We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Savoy Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Esher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is the first time I have left a review on Trip Adviser. My husband and I  are well travelled - both business and pleasure and write travel reports for various outfits from time to time.  We have stayed in all sorts of accommodation in many countries – from camping to self catering villas,  apartments and  hotels - from 2* - 5* The star rating differs from country to country. Everybody has their own opinion and travellers can have different experiences at the same hotel as accommodation at most hotels differs within each category. We are very honest and tell it as it is! Our pet hates are overpricing, bad food, misleading brochures and almost the worst - bad service. We stayed here end of June/beg July. Couple of negatives about the Savoy Palace, but some of the positives are second to none and deserve a serious mention. I would like to have given this hotel 4.5 stars! Some of my points are not really meant as criticism but more a suggestions as to how things could be improved.

This hotel is very peaceful and relaxing and set in a beautiful spot on Lake Garda. Not a place for those who want a whizzy night life with lots of night clubs etc. On saying that, there were a couple of concerts in the square and other individual artists playing/singing near the hotel – all wonderful. Some lovely restaurants - particularly at the Hotel Diana - best value. I thoroughly researched this hotel before booking and the photos on various websites were promising. Two concerns I had from reviews - uncomfortable beds and being allocated a room at the back of the hotel. We didn’t want to spend our hard earned money on a room at the back of the hotel on a main road!!! I email the hotel beforehand to establish what room we were being allocated and HUGE thank you to Sigrid for her help. So, you can always ask! We received a warm welcome on arrival and shown to our room. On hindsight, aircon, panel on wall with door indications etc should really have been explained at that time as a matter of course. The room was lovely with a small balcony on the 5th floor overlooking the lake. Aircon slightly noisy. Great housekeeping and evening turn down service with replacement towels if needed much appreciated. The girls looking after the rooms worked so hard and could have done with some help. Beds were firm but most hotels don’t offer different types of beds and these were OK – statistics show that the majority of people ask for firm mattresses. I have a bad back so placed the blankets in the wardrobe under the sheet and that solved the problem. The pillows were awful but I always bring my own!! Again, most hotels don’t have feather because of allergies. Large bathroom (sink unnecessarily big) – shower bit dodgy! It was a hand held thing that was positioned 1/3 way down bath on side and the hose only just reached up to the hook. Slightly got in the way of trying to stand underneath the shower head..... but plenty of hot water and not the usual sudden onslaught of cold if other people are having showers at the same time! There was a  lack of storage in this particular room – especially if you are there for 2 weeks. Wardrobe with shelf, some hanging space and 3 small drawers. Bedside table with one drawer. I used my hand luggage as extra ‘drawer’ placed on luggage rack. I know other rooms in the same category had a great deal more storage. But, it was a lovely room. Requested kettle - many thanks for that. Asked for iron - answer no! First time in 25yrs not been available. Ironing service expensive and two big creases down front and back of shirt - very odd. Went and bought cheap travel iron. Lovely terrace adjoining hotel with fantastic views –apartments below absolutely HIDEOUS!! Felt like taking a paintbrush to them. Awful brown colour and not in keeping with the rest of the beautiful hotel.. A blot on the landscape. Unfortunately this building was beside the pool. Beautiful pool – tad small when hotel full. Mostly ‘over 21s’ at the hotel but some youngsters  made it impossible for anybody else to swim. Twice I was dive bombed!! I’m afraid the one thing that would almost stop me going back to this hotel is the sunbeds. Too close together..... only a few parasols which you couldn’t really move as no room and the sunbeds were the most uncomfortable I have ever encountered. Expensive looking. You could only have them flat or at a slight angle. Just about everybody had a problem as they couldn’t work out how to fix them so you could sit up and read – well, you can’t!! I ended up bringing down a pillow! On two occasions we didn’t go to the pool as the only available sunbeds weren’t together (3 free) and no parasols. Also, another pain in the wotsits was the usual lot who saved the sunbeds early on ......... 4* hotels should do something about this.....especially if they don't appear till late morning. 

The food – well, amazing! Not one bad meal. We are very fussy.... We were on B+B basis but ate at the hotel a few times. It was expensive. We had a ‘special rate’ and it was just under Euros 30 per person for dinner. It was superb and the service second to none. Those guys/girls in the restaurant work so hard – they were there first thing to very late at night – always a smiling face and incredibly helpful. They had their work cut out some of the time. Breakfast was perfect – amazing choice and something for everybody. Best cooked breakfast – crispy bacon and scrambled egg excellent. I have read the reviews from those with tour group. My guess is they had some sort of ‘all in’ deal so there wouldn’t be a choice and unfortunately there wasn’t the room for everybody to sit outside. It’s the tour company’s fault, NOT the hotel if this is the case. However, I can’t understand the complaints about the food – we ate the same breakfast (note: some of that group piled their plates with SO much food ..... no wonder they ran out, but replaced by staff within minutes) and I note on some occasions we chose the same food as they were being served from the menu and it was perfect. Please, if any of you are reading this, take it up with your tour company and not the hotel because it’s just untrue to say the food and service wasn’t good.

Now the service (don’t worry am almost finished this saga!) – I can honestly say it was up there with some the best we have ever come across. Bar by the pool...... never had a problem. The guys came round about twice an hour for drink orders (most of the time no orders placed) and if you wanted a drink at other times you could go into the restaurant and find somebody. (note; phone by pool should be pointed out to guests – we didn’t know there was one!) One English couple with their daughter (early 20’s?)  made the staff’s life a misery – arrogant, demanding, rude, removing papers from lounge and leaving by poolside etc. They even had the nerve  to remove our stuff from sunbed and dump it elsewhere whilst we went to get an ice cream.   Am putting this in writing because I’m pretty sure they have left a review and were unfair to lie about the service!

The girls on reception were lovely. Tip: remember to get your towel ‘card’ back when returning towels. I forgot on one occasion and was told rather aggressively when trying to get more towels ‘it was noted on our file and we would have to pay for the towels if we couldn’t find it’. I know people do go off with the towels but that was over the top – they were welcome to come and search our room!! Nevertheless it was OK in the end and they did eventually believe us. 

Bartender Daniele deserves a special mention.  He came on duty about 3pm I think and worked his socks off – he seemed to be looking after the bar, lounge and terrace all by himself. There were times when I wanted to give him some help. Everything from a cocktail to a cup of tea was beautifully presented with great speed, politeness and cheerfulness. A real treasure. Thank you Daniele for looking after us so well – we enjoyed our evenings in the lounge..... as our bar bill proved! 

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RocksLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    118
    30
    14
    8
See reviews for
46
193
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Wow! We had a stunning room with a balcony that had two sunbeds and table and chairs. The view was fantastic, although obscured a bit by trees. The hotel had a fantastic roof terrace, which was so nice to sit in the evenings with a drink looking over the lake. It was cool and romantic, with an excellent view. Good selection for breakfast included yummy scrambled eggs and bacon. This hotel should have been a 5 star hotel and it had coffee making facilities in the room. Also there was evening room service to tidy the bathroom and turn the bed down. The nearest restaurant served a huge bruschetta, we suggest you share one between two! And the town lake side is quite lively. You get the impression that you are on a promenade here by the sea and not by a lake. Ferries seemed to be few and far between and didn’t seem to go to many places on the lake.

Room Tip: Lake view - fantastic views over pool and lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed four nights on a Great Rail Journeys holiday. We were lucky in getting a room overlooking the lake, as some of our party were stuck at the back of the hotel overlooking a busy, noisy main road. No tea making facilities - only in the more upmarket rooms (it is hardly a luxury). Breakfast was OK, though we had the temerity to take ours outside and it was made very clear to the group that this must not happen! We had set dinners which varied between mediocre and total revolting. The shower sprayed in every direction except the one it should and the fitment was hanging off the wall. There are some nice hotels in Gardone I am sure, but this is not one of them.

Room Tip: If you must stay here make sure it is not a room overlooking the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Manager at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We read your review on Trip Advisor and we are sorry about your negative comment.

We would like to point out that in the contract between the Tour Organizer and the hotel only rooms without lake view were established and paid. We tried our best to reserve rooms with lake view for the major part of the group and some of them even had lake view and balcony, all without supplement.
In a later correspondence with the Tour Organizer a supplement for lake view rooms has been quoted, but only some guests of the group confirmed this room type.
Regarding the restaurant and our cuisine, we would like to confirm once again that we offer dishes of an excellent level with fresh ingredients of first choice. The food is always prepared at the moment and that's why sometimes waiting time can be a bit longer.
The person we had to refer to was the tour leader, who was asked several times by the Management if everything was alright, but never dissatisfaction or complaints of group participants were reported.

We read your review 15 days after your departure, and for obvious reason we are now unable to take action to remedy. If you had reported what you listed below during your stay, the Management would have been glad to intervene.

Yours sincerely,

Maurizio Pretto
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location and on arrival, we were taken to our rooms by the front desk person. This was a first and we were very impressed.
The rooms are spacious and were very clean. On each of our four day stay, they were cleaned by the housekeeping staff.
The breakfast choice was excellent, with a Bircher type muesli which was a big plus.
We decided to go half board and were pleasantly surprised at the choice of menu. The food was top drawer too and we heard from the maitre 'd that the chef was very well known in the area. The desert buffet was an excellent end to our meals.
Each day we ate out for lunch and the restaurants in the area were very good too.
The hotel staff were most helpful in booking excursions for my family and we enjoyed our time spent at their hotel.

Room Tip: A lake view is worth the extra cost as the rooms have a balcony as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the compliments. I am very glad you enjoyed your stay so much and spent an excellent holiday at the Savoy Palace.

I hope to see you again in this wonderful part of lake Garda.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

The parking lot is a catacomb you have to drive down 4 ramps to then find out that the elevator does not work.
Fortunately the lady at the reception is a professional and handled me quite well
There is no service at the pool it is impossible to have anything to drink
The phon in the bath does not work
Overall is a ok hotel the view is great and the food at dinner was very good

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adige47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the review you left on Trip Advisor.

It is right that we have a private garage on floor - 4, but access is very easy and fast. We confirm that our elevator from the garage was temporarily out of order, but we immediately called assistance to repair the damage.

We apologize if you were not happy about the bar service. There is always someone working by the pool, but might be occupied in the kitchen as well or during the preparation of drinks.

If you could not make the phon work in the bathroom it would have been helpful if you called someone from the staff at the reception.

Thank you very much for the compliments about food and lake view.

Dear Guest, it is very important for us to read your comments in order to improve service and it would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace.

With my best wishes,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights on a half board coach trip. The location is lovely with beautiful views of the lake. The room was spacious and clean but no balcony. That, I am afraid, is the end of the positive.
The food served at dinner and lunch was awful. There was no choice; the presentation of the food was colourless; the food was bland, stodgy, lacking in imagination and often, simply inedible. On several occasions we had to wait for service – there seemed to be a problem in the kitchen. I see (on trip advisor) that mention is made of free wine and afternoon tea provided with half board – well certainly not for us on our half board package. No jugs of water were offered – we had to buy mineral water and even the house wine was pricey compared to other restaurants we ate in. Yes, we were so disappointed in our evening meal that we ate out a few times. At no time were we offered the choice of sitting outside which would have been welcome as the dining room was inadequately cooled.
No information in the room regarding safety and exit procedures. No information of any kind except mini bar and laundry charge sheets. We found the reception staff less than friendly in daily pleasantries and to get our air conditioning operating we had to report to the desk so that our room number could be entered on the computer. You also must remember to close your window (which hotel staff have opened after cleaning your room) before the air con works..
This was not in our opinion a 4 star hotel and our tour operator would do well to find an alternative. Location may be good but we will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Guest,

we must express our complete disapproval about the comment you left on Tripadvisor.
Upon arrival a room without a balcony, but additionally with lake view was reserved for you (according to the booking the room had to be of the Classic category without balcony and without lake view). Unfortunately, the hotel being fully booked, we could not give you a room with a balcony.
Regarding the restaurant we can assure with extreme certainty, that we offer an excellent cuisine with always fresh cooked food. We receive many compliments by our guests released on Trip Advisor as well as in our Guests Book. This confirms that food and the attentive and courteous service in the restaurant are a real pride for us.
You also report that we did not serve "jugs of water" at the table. It is company policy to serve all drinks in bottles because we consider ourselves an excellent four star hotel and we could not adapt same service as in 3 or 2 star hotels.
Regarding the safety standards I would like to point out that they are under steady control by the competent authorities and everything has always been found in corrispondence with the standards imposed for our category.
We would like to remind you that you travelled with a group and the other participants of the trip were very satisfied. This is demonstrated too by the fact that some of the members of the group have expressed their gratitude towards the restaurant as well as towards the room maids.
The person we had to refer to was the tour leader, who was asked several times by the Management if everything was going well and never dissatisfaction was expressed.
However, if you had pointed out the inefficiencies listed during your stay, the Manager would have been delighted to take prompt action and remedy.
We are very disappointed about what you have written, but if you wanted to return to the Savoy Palace, we are convinced that you would dissipate on what you have expressed in your comment.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed with a party for five nights could not cope with none meat eaters always to be reminded
so food arrived late and was of poor quality.Bed sheets marked and not changed for four nights.
A number of people complained to Manager and he ignored the complaints and walked off into his office.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
Grand Hotel Gardone Riviera
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquarone
Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquar...
#3 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace

Property: Hotel Savoy Palace
Address: Via Zanardelli, 2/4, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Palace Hotel
Savoy Palace Gardone Riviera
Hotel Savoy Palace Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing