We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Savoy Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with beautiful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I loved this hotel. The location was perfect with amazing views and a lovely little balcony to watch the sun come up and go down. It's definitely a 4 star location, but a 3 star hotel (which I find is usually the case in Italy). The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It's great to walk down to the small 'lake front' area where there are a variety of places to eat (and drink) plus it's close to the ferry terminal, so all in all it's a perfect location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake. The road behind is very busy so I imagine it's noisy. Plus if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissLinus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Guests,

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Savoy Palace and in Gardone Riviera.

I am very sorry to hear you think that the Savoy Palace seems to be rather a 3 star hotel and it might be very helpful for us to understand the reason for this comment.

We are always concerned to offer service at high standards and I think we are offering quality at all levels.

It would be a pleasure to meet you again at the Savoy Palace.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    118
    30
    14
    8
See reviews for
46
193
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a fabulous weekend break to lake Garda, the lakes were great but the hotel was just fantastic, The moment we walked through the door we were made welcome , we had a lake view room (519) that was well presented, clean and airy,bed was a little hard but the view in the mornings more than made up for it
The breakfast was also very good,plenty of choice but more off a continental style, which we really enjoyed,Gardone it self is a small town but an excellent base to explore the other regions by water or road
I would more than recommend this hotel to fellow travellers, well done to all at the Savoy Palace.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodwen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind comment.

I hope to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace in the beautiful town of Gardone Riviera.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights on a short visit to the area. The hotel itself was clean, well managed and in a great location. We took one of the rooms with a terrace looking out over the lake - and that was a fantastic view to start each day. The room itself was large and nicely decorated - the bed huge and comfortable.

Breakfast was a typical continental - but good variety and you had the choice to eat inside or by the pool.

We didnt eat at the hotel apart from that - instead chosing to explore the local area.

One nice touch was a drinks reception on the Friday night, complementary wine, beer, fizz and food - all served on a terrace overlooking the lake.

As a base to explore from - the hotel is ideal as the ferry comes into dock nearby.

I would recommend this hotel to friends in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your kind comment you left on tripadvisor.
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at the Savoy Palace and had a lovely time on lake Garda.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in September. We had a superior lake view room at the reception end of the hotel. The room was lovely with a great lake view and a large balcony. The room was clean with a good bathroom. The breakfast buffet was sufficient, but the highlight was the dinner as we stayed half board. On the nice days dinner was served by the pool and the quality of the food was very good. The wine list was extensive and offered good value compared to other hotels. The pool area is small and gets packed easily on nice days as some of the green surrounding the pool seem to have been taken up by a rather ugly extension to the hotel. The staff in the restaurant was very friendly and helpful, while some of the reception staff was rather reluctant to help us with the internet connection. The bar is very expensive and the bars and coffee shops outside the hotel offer better value. Gardone Riviera is a very quiet village with excellent restaurants and does not suit people looking for a nightlife. Overall we had a great time and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Lake view room is a must as other rooms face a very noisy road. Higher floors will benefit from grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank VernonDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 11 January 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to place your comment on Tripadvisor.
Your view is very helpful for us to improve our service in order to make your stay even more comfortable.

It would be very nice to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace next summer.

Kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

This hotel is a lovely place from which to enjoy the beauty of Lake Garda. We had two lake view rooms. We stayed at the Savoy for four nights right at the end of the season (October). The hotel then closes for 6 months.

What we liked:

Lake view from the rooms
High standard of cleanliness within the rooms
Very smart and well equipped bathrooms (incl. bidet)
Excellent level of upkeep of what is a fairly old building (this contrasts with some reviews of the Grand hotel nearby)
Staff were very pleasant and helpful
Management seemed very “present” in the hotel – checking, greeting, advising, and generally on hand
The location is just a short and very beautiful stroll from the ferry station
Kettle and tea making essentials in room (plus china cups delivered to us within minutes of us asking)

What we felt could be better:

The beds were a bit hard for me. I do suggest management consider re-equipping with much nicer mattresses. Many hotels I have stayed in (from the Ritz Carlton down to Premier Inn) make a big thing of their comfortable beds
There was an occasional whiff of “old drain” smell from the bathrooms (in both rooms so I know it wasn't me!)
There is no spy hole or chain on the bedroom doors (just a deadlock) so some travellers may not like that.

Travellers in October should be aware that many of the restaurants close for the winter season even earlier than the Savoy Palace does. This makes Gardone very quiet. There are still places to eat though (in addition to the hotel). We liked Sans Souci in a side alley just along the promenade from the hotel.

Overall,this hotel made me imagine I'd stepped into one of those early 20th century travel posters. Maybe the Belle Epoch was like this. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view. It's the whole point of staying here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UkParky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for placing your comment on Tripadvisor. Your views are very helpful and important to understand where improvements still can be made.

It would be very nice to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace next summer.

Kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

I stayed at the Hotel Savoy Palace in September and the hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room had a lake view and was very clean with a huge bathroom. The breakfast buffett was what you would expect of this class of hotel plenty of choice. The best part was the warm and friendly staff who were really helpful with knowledge of the local area. The hotel was very close to the ferry terminal and the area was very peaceful. Do not stay here if you are looking for a lively nightlife as this is a place to relax. I did not eat dinner at this hotel as there were some nice local resturants close by. In the dinning room one night there was a piano recital and I was allowed to attend although I did not eat in the restaurant. My only fault with the hotel was the pool was a little small and very cold, otherwise a very relaxing time was had at the Hotel Savoy Palace and I would stay here again.
Janet Spurden reviewed this Hotel

Room Tip: Rooms with a lake view are well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JanetSpurden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear Mrs. Spurden,

thank you very much for your taking the time and place your comment on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the Savoy Palace and I hope to welcome you again next summer.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This hotel is expensive for what it is. The beds were very uncomfortable, probably the worst we've experienced and the breakfast was extremely poor offering under cooked fried egg if you're unlucky enough to find a chef on call. The waiters were rude and arrogant - luckily we were only staying on a B&B basis. The bathroom needed an urgent update and the noise from above was ridiculous. No thought has gone into the design of this hotel; guests above us could be heard walking around even in bare feet. There were a few pluses - the cleaners were great at their jobs, the pool area and gardens were well maintained, and the underground free parking was a bonus. Wouldn't stay here again or recommend this hotel as one to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the comment you placed on Tripadvisor. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Savoy Palace.
Friendliness and cordiality are a very high priority for all the members of the staff and I can assure you that your views and comments help us very much to improve our service.
At breakfast we offer a wide range of bread, scrambled and cooked eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, cereals, fruit juices, croissants, cakes, etc. and usually our guests are very happy with the large choice at the buffet.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace to show you what excellent service we are able to offer.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquarone
Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquar...
#3 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace

Property: Hotel Savoy Palace
Address: Via Zanardelli, 2/4, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Palace Hotel
Savoy Palace Gardone Riviera
Hotel Savoy Palace Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing