We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have never written a hotel review before but the Grand at Gardone must be the exception to our rule.
The position on the edge of Lake Garda with its extensive private waterfront is superb - quiet and relaxing. Yes ferries do occasionally stop at the small jetty at the end of the complex but they do not intrude upon the tranquillity - in fact they are an asset to the guests, enabling them to visit/explore all parts of the beautiful lake from their doorstep.
The staff are excellent, always available but unobtrusive - nothing is too much trouble. All rooms overlook the lake and its splendid views - some with balcony and some with vintage bougainvillea, even up to the 3rd or 4th floors. The rooms are all impeccable and spacious.
The large dining room is resplendent with silver service, including the veranda dining area which we always prefer. The food is exceptional - first course and main course professionally served, with an optional salad break in between. But then the deserts - I counted 20 mouth-wateringly dishes from which you serve yourself - heaven!
My wife and I have been travelling to this 'oasis' by car annually for almost 12 years. This surely says it all regarding our satisfaction - and we hope yours.
For 4 stars, read 5!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ratton_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    257
    63
    14
    11
See reviews for
163
607
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just returned after 1 wk. Setting of the hotel incredible, food excellent (no need to use the a la carte restaurant - standard restaurant so good) the bedrooms could do with a little updating although they were immaculately clean. All staff were charming and courteous. Winnies Bar is wonderful a step back into an elegant time. Only one complaint, we were booked with Thomson who do not accept child bookings for this hotel, unfortunately other tour operators do. We had the misfortune of one English family whose child proceeded to use the Jacuzzi as a paddling pool, shouting, running, jumping into the swimming pool disregarding all poolside notices and generally causing mayhem to the irritation of ourselves and other guests. In fairness it was not the childs fault as he was bored, this hotel has no children's facilities therefore I do feel the Hotel should discourage child bookings.

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the lake are the best as the rooms at the rear overlook a very busy noisy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 107Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the GHG for a week in May , this was our third visit to the hotel. The hotel is very traditional, first class & friendly service from all the staff throughout the hotel, with high quality food in the restaurant. Rooms are very well maintained by the maids. However, perhaps the rooms are in need of an update in terms of furnishing - our room had all the essentials (except wifi access, which in this day & age should be standard in a hotel of this quality) and a wonderful outlook, but could have benefited from some more up-to-date and stylish furniture, but this is a minor criticism. The hotel has a most attractive terrace & swimming pool. We will return without hesitation !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnWP517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The GHG is big, very big in fact. With its Easter to September opening, it reminded me of the hotel in The Shining, but with a lakeside setting.

The reception staff are the model of politeness and efficiency.

The rooms (you must a have a lake view) are a little dated, but not as “tired” as some have suggested. I was quite happy, not impressed or surprised by the room, but more than happy to stay in it.

The a la carte restaurant is superb. We ate there one night and were very impressed by the quality and invention of the cooking, along with the outstanding service. Tips in cash only.

Winnie’s Bar is an old school cocktail piano lounge/bar complete with charming manager and staff. Great service on one occasion when I ordered a cocktail and didn’t like; they simply made me something else; “no charge sir, if you’re not happy, neither are we”.

The GHG’s trump card is its lakeside aspect and lovely long terrace that accommodates its pool area and various seating areas to relax the day away. Gardone itself has a stop for the lake ferries and few bars and restaurants, but that’s it. There’s not much going on; considerably quieter than say Bardolino or Garda.

My only problem (and this is a personal thing) is that my wife and I are perhaps 25-30 years too young (39/41) to visit the GHG for more than a night. It does attract an older clientele and whilst there is nothing wrong with that, you should think as to whether an older/elderly crowd is your chosen holiday company?

I rate it highly but I’d not return. Well, not at least for a good few years.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KnightGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

the GHG is a very good old school hotel.
the good
- the food in the standard restaurant was generally excellent. we had planned to go into the a la carte restaurant but didn't see the need.
- the views
- the pool which is the cleaniest hotel pool I have ever been in
- vast majority of the staff. receptionists were a delight. the porters were excellent. pool guy was terrific even though he was a AC Milan fan :)
the ok
- nothing really bad but gardone is basically a couple of tourist shops and a handful of bars. very quiet and quite a distance to anywhere else. Desenzano would have been a better choice as the connections were terrific from there.
- although most of the restaurant staff were excellent it did get a little wearing dealing with some of the young stallions who clearly thought the guests were there to serve them.
- the hotel did upgrade us to a junior suite which was obviously well received but the rooms are very tired - like late 70's tired.
All in all a relaxing stay but at 50 years of age the lakes are really too old for me. maybe in 20 years time they will be just what I need but I plan to use those 20 years much better.

I hope this has helped your decision.

Room Tip: away from the a la carte restaurant which is basically a marquee with the associated chatter and coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Elegant traditional Hotel right on the Lakeside of Lake Garda. We had not been for about 5 years
but it is still as good as the several times we have been before !
The choice of Food on half board is excellent as is the food itself. Several of the Staff we remembered and we were greeted as old friends. Regrettably had to complain about one Waiter who wasn`t up to scratch but he was removed from our section of the Dining area. The only other complaint we had was that they have introduced different Musicians each evening in Winnies Bar which is ok, but all except one called Guido, were far to loud for the area they are playing in. Nothing wrong with the Music or Singing - Just TOO LOUD ! The chief of Winnies Bar is a lovely Guy called Massimo who has reigned for umpteen years and really knows his Cocktails etc !>
Lovely bedroom overlooking the Lake, kept very clean by the Maids, Towels changed every day.
Just a shame we were only there for a week.

Room Tip: Just ensure that you have a Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned from a short 4 night break to this wonderful hotel. Everything about this hotel was fantastic. Every single member of staff was friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Our room (a junior suite) was very large and comfortable (a bottle of wine was in room for our arrival). Drinks were expensive but we made use of the cocktails at happy hour which is on four times a week. We, and we noticed quite a number of other guests, wandered to the local bars just along the front from the hotel for after dinner drinks (cheaper). The ferry crossing to the other towns is a must and the cable car in Malcesine is well worth doing. Not a cheap break but well worth it especially if you are celebrating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
23.0 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#1 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#6 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
15.5 mi away
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
Wellness Hotel Casa Barca
#1 of 70 in Malcesine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera

Property: Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
Address: Corso Zanardelli 84, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 as the first hotel on Lake Garda, the Grand Hotel Gardone testifies the elegance and style of an era. The view of the lake is majestic and very picturesque, and becomes even more impressive with the ever changing light, sun and shades during the day and night. The hotel has 167 bedrooms and Jr. Suites with balcony, offering every comfort with a splendid view of the lake. Refined cuisine with local specialities can be enjoyed at a candlelight à la carte dinner on the terrace restaurant “Il Giardino dei Limoni” by the pool. The menu of the day is served at the lakeside restaurant with veranda, while at the pool snack bar you can have a quick informal lunch. The Winnie's Piano Bar offers the opportunity for a drink and dance after dinner. There is a private beach, a solarium terrace along the lake, heated swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam bath, massage and beauty parlour, jetty for motorboats, internet points and Wi-fi in all the public rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gardone Riviera
Gardone Riviera Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing