salò, 6 km distance with nice shops.

Room Tip: Always take a room on lakeside. Th hotel is very big tus you can chose between the first rooms near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank martine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I simply had to reply to the review dated 28/8/11'Not for the well heeled' I have been to the Grand Hotel many times and never been disappointed.The service is great and the Hotel is run as befitting its stature. How dare this person refer to the Grand as not for the well heeled!
What is meant by this odious remark? I am a Director of my own company, my husband also has his own company and we own various properties in various countries. Is that not well heeled? I have always found the other residents polite and somewhat gentile which is what I look for in a relaxing holiday. What planet is this person on????

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 914 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one week in August 2011 after booking a last minute trip using an Irish travel company called latedeals.ie. We flew into Verona, and the transfer time to the Grand Hotel was about one and a half hours after we had made a number of drop offs in other resorts.

The hotel is situated right on the waterfront of Lake Garda and is in a lovely location. It has its own promenade which runs the full length of the hotel and meets with the public promenade at the ferry dock at the side door. The outdoor pool is nice to sit at but we found the timber deck over the lake was perfect. This is also the best place for accessing the lake for a dip. The loungers come with complimentary beach towels and are very comfortable. The built-in canopy is useful in the hot afternoon sun, but there are also plenty of umbrellas and tables. There are also plenty of lakeside seats for those who do not want to sunbathe.

Our room had a lake view with a balcony and I would suggest that if you don’t have at least a lake view then you will miss out. It was quite old fashioned in terms of the decoration, but it was clean and tidy and very much met our needs for a week. There was a fridge, safe and TV, and sufficient storage. The bathroom was good, and the complimentary slippers were a nice touch.

The breakfast room has both indoor and outdoor seating and we had no problem getting a table at whatever time we went down. The selection of food was very good and was always of a high quality. There is an omelette station which makes your choice and a waiter will deliver to your table. We had lunch a couple of times at the pool bar which was good but competitively pricy. We ate in the fancy Limone Restaurant one evening to celebrate our anniversary and were extremely impressed with the brilliant service, gorgeous food and exclusive setting outside and right by the water. Mostly we ate in the restaurants in Gardone and can especially recommend Caffe Wimmer, right beside the side entrance. It was very competitive in terms of price and we had delicious Italian food at both lunch and in the evening on a number of occasions. It’s also worth a walk up to the old town of Gardone Sopra, about 15 minutes up hill for a drink or a bite to eat.

In terms of the other guests, we found that it was primarily an older crowd, but there were still enough children around to make feel fun! There were not too many people in the 18 – 35 bracket, and out of high season I would expect that the guests would all be older again.

Room Tip: Definitely get a lake view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank luckystrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

The Grand Hotel, even though it backs on to the road, has a beautiful lakeside position with its own private garden that sits between the hotel and the lake. There is a small outdoor swimming pool and a lovely sitting area for coffee etc right beside the lake. The ferries to the other small towns that are on the lake, pick up just outside the hotel gate. The food at the hotel was extremely good and the dessert selection was too tempting. The room had a small balcony and overlooked the lake and was very good. There was a lovely intimate bar with a small dancefloor and every evening there was the resident piano playing singer who made the evenings very enjoyable. Probably not for the young holidaymaker. The small village of Gardone had a small selection of other places to eat but was quite small and quiet. Loved it and would go back again and again and again.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank patricialynncook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed at the Grand in September for 1 week. We found the staff very attentive and pleasant nothing was a problem. The hotel itself is an old building, it is grand and elegant, as the reviews state there aren't minimalist modern rooms but that makes it special it has character. We booked for a lake view room and the only disappointment was, as previously mentioned, some lake view rooms have the view obstructed by trees. We mentioned this to reception who immediately moved us to a room on the next floor with fantastic views over the lake from the balcony. The food was excellent, we were in a tour group on a half board basis and though there was a set menu there was great options and everything was cooked to perfection. We had breakfast on the terrace every morning which was wonderful, there was a huge choice of fruit, cereals, breads and pastries with a chef on the terrace to cook omelettes and fried eggs at your request.

The hotel is in a quiet area but there are a few lovely attractions nearby which can be reached by the dotto train which stops right outside the hotel including the Botanical Gardens and the Vittoriale. The ferry departs outside the hotel and there are plenty of lovely places on the lake to visit. Along the promenade from the hotel are a few bars and restaurants, we often had drinks and cocktails in Bar Rosetta. As mentioned the drinks in the hotel are very expensive, expect to pay around £25 for a decent bottle of wine and £5 for a small coke. We were recommended to try lunch in a restaurant called Emilliano's, don't be put off by the plastic chairs outside the food is fantastic and very well priced.

Room Tip: When booking rooms on the lake are more peaceful with great view, rooms at the back of the hotel are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank chinarose87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We picked this hotel based on reviews from other travellers and were not disappointed. The hotel is old and grand so do not expect modern luxuries. For example the elevator barely fits 3 people and it is faster to take the stairs. The TV stations are all news, oh wel so what sit on your balcony and watch the ferries go by. Our window had a fabulous view. The food at teh hotel was good, breakfast is included as is the custom here, buffet style.
My husband and I stayed for 5 days, perhaps a bit tooo long as he does not like to sit still for long. This is a lovely get away to escape noise and the daily rush of life. Expect to slow down and smell the roses here. Not recommended for families or the adventurous. We really enjoyed travelling around on Lake garda by ferry and visiting all the small towns along the lake. The main occupation of your trip will be sipping wine or eating gelao at a small lake side cafe. Not so bad, bring a good book and put your watch in the vault. Relax

Room Tip: get a room at least 3 floors up and on the lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandybeachsareus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
23.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
981 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#6 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#3 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
602 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#3 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
405 reviews
14.0 mi away
Enjoy Garda Hotel
Enjoy Garda Hotel
#1 of 28 in Peschiera del Garda
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gardone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gardone

Property: Grand Hotel Gardone
Address: Corso Zanardelli 84, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gardone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 as the first hotel on Lake Garda, the Grand Hotel Gardone testifies the elegance and style of an era. The view of the lake is majestic and very picturesque, and becomes even more impressive with the ever changing light, sun and shades during the day and night. The hotel has 167 bedrooms and Jr. Suites with balcony, offering every comfort with a splendid view of the lake. Refined cuisine with local specialities can be enjoyed at a candlelight à la carte dinner on the terrace restaurant “Il Giardino dei Limoni” by the pool. The menu of the day is served at the lakeside restaurant with veranda, while at the pool snack bar you can have a quick informal lunch. The Winnie's Piano Bar offers the opportunity for a drink and dance after dinner. There is a private beach, a solarium terrace along the lake, heated swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam bath, massage and beauty parlour, jetty for motorboats, internet points and Wi-fi in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Grand Hotel Gardone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gardone Riviera
Gardone Riviera Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Gardone Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing