We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gardone
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Perhapa I've been lucky to stay in some wonderful hotels all around the world but this sadly was not one of them.
Yes, the old charm was there, bit like the Hotel National in Cuba, but the bedroom, we had a lake view, was so tired and out dated, balcony only just had space for 2 tiny chairs - no table.
Outdoor dining only allowed when we'd been there 4 days, luckily we'd booked for 11. So had to eat inside, food choice was ok, no sides of vegetables etc, nothing special. Breakfast bit of disappointment too, fruit salad had tinned fruit cocktail in it,bowls of tinned pears or peaches on offer, no pancakes, waffles, cereals- cocoa pops! Bread was nice and fresh.
Location was quiet but children everywhere! Either jumping/ screaming into the lake by sun lounges or yelling in the pool. Most seem to be with German families. Several times children took over the jacuzzi treating it like a child's pool. Main pool quite small.
Drinks in hotel were very expensive, on par with Maldives prices!! The local bars and restaurants were good but as we were half board we didnt try them as much as we'd have liked.
B&B would be the best option.
Sadly this hotel is living on its past reputation, as yes clients seem to return, but there are some much much better places for the cost. Was a big disappointment.
If you want to visit Verona, catch a bus outside hotel to Desensaro (9.15am) takes 40 mins, stops outside railway station then get train.

Room Tip: Room with with lake view and large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SheilajgUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

We've just returned from our second visit to the Grand and, yet again, it didn't disappoint. The staff in all areas of the hotel, from reception to the 'Green Team' (gardening) were professional, helpful and friendly. We asked for and were given the same suite as last year (even though I made a mistake with the room number when I emailed!). It was spotless and very comfortable. The food was delicious with a good choice. It is obvious why there are so many repeat visitors. If you're looking for a quiet holiday where you will be welcomed and your every need catered to, this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room on a higher floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sammi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Hotel set alongside the lake next to Ferry landing not a problem an advantage. Food was lovely good choice well presented. The staff were very good helpful spoke excellent English nothing too much trouble . Have a 2nd or 3rd floor room with lake view and balcony worth the extra and these rooms are quiet did not hear a sound any night stayed 14 nights comfy beds good aircon. (quiet). Only gripe cost of drinks most expensive we have ever had even in 5 Star shame most people walked 30 yards to small bars of a night so hotel bar empty and piano/singer singing to empty room. Cocktail 13 euros we paid 17 euros for pot of tea for 2 and 1 cake.Still an excellent holiday choice highly recommended.

Room Tip: Have a 2nd floor room facing the lake quiet and good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chandbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

If you want modern, 'plastic and chrome', then the Grand is not for you. This is an 'old lady' of a hotel with the elegance and grandeur of a by gone age, but with all mod cons. The public rooms and bedrooms are well furnished and well kept, staff are friendly and efficient and the food - well, it's 'master chef' every time; and eaten right by the water's edge, what could be better? Winston Churchill said of this hotel "we're easily pleased by the best" - you can't argue with that!

Two things to bear in mind: the hotel has a dress code, so come prepared for 'smart casual' and Italy has imposed a 'tourist tax' levied on and collected by the hotel, in this hotel it's 1.40euro pppd.

Room Tip: Choose a room with Lake view and balcony, brilliant scenery; also choose an outside table by the lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamw0rth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A good location in a quiet part of the lake which nevertheless has good connections - the ferry stop is just outside the hotel. The hotel itself is a bit old fashioned but nice and comfortable. The service is good and the bar smart. The hotel stretches along the banks of the lake which can make places a bit distant, but never was too much of a problem. The pool was a bit small, but as the hotel fronts the lake, then that should be big enough for anyone. Biggest complanit is that the pillows are very hard, and this is a bit poor as there are two per person, and they ought to be of different qualities like in most hotels. Apart from breakfast we never ate in the hotel but there are a number of places to eat very near by - the restaurant did look good, although a bit expensive, but was right on the edge of the lake. We had a lake view room which was nice. If we went to Lake Garda again we might well stay here. We had a good time.

The hotel organised a taxi from Verona airport. At 115 euros this seemed a bit expensive at first, but as it took us over an hour, and was in a new S class merc, we felt it was worth it - the alternative would have taken ages!

would rate this at 4.5

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClunkNebbermorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We recently spent two idyllic weeks staying at this really lovely Hotel. Superb room, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, wherever they were and we could not have wished for more. The location is perfect with the jetty offering numerous boat trips should you wish to see more of Lake Garda. We really loved it and would recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful relaxing holiday in a fantastic location at a great Hotel.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a Lake View room - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanbouzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Superb traditional hotel fronting on to Lake Garda and right next to where the ferries stop. These run all day and it is so easy to explore all the lovely little towns and villages on the lake.

The bedrooms and public rooms are superb. The majority of the bedrooms rooms overlook the lake and many have balconies. The hotel is exquisite and the staff work hard to ensure the public rooms, gardens and pool are well presented. The food is delicious and well prepared and served with style.

You get the feeling that this hotel has always been highly rated since it first opened in the 1870s. Among others Winston Churchill liked it and one of the bars is named for him, Winny's Bar where some nights we had the privilege of listening to some superb live Jazz.

Can not think of anything that was not very special and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Request a lake front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynfrst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
425 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
466 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
282 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#7 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gardone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gardone

Address: Corso Zanardelli 84, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range: £156 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gardone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 as the first hotel on Lake Garda, the Grand Hotel Gardone testifies the elegance and style of an era. The view of the lake is majestic and very picturesque, and becomes even more impressive with the ever changing light, sun and shades during the day and night. The hotel has 167 bedrooms and Jr. Suites with balcony, offering every comfort with a splendid view of the lake. Refined cuisine with local specialities can be enjoyed at a candlelight à la carte dinner on the terrace restaurant “Il Giardino dei Limoni” by the pool. The menu of the day is served at the lakeside restaurant with veranda, while at the pool snack bar you can have a quick informal lunch. The Winnie's Piano Bar offers the opportunity for a drink and dance after dinner. There is a private beach, a solarium terrace along the lake, heated swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam bath, massage and beauty parlour, jetty for motorboats, internet points and Wi-fi in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Gardone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gardone Riviera
Gardone Riviera Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Gardone Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing