We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid!”
Review of Hotel Savoy Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid!”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed four nights on a Great Rail Journeys holiday. We were lucky in getting a room overlooking the lake, as some of our party were stuck at the back of the hotel overlooking a busy, noisy main road. No tea making facilities - only in the more upmarket rooms (it is hardly a luxury). Breakfast was OK, though we had the temerity to take ours outside and it was made very clear to the group that this must not happen! We had set dinners which varied between mediocre and total revolting. The shower sprayed in every direction except the one it should and the fitment was hanging off the wall. There are some nice hotels in Gardone I am sure, but this is not one of them.

Room Tip: If you must stay here make sure it is not a room overlooking the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Manager at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We read your review on Trip Advisor and we are sorry about your negative comment.

We would like to point out that in the contract between the Tour Organizer and the hotel only rooms without lake view were established and paid. We tried our best to reserve rooms with lake view for the major part of the group and some of them even had lake view and balcony, all without supplement.
In a later correspondence with the Tour Organizer a supplement for lake view rooms has been quoted, but only some guests of the group confirmed this room type.
Regarding the restaurant and our cuisine, we would like to confirm once again that we offer dishes of an excellent level with fresh ingredients of first choice. The food is always prepared at the moment and that's why sometimes waiting time can be a bit longer.
The person we had to refer to was the tour leader, who was asked several times by the Management if everything was alright, but never dissatisfaction or complaints of group participants were reported.

We read your review 15 days after your departure, and for obvious reason we are now unable to take action to remedy. If you had reported what you listed below during your stay, the Management would have been glad to intervene.

Yours sincerely,

Maurizio Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    127
    32
    15
    9
See reviews for
52
204
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location and on arrival, we were taken to our rooms by the front desk person. This was a first and we were very impressed.
The rooms are spacious and were very clean. On each of our four day stay, they were cleaned by the housekeeping staff.
The breakfast choice was excellent, with a Bircher type muesli which was a big plus.
We decided to go half board and were pleasantly surprised at the choice of menu. The food was top drawer too and we heard from the maitre 'd that the chef was very well known in the area. The desert buffet was an excellent end to our meals.
Each day we ate out for lunch and the restaurants in the area were very good too.
The hotel staff were most helpful in booking excursions for my family and we enjoyed our time spent at their hotel.

Room Tip: A lake view is worth the extra cost as the rooms have a balcony as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the compliments. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay so much and spent an excellent holiday at the Savoy Palace.

I hope to see you again in this wonderful part of lake Garda.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The parking lot is a catacomb you have to drive down 4 ramps to then find out that the elevator does not work.
Fortunately the lady at the reception is a professional and handled me quite well
There is no service at the pool it is impossible to have anything to drink
The phon in the bath does not work
Overall is a ok hotel the view is great and the food at dinner was very good

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adige47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the review you left on Trip Advisor.

It is right that we have a private garage on floor - 4, but access is very easy and fast. We confirm that our elevator from the garage was temporarily out of order, but we immediately called assistance to repair the damage.

We apologize if you were not happy about the bar service. There is always someone working by the pool, but might be occupied in the kitchen as well or during the preparation of drinks.

If you could not make the phon work in the bathroom it would have been helpful if you called someone from the staff at the reception.

Thank you very much for the compliments about food and lake view.

Dear Guest, it is very important for us to read your comments in order to improve service and it would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace.

With my best wishes,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights on a half board coach trip. The location is lovely with beautiful views of the lake. The room was spacious and clean but no balcony. That, I am afraid, is the end of the positive.
The food served at dinner and lunch was awful. There was no choice; the presentation of the food was colourless; the food was bland, stodgy, lacking in imagination and often, simply inedible. On several occasions we had to wait for service – there seemed to be a problem in the kitchen. I see (on trip advisor) that mention is made of free wine and afternoon tea provided with half board – well certainly not for us on our half board package. No jugs of water were offered – we had to buy mineral water and even the house wine was pricey compared to other restaurants we ate in. Yes, we were so disappointed in our evening meal that we ate out a few times. At no time were we offered the choice of sitting outside which would have been welcome as the dining room was inadequately cooled.
No information in the room regarding safety and exit procedures. No information of any kind except mini bar and laundry charge sheets. We found the reception staff less than friendly in daily pleasantries and to get our air conditioning operating we had to report to the desk so that our room number could be entered on the computer. You also must remember to close your window (which hotel staff have opened after cleaning your room) before the air con works..
This was not in our opinion a 4 star hotel and our tour operator would do well to find an alternative. Location may be good but we will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Guest,

we must express our complete disapproval about the comment you left on Tripadvisor.
Upon arrival a room without a balcony, but additionally with lake view was reserved for you (according to the booking the room had to be of the Classic category without balcony and without lake view). Unfortunately, the hotel being fully booked, we could not give you a room with a balcony.
Regarding the restaurant we can assure with extreme certainty, that we offer an excellent cuisine with always fresh cooked food. We receive many compliments by our guests released on Trip Advisor as well as in our Guests Book. This confirms that food and the attentive and courteous service in the restaurant are a real pride for us.
You also report that we did not serve "jugs of water" at the table. It is company policy to serve all drinks in bottles because we consider ourselves an excellent four star hotel and we could not adapt same service as in 3 or 2 star hotels.
Regarding the safety standards I would like to point out that they are under steady control by the competent authorities and everything has always been found in corrispondence with the standards imposed for our category.
We would like to remind you that you travelled with a group and the other participants of the trip were very satisfied. This is demonstrated too by the fact that some of the members of the group have expressed their gratitude towards the restaurant as well as towards the room maids.
The person we had to refer to was the tour leader, who was asked several times by the Management if everything was going well and never dissatisfaction was expressed.
However, if you had pointed out the inefficiencies listed during your stay, the Manager would have been delighted to take prompt action and remedy.
We are very disappointed about what you have written, but if you wanted to return to the Savoy Palace, we are convinced that you would dissipate on what you have expressed in your comment.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed with a party for five nights could not cope with none meat eaters always to be reminded
so food arrived late and was of poor quality.Bed sheets marked and not changed for four nights.
A number of people complained to Manager and he ignored the complaints and walked off into his office.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband, graduate daughter and myself have just returned from spending a relaxing week at this hotel which we enjoyed but have to comment on the lack of poolside bar service.Everyday we traipsed to the bar inside the hotel which was situated on the same level as the pool only to find no one around, then go to the second floor bar to see if there was a waiter.On a couple occasions a waiter appeared and brought the drinks to the pool, but this was the exception rather than the rule and one day my husband had to walk into the kitchen to ask for service!. Unfortunately we were only informed the day before we came home that there was a telephone situated in the corridor facing the bar on the pool level but even then no one answered it! When we finally complained about this we were told that the bar staff did not work in the afternoons! Do they not realise people need refreshments in the heat of the afternoon? Would it not also increase their revenue?
We were situated on the 4th floor in a double room with views of the lake which were stunning, the room was fairly spacious even with an extra bed in the room and the furniture and bathroom
fixtures were of good quality.The air conditioning also worked which was a bonus.We stayed on a B/B basis as there are plenty of good places to dine at along the promenade.Musicians play in the local square each week which gave a great atmosphere to the place.
The nearest local bank is about a 5 minute walk away,up a flight of about 35 steps adjacent to the Grand Hotel along the busy main road.
We went on a trip to Verona which we booked through Moliniro travel agency near the side entrance to the Grand Hotel. The trip was about 40 euros each and was good value but we found the commentary quite intensive and too detailed, especially as the temperature soared in the afternoon! We also went on a trip to Venice which also offered a gondola trip and a boat trip up the Grand canal and a meal at a local tourist restaurant,the total cost of which was about 122 euros each.
If you need to use the toilet the charge in Venice is 3 euros if you use a restaurant without ordering food. If you fancy an ice cream dessert whilst enjoying the orchestra in St Mark's square it will be 15-18 euro's.Some restaurants add a 12% service charge to the bill. Dont be put off though as there are cheaper places to eat and buy ice creams nearby.
All in all we had a great holiday and the Gardone riviera is beautiful and would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank where_next_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for the review you placed on Tripadvisor. Your comment will help us to see lack in service in order to improve quality constantly.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace in this wonderful town of Gardone Riviera.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights last summer as a bit of a treat before transferring to our rental unit it was fantastic. We have a lake view room, the room was great however it little small when we had the additonal bed for our daughter rolled out. The balcony however was very spacious with a good view. We ate evening meal at the hotel both night, it was a five course meal which they adapted for our not so adventourous young daughter. They went out of there way to find a Magnum for her when she did not like any of the desserts, this made her very happy and impressed us. The Maitre D', waiters and bar men were great and deserve great praise for the service they give. It's a pricey hotel but worth every penny. You can catch the lake ferry just in front and to the left of this hotel which was handy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FamilyCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Family Cameron,

thank you very much for the nice comment you left on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased to hear you spent an excellent holiday in Gardone Riviera at the Savoy Palace.

I hope to welcome you again in this beautiful part of lake Garda.

Kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,099 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Sofia
Hotel Villa Sofia
#10 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
132 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
23.3 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
1.4 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace

Property: Hotel Savoy Palace
Address: via Zanardelli, 2 / 4, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Palace Hotel
Savoy Palace Gardone Riviera
Hotel Savoy Palace Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing