We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Gardone
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel du Lac(Gardone Riviera)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diana(Gardone Riviera)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Savoy Palace(Gardone Riviera)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Maison Du Relax(Gardone Riviera)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Hotel Villa Sofia(Gardone Riviera)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Eden Luxury Resort(Gardone Riviera)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Galeazzi(Barbarano di Salo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Ville Montefiori(Gardone Riviera)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Ville Montefiori(Gardone Riviera)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,234)
Filter reviews
1,234 results
Traveller rating
827
307
69
17
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
827
307
69
17
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardwinnies barlake viewa la carte restaurantjunior suitepool bardessert buffetstarters and main courseswinston churchilldrinks are expensiveferry stopbygone agewonderful hotelpublic areasold world charmlake ferriesother resorts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
665 - 670 of 1,234 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was our fourth visit to the Grand in about 15 years, the first for 6 years. At first I was a little disappointed that the main public areas and corridors appear not to have been redecorated since then, but we soon remembered what makes this hotel so special.

The hotel location is just perfect. I don't know of another grand hotel that sits right at the lake edge with no road or pathway in between. The public boat service stops right beside the hotel giving easy access to other parts of the lake. Buses leave from the other side of the hotel, giving additional travel options.

The atmosphere of the hotel is relaxed and sophisticated in a very easy going and understated way - perhaps a little old fashioned. Above all it is such a relaxing place to be.

Our room was a huge 'junior suite' with 2 large windows with fantastic lake views. The bedroom furniture was an old solid wooden suite which had seen better days, but was functional and elegant in its own way.

We booked half board and thoroughly enjoyed the high quality food: salad plus 3 courses with a choice of 4 starters and 4 main courses.

The hotel's pool isn't large but that was never a problem, because many people prefer to swim in the lake directly from the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must. If you prefer a newer room it might be sensible to state that when booking. The Junior Suites give loads of space which is worth it if staying for a week or more.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HAL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had a lovely trip to Lake Como staying at the Grand. It is very central for using the ferry as it is literally just outside the hotel. The staff at the hotel were exceptional, helping with maps, parking best times to visit sites etc. The breakfast was really pleasant sitting outside and great service. We had hired a car and the parking costs were about the same as any European city and happy to pay that for security. We travelled about a lot and this was a nice place to end the day, very relaxing and our room was amazing. We had a lake view and a double balcony. It meant every morning we woke to a picture perfect scene. We were not overlooked by anyone and had an uninterrupted view of the lake.
All in all a fabulous break and we would return to The Grand.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGees17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

this was our third year running and the welcome you receive from the fabulous staff is superb we had a problem with our room on arrival but there was no hassle in getting it sorted out
having your meals sitting in the outside area overlooking the lake is just breath taking, the food on this trip although was good there were signs of cost cutting especially on things like the pasta and the dessert buffet, having said that once you get into the swing of the atmosphere created by all the staff grumbles go away, there is plenty to do and lots of places to visit, with the ferry right outside everything is easy, found the drinks expensive which limited our visits to Winnie's bar enjoyed happy hour though, the rooms were cleaned beautifully and towels changed regularly which all added to the pleasure of being at the hotel, the reception staff never stop smiling and really make you feel at home-we will be going back, will need to talk to them about pillows though as they are very hard

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikejackie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The pictures may mislead you. There are so many available hotels arround the lake do not reser e in advance.
The rooms are small and very old decoration. Nice location on the lake but service very bad. reception manager very unpleasant and no concierge to help you around.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rafi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My wife and I have stayed here several times now and every time we wish we had stayed longer. The view from our lakeside room was simply stunning, the staff are all so friendly and helpful. The ferry boat stops just outside the hotel so great if you feel like exploring the other towns dotted round the lake. We had a couple of evening meals in the hotel's Giardino dei Limoni restaurant. The food and service were superb and the setting right next to the lake is quite magical.
A big thank you to everyone at the Grand Hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews