We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay at the Grand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gardone
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just back from our stay at the lovely Hotel Grand.....we were staying here together with our family for my daughters wedding in Torri del Benaco ......we have stayed here before and loved the staff, the hotel and Gardone....

Food and drink excellent, the rooms of the hotel which have been refurbed fantastic.... But this family owned hotel owes so much to its wonderful staff.....Barbara who runs the reception/bookings etc......was so helpful, so sweet, nothing was too much trouble a total sweetheart.....and of course the legend that is Massimo in the Piano Bar.....so much fun, his martinis amazing particularly the 'Lemon drop martini' not to mention the Atomic and the Vespa ....I could go on! On the afternoon of my daughters wedding the staff lined up and applauded as she walked with her father to the waiting boat as did everyone lakeside in Gardone.......it was a magical day as was the rest of week we stayed at The Grand.....we will be back for sure to this beautiful part of Italy and this great hotel.!

Room Tip: Do book a lake view room, but ask for a refurb room, to get the best value of miney
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 1,213 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We are regular visitors here each June, staying for 2 weeks - we wish it could be longer. What we love is the competence & friendliness of all staff from the reception to the waiters and pool lifeguards. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile.
The location couldn't be more perfect. A balcony/lake view is a must and our room is spacious and comfortable. Rooms are very clean and towels changed twice daily.
Dining is leisurely but stylish and we hope their chef de patisserie never moves away!! Staff seem to stay so that's a good indication of a well-managed hotel.
Walking along the promenade in Gardone after dinner is a ritual and it's just been re-paved with new lighting. It's very safe too and everyone again so friendly.
It's such a handy location for ferry trips to other lake resorts - the ferry station being just outside the main gates. The hotel reception provide discount vouchers for the ferries.
Really should keep all these details to ourselves because (selfishly) we don't want everyone coming here!! Needless to say we'll be going back next year. We feel very chilled out and relaxed after our stay each time and can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed for a week in early August 2014 This is an excellent hotel, extremely quiet, and hence a good place to return and relax away from the crowds and bustle of other Garda resorts. It is important to book a lake view room, which have wonderful views looking southwards down the lake towards Isola di Garda, whereas the 'mountain view' rooms actually overlook the main gardesana occidentale road, which gets very busy and noisy, and you actually get a view of the buildings across the street. We stayed on a half board basis, which Is first a very reasonably priced supplement to bed and breakfast, provides high quality food with a wide and varying choice. You also, if lucky get a table on the veranda overlooking the lake, and if you are allocated a table you don't like, then ask Roberto, the maitre d'hôte, who will move you once space outside becomes available. Once you are given a particular table you get to keep it for the duration of your stay, so there is no scrum for tables in the evening.

The lingua franca is English, although the staff are multiple lingual and the guests seem mainly to be Brits, Germans, a few French and the occasional east european oligarch. Although other reviews have commented that the clientele are relatively mature, which to some extent is true, there are a surprising number of families with children. The pool and other public areas are nonetheless quiet most of the time.

Drinks and food at the main cocktail bar (Winnie's) and pool bar are not exactly cheap, if you take a car you will have to park across the road in the hotel's car park, (14 euro/day), and there are extra charges such as omelettes at breakfast or salads in the evening.

Gardone itself is much less busy than the other resorts, and apart from a museum and botanical garden plus the Grand Hotel and Savoy Palace that's about it for Gardone. Getting round on the ferries is straightforward, but the schedule for 2014 leads to the first boat out being at 9.50 am and the last one back in at 6.30 pm, so you cannot get to see many of the Garda resorts in a single day, apart from the end of the jetty. If you have a car, get the frequent and undersubscribed car ferry from Maderno, ten minutes north from Gardone, across to the east shore at Torri. You can get to see the entire east coast in a day.



The Grand Hotel Gardone was a wonderful experience and we would recommend the place unreservedly.

Room Tip: You must ask for a room with a view of the lake, and preferably on the third floor since some of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Grand is aptly named. It has an old world charm with a modern professional outlook. The standards and service are exemplary. It is not surprising that the cocktail bar, where we enjoyed some splendid drinks and listened to some excellent singers, is named after a celebrated frequent visitor, Winston Churchill. We stayed half board and could not have been more pleased with the high class dinners, the friendly waiters and engaging bar staff. Set right next to Lake Garda the hotel has wonderful views. It is located in the quiet resort of Gardone Riviera, which will suit those who want to relax in sophisticated surroundings. With a ferry stop a few yards from the hotel, it is ideally situated to plan any tours around the Lake. Within easy walking distance are the delightful old palace of Il Vittoriale, an interesting botanical garden and the lakeside town of Salo. We booked through Inghams, whom we could not fault, and took their advice in spending a few days in Verona (including the opera in an open air amphitheatre) and the remainder of the fortnight in the Grand Hotel. We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and the unexpected bottle of bubbly delivered to our room on arrival demonstrated the hotel's warmth and attention to detail. We look forward to returning in the future!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Convo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in a junior suite, which I think had been recently refurbished, it was very nice. Spacious and comfortable with two balconies overlooking the lake and a huge bathroom. The road behind the hotel is very busy, In fact a member of staff was ran over a few days before we arrived, so wouldn't want a room on the back of the hotel. Although didn't hear traffic from our room overlooking the lake, also helped being on the third floor.I did hear that some of the rooms are more traditionally decorated, also described as old fashioned, but have to say ours was very modern. There are a lot of older people who holiday here but don't let that put you off if your young or have children, they don't own the hotel. This hotel is not an adults only resort, and as you would expect in Italy children are very much welcome. It was really nice to see children and teenagers of different nationalities playing together in the pool and lake. Thompson won't let you book a child place but the hotel will let you. We booked flights with Thompson but our own accommodation direct with the hotel. Other advantage of this is we could choose B&B rather than half board. There are some wonderful restaurants in Gardone so seemed a shame to eat in the hotel. Breakfast was okay and staff are very nice. The swimming pool is small, but with a huge lake to swim in there is room for everyone.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank RedFoxRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I spent a week here, and certainly enjoyed my stay. What a superb venue. Just a wonderful dreamlike place. Spectacular views of the lake are on offer, and very well maintained gardens and a nice outside pool area. The building is equally amazing. The room was very clean, and I loved the private balcony overlooking the lake. Just a stones throw away to local bars, shops, cafes, and ferry/bus links.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CraigMichaelLoftus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The hotel is situated right by Lake Garda and the views are sensational - a lake view room is essential.

The hotel is a throw back to earlier elegant times and none the worse for that. Our lake view room on the 3rd floor was large with two sets of double doors opening out to the balcony, the bed was also massive. The room/bathroom was immaculately maintained, clean towels were provided every day, indeed each day around 5 oclock we were asked if we needed further towels.

The food at both breakfast and the evening meal was excellent. You were allocated a table for the evening meal and you nominate whether this was inside or outside on the terrace - at breakfast you sat were you liked. All the waiting staff were efficient, friendly and immaculately turned out - the head waiter was helpful in providing advice about the local wines.

As other contributors have commented the price of drinks and additional snacks was on the expensive side and were they reduced a little I'm sure more people would use the hotel bar. This was the only reason I didn't give the hotel the full 5 star rating. The are however some nice little local restaurants/bars in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

Would have no difficulty recommending the Grand Hotel particularly if you like some old style luxury.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lesliebrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
23.1 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,086 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#7 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
367 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
417 reviews
23.0 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gardone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gardone

Address: Corso Zanardelli 84, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#2 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range: £146 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gardone 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884 as the first hotel on Lake Garda, the Grand Hotel Gardone testifies the elegance and style of an era. The view of the lake is majestic and very picturesque, and becomes even more impressive with the ever changing light, sun and shades during the day and night. The hotel has 167 bedrooms and Jr. Suites with balcony, offering every comfort with a splendid view of the lake. Refined cuisine with local specialities can be enjoyed at a candlelight à la carte dinner on the terrace restaurant “Il Giardino dei Limoni” by the pool. The menu of the day is served at the lakeside restaurant with veranda, while at the pool snack bar you can have a quick informal lunch. The Winnie's Piano Bar offers the opportunity for a drink and dance after dinner. There is a private beach, a solarium terrace along the lake, heated swimming pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam bath, massage and beauty parlour, jetty for motorboats, internet points and Wi-fi in the whole building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Gardone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Gardone Riviera
Gardone Riviera Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel Gardone Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing