We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful what you wish for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa del Sogno
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2011

If you want great views of Lake Garda, in a private and secluded setting and waiters buzzing around your ears then this is the hotel for you.........but beware. This is not a 5 star hotel in the conventional sense - it lack facilities (this is a small boutique hotel - reception and wellness facilities are limited). In addition it is isolated......20-25 minutes walk to Gardone and a walk up a steep hill (via a flight of steps) when you return. They do run a complimentary taxi service to Gardone (but ony until 7pm - most people eat later and anyway it's the return trip which is the pain). Food and drinks at the hotel are expensive - better value at Vittoriale and Gardone (but then you have that walk). To sum up if you are prepared to spend most of your time in and around the hotel and want a quiet holiday with stunning views ; then fine. If not then perhaps there are better options.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank MacKilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2011

Stunning hotel, very memorable honeymoon!!! Lovely food too! But you pay the price! Standard rooms are very small. Spa service is ok- not grand though.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsankhla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Last hotel at end of trip through France & Switzerland. Beautiful views lovely sunny terrace great start to any day. Although quiet good service and food we ended up eating there most nights. Would recommend to friends. It is a walk to to the other restaurants but not far 10 minutes to several trattoria. Great place to relax and unwind before heading back to UK>

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonlittleupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Gardone Riviera is beautiful, however this hotel was not up to its beauty.

The waiting staff were very bored, uninterested and poor. The food was dire; truly awful. We were on honeymoon for 3 weeks and this was by far the worst food we had.

Our bath plug wouldn't seal so we couldn't have a bath. Upon complaining, and explaining the problem, they sent a porter to look. He noted the problem and then we didn't hear anything else about it. Very poor for a 5* hotel.

Not what we expected and would not recommend

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank beakytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonPhils, Proprietario at Hotel Villa del Sogno, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2010

We are very sorry that happened and hopefully the next occasion of his pleasant visit, we will meet all its demands and its requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Enjoyed our stay at this peaceful hotel with stunning views of the lake. Contrary to other reviewers, we found all the staff very approachable and friendly - even when they met us "off site" such as at the bus stop one of the breakfast waiters was keen to share his local knowledge with us. Beautiful grounds. Interesting history of the place - small book in every room telling the story. Free wifi - signal strong enough by the pool as well as in the hotel. Breakfast had a good variety of choices and no problem if you wanted an espresso or cappucino rather than the normal pot of coffee. Times and Telegraph available (previous day's edition). We ate dinner one evening at the hotel - although a lovely experience on the terrace, thought is was overpriced for what we had (eg soup around 12 euros). American bar also expensive as is often the case with hotel bars - an Aperol spritz was 13 euros as opposed to 4.50 in bars in Gardone. Room was slightly smaller than expected - we had a lake view but as no balcony it was difficult to dry swimming gear/towels - but having said that the staff changed our towels twice a day! Walls a bit thin - could hear occupants either side of ours. We did not have a car, so mobility was a bit of an issue - although there was a complimentary shuttle service if you asked at reception (basically a cab that the hotel paid for) this only operated during the day. We did find the 202 bus service (half hourly) to be reasonably good (Gardone or Salo short journey away), albeit rarely ran on time mostly due to weight of traffic. Buy tickets at a Tabbachi rather than on board. Bus stopped right by the road to the hotel, but this still requires a walk up the winding road to the hotel, or 104 steps....
First night we booked a cab via reception and he charged us 15 euros for a five minute drive into Gardone - subsequent cab driver charged 8 euros so be careful! I've got the mobile number of a good cab driver if you need :-)
If you want to walk, Gardone Riviera is a good 20 minutes away, (some websites claim only 1km) but there are some restaurants here, and ferries stop fairly regularly to connect you with other ports on the Lake.
Head to Fasano for a small minimarket for essentials - ten minute walk from the hotel turning left once on the main road. If you need more, there is a supermarket the other side of Gardone heading to Salo, or in Salo itself.
Do make the trip up to Il Vittoriale - weird and wonderful grounds to explore. 2 euros by a little train from Gardone centre.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladylidders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Stayed for 10 nights in the Venice suite and had a wonderful, relaxing holiday. The hotel is quality throughout and the service (other than at breakfast, more later) was excellent. There are two receptionists, Grazia and Sabrina who would grace any five star hotel throughout the world. Charming, 'open', friendly and above all professional.
Staying in this hotel you do need either a car or deep pockets for taxis. there is really nothing within reasonable walking distance. The hotel does advertise a 'bus' service into Gardone but we never heard or so sight of it.
We did think the Venice bedroom was a little smaller than we thought and the word 'suite' is a little misleading even though the views are stunning.
We ate in the hotel restaurant the first night (very nice) but we always book our hotel stays on a B/B basis so we can experience different restaurants. The Le Tortuga (town location. excellent), Fordelesio (terrace- OK but overpriced), Christelanno (Gardon- very pleasant) and Osseria Antica Brolo (town-lots of locals and good basic italian food) were very good but the Lido 84 I would say avoid as our experience was very bad. The lakeside location is superb but it stops there. We arrive at 8.45pm and we were hurried to make our food selection and the waiter showed frustration because we refused to be rushed. As soon as I put my knife and fork down there was a waiter to wisk the plate away before I had finished my last mouthful and my wife was still eating. We declined coffee and made our way back to the Villa Sogno for a more relaxing end to the evening.
The one surprise is that the hotel do not 'sell' their spa facility which you would not know it existed unless it was asked for.
A couple of niggles, the breakfast staff were rather slow and not very approachable and the pool could do with regular cleaning as there was a lot of stones and grit left on the pool bottom.
Would we go again?...yes!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRLeonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

This is a beautiful Old Villa in the nicest sense of the word. I have high praise for the staff especially the two receptionists Gracia and Sabrina. Gracia especially should be awarded 'employee of the year' as she was on the desk at 9.00am and with a short break in the afternoon was still there at 11.00pm! She was always happy smiling and helpful, as was Sabrina. The Bar and pool staff were great. Wondeful fresh pasta and tomato sauce (pomodoro!) for lunch and wonderful terrace for dinner with fabulous views of the lake. Some rooms were small and some need the bathrooms refurbishing . Our junior suite although large was in that need of a refurb catergory and sometimes the room had a slight damp smell from the ventilalationI I think. We opened the window at night as it was preferable to get wonderful fresh air from the lake and switch the air con off. If all the bath rooms were refurbed this would be a true 5 star hotel. Nevertheless we would go back again for the ambience the staff and the location. (Breakfasts were 5 star buffetts-superb) breakfast staff were the only ones that could have been friendlier. Make sure you get a good room as they do vary quite a lot, but we are fussy and we loved this hotel! Restaurants to go to nearby Agli Angeli in Gardone Alto (10 mins drive from the hotel) charming hill top village and wonderful home cooked food with great atmosphere. Also Osteria Brolo same village behind the town hall again good quality food. Do not go to Trattoria alle Rose in Salo. We waited one hour for the starter and another hour for the main course!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bootspost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.4 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
423 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
465 reviews
22.1 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
653 reviews
9.2 mi away
Palace Hotel Villa Cortine
Palace Hotel Villa Cortine
#20 of 67 in Sirmione
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa del Sogno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Sogno

Address: Via Zanardelli 107, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range: £216 - £448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa del Sogno 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Villa del Sogno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Sogno
Del Sogno Hotel
Hotel Villa Del Sogno Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing