We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gardone
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is situated right by Lake Garda and the views are sensational - a lake view room is essential.

The hotel is a throw back to earlier elegant times and none the worse for that. Our lake view room on the 3rd floor was large with two sets of double doors opening out to the balcony, the bed was also massive. The room/bathroom was immaculately maintained, clean towels were provided every day, indeed each day around 5 oclock we were asked if we needed further towels.

The food at both breakfast and the evening meal was excellent. You were allocated a table for the evening meal and you nominate whether this was inside or outside on the terrace - at breakfast you sat were you liked. All the waiting staff were efficient, friendly and immaculately turned out - the head waiter was helpful in providing advice about the local wines.

As other contributors have commented the price of drinks and additional snacks was on the expensive side and were they reduced a little I'm sure more people would use the hotel bar. This was the only reason I didn't give the hotel the full 5 star rating. The are however some nice little local restaurants/bars in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

Would have no difficulty recommending the Grand Hotel particularly if you like some old style luxury.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lesliebrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

I am Italian from Milan (30 minutes from lake como) but I live in America now. Since george Cluny bought the house on lake como this lake became more famous than ever, however I believe that lake garda has no comparison whatsoever to that lake. This lake has spectacular towns and history and this hotel is gorgeous and it is the only one located just where the center of town starts...no cars anywhere in the center. The restaurant is amazing, the breakfast is included and it is in a true Mediterranean style restaurant on the lake and it is really good. The omelettes are made to order and breads are amazing. It is a dream and all the restaurants have amazing view of the lake. The pool has a lake view that is spectacular. The owner is very friendly but really elegant in his manners just as you would expect a true northern Italian.

Great for couple, business ( meetings, the conference rooms are amazing), solo

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
5  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for a week at this hotel on the recommendation of friends who had been 'regulars'. We were not disappointed: everything about the hotel from the service, the room size and quality, and the location, was faultless.
The quality and variety of the food in the restaurants was excellent, and the service was attentive without being obtrusive. The pool is excellent, with a good supply of loungers, and has a good poolside bar which serves light snacks and meals.
The hotel is yards away from the departure point for ferry boats which cross the lake to other resorts (one tip: ask at the hotel for a tourist discount card before booking boat trips - this gives a 20% discount).
There are several reasonably priced bars and restaurants within very easy walking distance of the hotel. All the ones we visited had very friendly staff.
A faultless holiday in a superb location: we will certainly be back!

Room Tip: Most rooms have lake views - but confirm this on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Peter1966_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Definately agree with other reviews that a lake view is a must. Dont bother upgrading to a suite, its just a wider room so was let down by this, but cleanliness is spot on and helpfulness of staff on reception 100%. In fact all staff were charming and friendly.

Do have one of their fesh white peach belinis, second only to the Venice Simplon.

If I did have to make a comment, its the hairdryer. I only have a short bob and it struggled as was a basic model; so if you have lucious locks I would recommend taking your own.

The Ferry is at the side f the Hotel but you would never know as you lay sunbathing on a lovely decking, from which you can dive straight into the lake (I would recommend diving straight in too as it does have a chill to it x)

Room Tip: Definately go for a lake view so you dont have road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatherineR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We, along with a group of friends, have holidayed here each year for longer than I care to remember. I think fifteen of the last sixteen years. Why do we return each year? Well we know and like what we get there. The location is superb and obviously that stays the same but potential variables maintain their standards also.

The staff throughout the place are highly attentive and courteous, qualities that are not always to be found in Italy. If you stay room only or B & B and you will be doing yourself no favours whatsoever. Whilst eating establishments in the area are both plentiful and good, dining at the hotel is a pleasure and in large part, the reason we return so often.

I've seen reference on here to the age profile of the guests. Is it patronised by mainly retired folk? Well thankfully it's not frequented by young singles and noisy families don't go down too well either but it provides a great location for adults of all ages and nationalities.

Room Tip: Lake view not the road side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Creditwheredue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel about 2 weeks. Very stylish and welcoming establishment. Pleasant and helpful staff. We stayed in a junior suite overlooking the lake which is just wonderful. My only negative is that the wifi coverage is limited, but does that really matter.

Room Tip: Must overlook the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitnepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our fourth visit, so if there are going to be problems you would expect them to surface by now. The great news is that there never is a problem in our time there that a smile will not resolve.

The staff from reception, baggage, resturant (particular thanks to Roberto for his running commentary on the weather, football, cycling and life in general), the pool are first class. Which leads us to Winnie's - Masimo, Gianluca and the rest of the team work their socks off to make customers feel special as well as providing cracking Bellini's and if I can ever say 'Moskovskaya' properly life will be complete.

Thanks again to everyone

Go there..

Room Tip: A lakeside room is always best. Top floor - say 320 onwards always seem to suit us
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pensionseagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
23.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,086 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#7 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
367 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
417 reviews
23.0 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gardone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gardone

Address: Corso Zanardelli 84, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range: £146 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gardone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 as the first hotel on Lake Garda, the Grand Hotel Gardone testifies the elegance and style of an era. The view of the lake is majestic and very picturesque, and becomes even more impressive with the ever changing light, sun and shades during the day and night. The hotel has 167 bedrooms and Jr. Suites with balcony, offering every comfort with a splendid view of the lake. Refined cuisine with local specialities can be enjoyed at a candlelight à la carte dinner on the terrace restaurant “Il Giardino dei Limoni” by the pool. The menu of the day is served at the lakeside restaurant with veranda, while at the pool snack bar you can have a quick informal lunch. The Winnie's Piano Bar offers the opportunity for a drink and dance after dinner. There is a private beach, a solarium terrace along the lake, heated swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam bath, massage and beauty parlour, jetty for motorboats, internet points and Wi-fi in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Gardone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gardone Riviera
Gardone Riviera Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Gardone Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing