We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, Charming but not without defaults”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa del Sogno
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2011

visited the hotel with my husband early July stayed there for 2 nights as one of the legs on our trip to celebrate our 5'th wedding anniversary.
The concept of the villa is very charming and cozy at the same time it does not lack luxury and class yet there's some shortfalls, below are my pros and cons
Pros:
- Location is excellent, if you have a car it's very close to Salo which is a very nice town to spend the evening in.
- The property is lovely, old but well maintained, the view from the terrace is unreal so is the pool.
- Food in general is very good, the breakfast buffet is a bit limited but the quality of the items are excellent.
- The service in general is good and non-intrusive.
- We ended up staying at the Loggia Junior Suite which is beyond expectations, huge terrace and lovely authentic furniture.

Cons:
- We origionaly booked a Superior Double Room with private terrace with lake view, for a daily rate of Euro 420,00. the photo of the room on the website is nice yet in reality the room is ugly even the less ecpensive rooms are nicer. upon check in we exlained to the reception desk that the room is not up to the standard we expected or to the amount of money we are paying, they offered to move us to a higher category room and while we expected to get a free upgarde since we were celebrating our anniversay (which is a common practice with prime hotels if upgrades are available) but anyway we had to pay the diffrence (i have to say though that they gave us a discount on the room there and then).
- Although the front desk employees are extreemly nice and curtiousyet they don't provide you any info about activities and events happening in the areas close by unless you ask about specific events! (no dedicated real conceirge service)
- An important note in my point of view would be the age group of the crowd visiting the hotel, i have to say that we were the only young couple there surronded by grandparents!

Overall, I would visit this hotel again if i need to go to lake garda but I wont book the Superior Double Room.

Room Tip: avoid the Superior Double Room, the furniture and the bathroom are very old
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank noorsliman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa del Sogno
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

Having stayed there before and enjoying it we decided to stay again the service was good however at the Restaurant it was lacking cohesion in the that they did not know who ordered what.

The Hotel is in need of renovation the pool area is good but i would not rate this as a 5 star Property

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RobertMPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The hotel is is a beautiful location, overlooking the Garda lake, and we booked it in the internet.Upon arrival, they showed us to a corner room very small and unacceptable for the 320 euros rate.Then they proposed to upgrade us to a huge suite paying 470 and finally they found us the most wonderful room with a breathtaking view from the window for the price stated in the reservation. But the furniture and overall decoration of the hotel needs revamping. You feel like you are in the decor of a bollywood movie about Italian palaces and not in a real palace. The staff is wonderful (it is a 5 star hotel) the bathroom and toiletriesare very good but the best thing is the location of the hotel inside a park where you can stroll or rest and enjoy the beautiful view of the waters of the lake. The restaurant is also very good and serves marvellous food and breakfast on the terrace or inside.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IsabelTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

If you want great views of Lake Garda, in a private and secluded setting and waiters buzzing around your ears then this is the hotel for you.........but beware. This is not a 5 star hotel in the conventional sense - it lack facilities (this is a small boutique hotel - reception and wellness facilities are limited). In addition it is isolated......20-25 minutes walk to Gardone and a walk up a steep hill (via a flight of steps) when you return. They do run a complimentary taxi service to Gardone (but ony until 7pm - most people eat later and anyway it's the return trip which is the pain). Food and drinks at the hotel are expensive - better value at Vittoriale and Gardone (but then you have that walk). To sum up if you are prepared to spend most of your time in and around the hotel and want a quiet holiday with stunning views ; then fine. If not then perhaps there are better options.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a lake view
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank MacKilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Stunning hotel, very memorable honeymoon!!! Lovely food too! But you pay the price! Standard rooms are very small. Spa service is ok- not grand though.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsankhla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Last hotel at end of trip through France & Switzerland. Beautiful views lovely sunny terrace great start to any day. Although quiet good service and food we ended up eating there most nights. Would recommend to friends. It is a walk to to the other restaurants but not far 10 minutes to several trattoria. Great place to relax and unwind before heading back to UK>

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonlittleupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Gardone Riviera is beautiful, however this hotel was not up to its beauty.

The waiting staff were very bored, uninterested and poor. The food was dire; truly awful. We were on honeymoon for 3 weeks and this was by far the worst food we had.

Our bath plug wouldn't seal so we couldn't have a bath. Upon complaining, and explaining the problem, they sent a porter to look. He noted the problem and then we didn't hear anything else about it. Very poor for a 5* hotel.

Not what we expected and would not recommend

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank beakytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonPhils, Proprietario at Hotel Villa del Sogno, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2010

We are very sorry that happened and hopefully the next occasion of his pleasant visit, we will meet all its demands and its requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.4 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#3 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
459 reviews
9.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Terme
Grand Hotel Terme
#13 of 67 in Sirmione
462 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace
Hotel Savoy Palace
#7 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa del Sogno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Sogno

Address: Via Zanardelli 107, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#7 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range: £203 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa del Sogno 5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa del Sogno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Sogno
Del Sogno Hotel
Hotel Villa Del Sogno Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing