We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gardone
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Built in the 1890's, the Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera oozed with old world charm in the lobby and public areas. Churchill stayed here and no wonder. Our lake view room was large with a balcony big enough for a bistro table and chairs. The breakfast buffet had a large assortment of food and could be eaten inside or under a covered patio overlooking the lake. The Staff were knowledgeable and very helpful. The hotel's location was perfect. It is located right next door to a small center with a pharmacy, the ferry, a few shops, a number of restaurants and an excellent tourist center with lots of materials for exploring the lake. Gardone Rivera itself is located opposite snow covered mountains so the view is gorgeous; it is 10 minutes from Salo and Desenzano (lovely walkable towns to the South) and Madeno to the North. Riva del Garda is about 1 1/2 hours away; traffic can be horrible on the two lane road but the drive is quite beautiful with it's many tunnels and small towns. The only downsides to the Grand Hotel is that wi fi is only in the lobby and public rooms and there was no air conditioning because the prior week was cool. This is definitely a place to come back to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2VeteranTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hubby and I drove to Lake Garda from the UK to celebrate Hubby's 60th birthday and we were recommended to stay here by a friend. The hotel lived up to its recommendation! It's a little like stepping back in time with grand old world charm and excellent service. When you first walk into the main lounge you could almost imagine you were on a ship because all you can see from the vast windows in the tranquility of Lake Garda. Drinks can be enjoyed outside by the lake and breakfast is taken just a stones throw from the water. Breakfasts are good with an excellent choice of fruits, toasts yoghurts, cereals, cakes, cold meats, cheeses as well as bacon and continental suasages. There is an "egg bar" where you can order up your freshly cooked ommelette or fried eggs, etc.Guests are generally quite well dressed for breakfast - no swimwear or beach type clothes. We did not eat dinner in the hotel because the restaurant look a little formal and quiet for us and we prefer a bit more "vibe" but that is just a personal thing not a criticism of the hotel. Drinks in the bar are served with panache and care by the cheerful and knowledgable bar staff and accompanied by nibbles. During the day, the music in the bar was heavy classical which is not to our taste and in the evenings there is a singer playing the piano which seemed popular with guests although again ,not our thing ( you probably can't expect rock music!). Cars can be parked in the secure hotel car park across the road but there is a charge for this. Our room, a junior suite on the 3rd floor had a splendid view of the lake and we could watch the ferries coming to and from to the nearby ferry stop. (The ferries cease at about 6.30pm until about 9am so there is no nightime noise but they are a wonderfully convenient way of getting around during the day.) Our suite had two small balconies, one of which was equipped with a table and chairs, two large twin beds ( requested by us) a mini bar, TV ( which we did not use), armchairs and grand old style furniture. The bathroom was huge and our only disappointment was that the shower was over the bath rather than in a separate cubicle so you end up having the ineveitable fight with a clingy shower curtain. The room had air conditioning but however hard we tried with the control this did not work well at night and because you need to pull down the shutters to block out the light, it was quite warm in the room. Also, the duvets were , by my standards, winter weight .There were very few children in the hotel and quite honestly any children would be bored stiff because there is nothing for them to do. Most of the guests were our age or older. I would certainly go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Always book a lake side room otherwise you will be facing the noisy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taylosa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This is a truly lovely hotel on the edge of lake Garda, with wonderful friendly service and great food even on their half board menu. The view over the lake from the room is breathtaking. The Gardone ferry stop is right next to the hotel and it is so easy to board a ferry and be taken to the centre of nearly every picturesque little town on the lake even if one finds walking a little difficult. An ideal late spring relaxing week.

Room Tip: Get a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mnd625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We have never written a hotel review before but the Grand at Gardone must be the exception to our rule.
The position on the edge of Lake Garda with its extensive private waterfront is superb - quiet and relaxing. Yes ferries do occasionally stop at the small jetty at the end of the complex but they do not intrude upon the tranquillity - in fact they are an asset to the guests, enabling them to visit/explore all parts of the beautiful lake from their doorstep.
The staff are excellent, always available but unobtrusive - nothing is too much trouble. All rooms overlook the lake and its splendid views - some with balcony and some with vintage bougainvillea, even up to the 3rd or 4th floors. The rooms are all impeccable and spacious.
The large dining room is resplendent with silver service, including the veranda dining area which we always prefer. The food is exceptional - first course and main course professionally served, with an optional salad break in between. But then the deserts - I counted 20 mouth-wateringly dishes from which you serve yourself - heaven!
My wife and I have been travelling to this 'oasis' by car annually for almost 12 years. This surely says it all regarding our satisfaction - and we hope yours.
For 4 stars, read 5!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ratton_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We have just returned after 1 wk. Setting of the hotel incredible, food excellent (no need to use the a la carte restaurant - standard restaurant so good) the bedrooms could do with a little updating although they were immaculately clean. All staff were charming and courteous. Winnies Bar is wonderful a step back into an elegant time. Only one complaint, we were booked with Thomson who do not accept child bookings for this hotel, unfortunately other tour operators do. We had the misfortune of one English family whose child proceeded to use the Jacuzzi as a paddling pool, shouting, running, jumping into the swimming pool disregarding all poolside notices and generally causing mayhem to the irritation of ourselves and other guests. In fairness it was not the childs fault as he was bored, this hotel has no children's facilities therefore I do feel the Hotel should discourage child bookings.

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the lake are the best as the rooms at the rear overlook a very busy noisy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 107Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed at the GHG for a week in May , this was our third visit to the hotel. The hotel is very traditional, first class & friendly service from all the staff throughout the hotel, with high quality food in the restaurant. Rooms are very well maintained by the maids. However, perhaps the rooms are in need of an update in terms of furnishing - our room had all the essentials (except wifi access, which in this day & age should be standard in a hotel of this quality) and a wonderful outlook, but could have benefited from some more up-to-date and stylish furniture, but this is a minor criticism. The hotel has a most attractive terrace & swimming pool. We will return without hesitation !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnWP517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The GHG is big, very big in fact. With its Easter to September opening, it reminded me of the hotel in The Shining, but with a lakeside setting.

The reception staff are the model of politeness and efficiency.

The rooms (you must a have a lake view) are a little dated, but not as “tired” as some have suggested. I was quite happy, not impressed or surprised by the room, but more than happy to stay in it.

The a la carte restaurant is superb. We ate there one night and were very impressed by the quality and invention of the cooking, along with the outstanding service. Tips in cash only.

Winnie’s Bar is an old school cocktail piano lounge/bar complete with charming manager and staff. Great service on one occasion when I ordered a cocktail and didn’t like; they simply made me something else; “no charge sir, if you’re not happy, neither are we”.

The GHG’s trump card is its lakeside aspect and lovely long terrace that accommodates its pool area and various seating areas to relax the day away. Gardone itself has a stop for the lake ferries and few bars and restaurants, but that’s it. There’s not much going on; considerably quieter than say Bardolino or Garda.

My only problem (and this is a personal thing) is that my wife and I are perhaps 25-30 years too young (39/41) to visit the GHG for more than a night. It does attract an older clientele and whilst there is nothing wrong with that, you should think as to whether an older/elderly crowd is your chosen holiday company?

I rate it highly but I’d not return. Well, not at least for a good few years.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KnightGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
23.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#7 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
366 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
416 reviews
23.0 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gardone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gardone

Address: Corso Zanardelli 84, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range: £144 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gardone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 as the first hotel on Lake Garda, the Grand Hotel Gardone testifies the elegance and style of an era. The view of the lake is majestic and very picturesque, and becomes even more impressive with the ever changing light, sun and shades during the day and night. The hotel has 167 bedrooms and Jr. Suites with balcony, offering every comfort with a splendid view of the lake. Refined cuisine with local specialities can be enjoyed at a candlelight à la carte dinner on the terrace restaurant “Il Giardino dei Limoni” by the pool. The menu of the day is served at the lakeside restaurant with veranda, while at the pool snack bar you can have a quick informal lunch. The Winnie's Piano Bar offers the opportunity for a drink and dance after dinner. There is a private beach, a solarium terrace along the lake, heated swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam bath, massage and beauty parlour, jetty for motorboats, internet points and Wi-fi in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Gardone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gardone Riviera
Gardone Riviera Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Gardone Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing