We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gardone
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a lovely trip to Lake Como staying at the Grand. It is very central for using the ferry as it is literally just outside the hotel. The staff at the hotel were exceptional, helping with maps, parking best times to visit sites etc. The breakfast was really pleasant sitting outside and great service. We had hired a car and the parking costs were about the same as any European city and happy to pay that for security. We travelled about a lot and this was a nice place to end the day, very relaxing and our room was amazing. We had a lake view and a double balcony. It meant every morning we woke to a picture perfect scene. We were not overlooked by anyone and had an uninterrupted view of the lake.
All in all a fabulous break and we would return to The Grand.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGees17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

665 - 671 of 1,229 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

this was our third year running and the welcome you receive from the fabulous staff is superb we had a problem with our room on arrival but there was no hassle in getting it sorted out
having your meals sitting in the outside area overlooking the lake is just breath taking, the food on this trip although was good there were signs of cost cutting especially on things like the pasta and the dessert buffet, having said that once you get into the swing of the atmosphere created by all the staff grumbles go away, there is plenty to do and lots of places to visit, with the ferry right outside everything is easy, found the drinks expensive which limited our visits to Winnie's bar enjoyed happy hour though, the rooms were cleaned beautifully and towels changed regularly which all added to the pleasure of being at the hotel, the reception staff never stop smiling and really make you feel at home-we will be going back, will need to talk to them about pillows though as they are very hard

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikejackie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The pictures may mislead you. There are so many available hotels arround the lake do not reser e in advance.
The rooms are small and very old decoration. Nice location on the lake but service very bad. reception manager very unpleasant and no concierge to help you around.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rafi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times now and every time we wish we had stayed longer. The view from our lakeside room was simply stunning, the staff are all so friendly and helpful. The ferry boat stops just outside the hotel so great if you feel like exploring the other towns dotted round the lake. We had a couple of evening meals in the hotel's Giardino dei Limoni restaurant. The food and service were superb and the setting right next to the lake is quite magical.
A big thank you to everyone at the Grand Hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This wonderful hotel stretches along the shore of Lake Garda. We have returned there year after year) this year being our 11th stay, to enjoy the amazing welcome back from all the staff, their friendliness and helpfulness, and to savour the delicious food, especially the superb dessert buffet!
The terrace restaurant offers uninterrupted views over the lake and is a wonderful setting for dinner every evening.
Gardone is a small village but has several good small bars and restaurants close to the hotel. There are a few new shops this year too!
Gardone Sopra, a short walk up the hill offers spectacular views over the lake and there are several good walks to nearby villages.
The ferry terminal is right outside the hotel's main entrance and from there visitors can sail to many other towns on Lake Garda.
Many thanks to everyone at the hotel for making our holiday so memorable and special.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ProfPete158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed for 6 nights at the Grand. Lovely hotel with excellent staff. Had a lake view room and what a view it was. Very nice pool and pool area. Although drinks were a bit pricey it was well worth the price to sit on a lovely evening next to beautiful Lake Garda drinking an Aperol Spritz. Booked B&B but did eat in the hotel a couple of nights and the food was excellent. Would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Definitely pay the extra for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie58Lincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Once again a magic holiday at the grand from the moment we stepped into the lobby to the moment we left every member of staff go that extra mile to make things good thank you again to all the staff for a magic time just one note why do guests and by this I mean the British ignore the request to only take one pool towel per person per day instead of one guy who used six? As mentioned thank you to everyone at the hotel for a great holiday

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are super
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
425 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
466 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
282 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#7 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gardone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gardone

Address: Corso Zanardelli 84, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range: £157 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gardone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 as the first hotel on Lake Garda, the Grand Hotel Gardone testifies the elegance and style of an era. The view of the lake is majestic and very picturesque, and becomes even more impressive with the ever changing light, sun and shades during the day and night. The hotel has 167 bedrooms and Jr. Suites with balcony, offering every comfort with a splendid view of the lake. Refined cuisine with local specialities can be enjoyed at a candlelight à la carte dinner on the terrace restaurant “Il Giardino dei Limoni” by the pool. The menu of the day is served at the lakeside restaurant with veranda, while at the pool snack bar you can have a quick informal lunch. The Winnie's Piano Bar offers the opportunity for a drink and dance after dinner. There is a private beach, a solarium terrace along the lake, heated swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam bath, massage and beauty parlour, jetty for motorboats, internet points and Wi-fi in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Gardone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gardone Riviera
Gardone Riviera Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Gardone Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing