We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel shame about the food!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gardone
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I can only give this hotel three basically due to the food. The hotel itself is lovely very clean, the housekeeping is probably the best we have ever had in a hotel absolutely spotless.

My main complaints about the food is as follows: -

Breakfast - only three choices of cereal and these are very cheap and taste just like catering cereals. No hot plates for the hotter food of eggs and bacon. No choice only omlettes or fried eggs and one morning the omlette was raw in the middle. No fresh bread laid out just packaged from a supermarket. Toaster either burns bread or its underdone. Orange juice was watered done Tesco value tasted better!! Yogurts were warm and lids were left up on scrambled eggs and bacon leaving them cold. Coffee tasted awful. Also for a four star hotel no nice touches like sparkling wine left out. Packaged jam just like what you would have at the Services no glass jars etc, again just like catering jams.

Evening meal - if you are a vegetarian then there is no choice for you. The salad bar is better in Pizza Hut!! no pasta salads or rice, no tuna or prawns, we didnt even see a cucumber in sight, the only things on there were lettuce, carrot, beetroot and tomatoes. Starters were only limited choice and so was the main course. One of the things that made us laugh was a pasta dish with basil pesto and tomato which actually had prawns in we later discovered. The deserts are definately no home made and the fruit looked as though it had been hanging around for a few days. There was also a shortage of bread rolls, dry balls put on the table together with packaged bread sticks, and not a side plate and knife in sight. We passed some gorgeous bread shops why are they not buying in this bread.

We spoke to some people who were at the hotel this time last year and they said the choice and quality of food had really gone down.

Also I would like to add for people that although Gardone is lovely there are a lot better places around the lake than there.

Would I return to this hotel - definately not the food is awful some of the worst I have ever had abroad I expected a lot better!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for lakeside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Buddy2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

798 - 804 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

The Grand in Gardone has wonderful views of Lake Garda. It's next door to the jetty so ferries are easy to pick up. Bit of a steep walk uphill to get to the centre of town and the bars and restaurants, but there are a few nearby anyway. The staff were lovely, rooms spacious and cleaned well every day (plus a turn down service). But the prices for drinks!!! Ten Euro for a beer! The breakfast was good but a bit samey; but we would never consider eating or drinking in the Hotel because of those prices. Such a shame as all of the lounges are lovely.
Be aware - there are very few taxis and none can be hailed in the street - you have to call for them, and apparently they'll charge 10 Euro or more to go into the town centre. It's better to climb the hill!
Would certainly stay at the Grand again though.

Room Tip: Always go for a Lake view - otherwise you'll be be looking at the main road, and the building si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank catwoman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The Grand Hotel lived up to my expectations striking a fine balance between faded elegance and modern standards of service. Rooms were spacious and comfortable, staff were attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the bar was a pleasant place to be both before and after dinner.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

In September 2011 we visited the Grand Hotel in Gardone Reviera as part of a package with Great Rail journeys. We travelled by rail from the UK and our hotel was the Grand in Gardone Riviera.

The location of the Grand is superb, on the shore of Lake Garda with most of the rooms having a beautiful view across the lake. If you book a room at the Grand check with the hotal that you room view of the lake will not be obstructed by trees, on or two rooms do have this problem.

The rooms are excellent, with plenty of space and very clean a full bath. The view across the lake is is really special from your own balcony. The hotel has a small swiming pool but why swim there when you can swim in the lake which is absolutely delightful and at the time we were there warmer than the pool.

The dining room looks across the lake and for breakfast you can sit outside under an awning which is fantastic. The breakfast is excellent with a chef on hand to cook your own pecial formula omelette, yum.... In the evening we sat inside for dinner which was always excellent and to a very high standard. The dinning room can be a bit warm in the evening, bit more cooling air would have been nice.

The Grand hotel is where Winston Churchill went in the 1950s and the main bar is known as Wini's bar and is where he sipped his champagne.

Overall a great hotel in a lovely area with easy access to boats going to all places around the lake.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with the view of the lake obscured by trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank macmclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I'm visiting Hotel Gardone for 15 years every year about ten days and love it.
It's like going back to a fin de siècle atmosphère, but with all modern services. The hotel is situated on the Garda Lake in the small town of Gardone. You can go for a walk on the lakeside, play tennis very close ( walking distance) and play Golf. You can also rent a boat, for a day or a week an travel by yourself on Gardalake. The hotel has a swimming pool and a huge garden an from the garden you can jump directly in the lake and have a swim. The alentours are full of good restaurants and you can visit the villa of the poet Gabbriele d' ANNUNZIO right behind the hotel. For more shopping visit Salò, 6 km distance with nice shops.

Room Tip: Always take a room on lakeside. Th hotel is very big tus you can chose between the first rooms near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank martine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I simply had to reply to the review dated 28/8/11'Not for the well heeled' I have been to the Grand Hotel many times and never been disappointed.The service is great and the Hotel is run as befitting its stature. How dare this person refer to the Grand as not for the well heeled!
What is meant by this odious remark? I am a Director of my own company, my husband also has his own company and we own various properties in various countries. Is that not well heeled? I have always found the other residents polite and somewhat gentile which is what I look for in a relaxing holiday. What planet is this person on????

Room Tip: Ask for a lake facing suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one week in August 2011 after booking a last minute trip using an Irish travel company called latedeals.ie. We flew into Verona, and the transfer time to the Grand Hotel was about one and a half hours after we had made a number of drop offs in other resorts.

The hotel is situated right on the waterfront of Lake Garda and is in a lovely location. It has its own promenade which runs the full length of the hotel and meets with the public promenade at the ferry dock at the side door. The outdoor pool is nice to sit at but we found the timber deck over the lake was perfect. This is also the best place for accessing the lake for a dip. The loungers come with complimentary beach towels and are very comfortable. The built-in canopy is useful in the hot afternoon sun, but there are also plenty of umbrellas and tables. There are also plenty of lakeside seats for those who do not want to sunbathe.

Our room had a lake view with a balcony and I would suggest that if you don’t have at least a lake view then you will miss out. It was quite old fashioned in terms of the decoration, but it was clean and tidy and very much met our needs for a week. There was a fridge, safe and TV, and sufficient storage. The bathroom was good, and the complimentary slippers were a nice touch.

The breakfast room has both indoor and outdoor seating and we had no problem getting a table at whatever time we went down. The selection of food was very good and was always of a high quality. There is an omelette station which makes your choice and a waiter will deliver to your table. We had lunch a couple of times at the pool bar which was good but competitively pricy. We ate in the fancy Limone Restaurant one evening to celebrate our anniversary and were extremely impressed with the brilliant service, gorgeous food and exclusive setting outside and right by the water. Mostly we ate in the restaurants in Gardone and can especially recommend Caffe Wimmer, right beside the side entrance. It was very competitive in terms of price and we had delicious Italian food at both lunch and in the evening on a number of occasions. It’s also worth a walk up to the old town of Gardone Sopra, about 15 minutes up hill for a drink or a bite to eat.

In terms of the other guests, we found that it was primarily an older crowd, but there were still enough children around to make feel fun! There were not too many people in the 18 – 35 bracket, and out of high season I would expect that the guests would all be older again.

Room Tip: Definitely get a lake view and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank luckystrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
423 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
465 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#7 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
368 reviews
16.1 mi away
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
Ambienthotel PrimaLuna
#6 of 71 in Malcesine
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gardone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gardone

Address: Corso Zanardelli 84, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range: £162 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gardone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 as the first hotel on Lake Garda, the Grand Hotel Gardone testifies the elegance and style of an era. The view of the lake is majestic and very picturesque, and becomes even more impressive with the ever changing light, sun and shades during the day and night. The hotel has 167 bedrooms and Jr. Suites with balcony, offering every comfort with a splendid view of the lake. Refined cuisine with local specialities can be enjoyed at a candlelight à la carte dinner on the terrace restaurant “Il Giardino dei Limoni” by the pool. The menu of the day is served at the lakeside restaurant with veranda, while at the pool snack bar you can have a quick informal lunch. The Winnie's Piano Bar offers the opportunity for a drink and dance after dinner. There is a private beach, a solarium terrace along the lake, heated swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam bath, massage and beauty parlour, jetty for motorboats, internet points and Wi-fi in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Gardone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gardone Riviera
Gardone Riviera Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Gardone Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing