We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Savoy Palace Hotel Lake Garda”
Review of Hotel Savoy Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Recently returned from 7 nights in the Savoy Palace Hotel, Lake Garda on a DBB basis. Pre-booked lake view room with travel company Citalia (the very best travel agent for Italy, first class) and the room was much better than expected. The restaurant experience was also much better than anticipated, with first class meals and very good service. The room was very clean, the bed comfortable, and it was cleaned thoroughly every day. Entertainment finished bang on 11pm every night and we enjoyed a very relaxing and peacefull sleep. Overall a very enjoyable stay.
OK, there were several little improvements that could be made but the hotel is a 4 star and not a 5 star. This hotel does not deserve some of the bad reviews that we read prior to our stay.
Thank you to all Savoy Palace staff and Management.
Roy and Jean Farmer. Huddersfield, UK

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Blueboy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Farmer,

we really appreciate your supportative comments. It gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your holiday at our hotel on Lake Garda and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace.

Thank you for having faith in us!

Very truly yours,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Savoy Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

had an amazing time at this beautiful hotel! from the very beginning to the end it was magical! would def reccommend a stay here. we stayed on the 5th floor superior lake view! It was stunning to wake up every morning to the view of the lake!Staff were very friendly and Gardone is such a lovely place to stay! we will def be coming back again! Just loved it!!!!We were only there for 5 days wish we could,ve stayed longer! would recommend the travel agency in the square for great trips and for being so helpful! Book this hotel and you wont be dissappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamamiaBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are really delighted about your comments and hope to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace.

The lake is truly magical and we are happy that its magic has touched you.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights with our 18 month old toddler in a deluxe lake view room with a small balcony on the 5th floor. The view from the room was beautiful & worth paying the extra for.
The room was lovely & spacious, plenty of room for the baby cot that the hotel supplied. The outdoor pool is quiet & relaxing, they serve breakfast by the pool in the morning. It's a good buffet breakfast with really good pastries.
There is a roof top terrace which is nice for evening drinks & there are a few places in the hotel where you can just sit & relax.
We used the hotel babysitter service for 3 nights of our stay at €15 per hr. The babysitter was a hotel employee, she was flexible, punctual & experienced. Having a great babysitter always contributes to a relaxing hotel stay for us so would definitely recommend it!
Housekeeping was quick & efficient each day, hotel staff were also professional & helpful.
The location is very good with restaurants close by & the ferry terminal a few minutes walk away. There is a supermarket towards Salo about 10 mins walk away. Tourist attractions are also within walking distance.
Would definitely recommend staying here, the hotel is in such beautiful spot & the people are lovely.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tlussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your very nice comments. We try to offer a complete spectrum of services to accommodate each individual’s need. It was a pleasure for us to be helpful with our babysitting service and I am very glad you enjoyed your holiday.
I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace.

With my kindest regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here for ten gloriously hot days this summer. The hotel lives up to its distinguished London namesake, the Savoy. Views over Lake Garda are stunnming from whichever floor you are on, although the higher you are the better. Try to get one with a balcony, as it is wonderful to sit out there with a glass of wine at the end of the day. The rooms are huge, well furnished, and very pleasant. The pool area has plenty of luxurious loungers, although I never did get to grips with the complicated head-rest. At the weekends, when the hotel was full, and everyone wanted to stay around the pool, staff simply brought out many more loungers and opened up the grassy area behind it. There is a good poolside service providing drinks and snacks all day long. Dining on the poolside, in the verandah area outside the main room was a nightly pleasure. The hotel offers a good choice of well-balanced food, most of it locally supplied, and it has a good buffet as well. Although we tried one or two local restaurants, the Savoy Palace was by far the best. They have an extensive wine list, and the prices are very fair. Afterwards it was the perfect end to the day when we went to the rooftop bar and sipped a nightcap while looking athe twinkling lights on the other side of the lake. This would not be a proper review without a mention of the Savoy Palace's best asset: their staff. We found everyone, from the maids to the maintenance men, to the waiting staff, not forgetting the extremely helpful maitre d, and the front desk. The town itself is very pretty - a series of little passageways leading down to the lakeside - and the people are very welcoming. Gardone Riviera has bus and ferryboat services which easily access almost everywhere else on the lake, although a car rental gave us much more freedom. Two things to beware of: the parking outside the hotel is metered, except for just three or four dedicated spaces, and it is a nuisance having to find change. The additional parking in a garage across the street costs 10 euros a day, but it is confusing where to go because it is inadequately signposted. And most of the towns around the lake have a central area that invokes a fine if you drive it it. These areas are NOT obvious. We discovered, rather too late, that they are marked by a sign showing circles inside circles. But none of that should detract from the Savoy Palace, which is a real gem.

Room Tip: All floors have great views, but the higher you go, the better.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mickchickuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear Guest,

we are very grateful for your detailed comment and we are very pleased about your compliments. They confirm that friendliness and professionalism are a priority for us and that the quality and the service we offer are on a high level.

Thank you again, best wishes and kindest regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Lovely Hotel - stayed for 1 week at beginning of July. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and feel it should be rated higher. Cannot agree about other comments of "poor service and food" etc..We have stayed in many other hotels over the years and on 5 star cruise lines and we felt the food was excellent, beautifully presented and terrific value for money. The staff were always pleasant and polite and nothing was too much trouble. Great variety of foods at breakfast to suit all tastes and nationalities and also for evening meals, my partner is vegetarian and had plenty of choice from the daily menu and if not anything to his liking he was offered further choices from the chef. The afternoon tea if required was also a welcome bonus as were the cocktail evenings arranged by the owner. We also had packed lunches available when we attended 2 operas in Verona because it meant we would miss the evening meals.
The owner went out of his way to make everyone welcome - would love to visit again when next going to Lake Garda. Margaret Fielder & Partner

Room Tip: Didn't use spa so cannot comment, our room was fine - we just had glimpse of lake but we did not...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear Mrs. Fielder,

thank you very much for your kind words. I hope to welcome you again in this beautiful part of the world.

Best wishes and kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is the first time I have left a review on Trip Adviser. My husband and I  are well travelled - both business and pleasure and write travel reports for various outfits from time to time.  We have stayed in all sorts of accommodation in many countries – from camping to self catering villas,  apartments and  hotels - from 2* - 5* The star rating differs from country to country. Everybody has their own opinion and travellers can have different experiences at the same hotel as accommodation at most hotels differs within each category. We are very honest and tell it as it is! Our pet hates are overpricing, bad food, misleading brochures and almost the worst - bad service. We stayed here end of June/beg July. Couple of negatives about the Savoy Palace, but some of the positives are second to none and deserve a serious mention. I would like to have given this hotel 4.5 stars! Some of my points are not really meant as criticism but more a suggestions as to how things could be improved.

This hotel is very peaceful and relaxing and set in a beautiful spot on Lake Garda. Not a place for those who want a whizzy night life with lots of night clubs etc. On saying that, there were a couple of concerts in the square and other individual artists playing/singing near the hotel – all wonderful. Some lovely restaurants - particularly at the Hotel Diana - best value. I thoroughly researched this hotel before booking and the photos on various websites were promising. Two concerns I had from reviews - uncomfortable beds and being allocated a room at the back of the hotel. We didn’t want to spend our hard earned money on a room at the back of the hotel on a main road!!! I email the hotel beforehand to establish what room we were being allocated and HUGE thank you to Sigrid for her help. So, you can always ask! We received a warm welcome on arrival and shown to our room. On hindsight, aircon, panel on wall with door indications etc should really have been explained at that time as a matter of course. The room was lovely with a small balcony on the 5th floor overlooking the lake. Aircon slightly noisy. Great housekeeping and evening turn down service with replacement towels if needed much appreciated. The girls looking after the rooms worked so hard and could have done with some help. Beds were firm but most hotels don’t offer different types of beds and these were OK – statistics show that the majority of people ask for firm mattresses. I have a bad back so placed the blankets in the wardrobe under the sheet and that solved the problem. The pillows were awful but I always bring my own!! Again, most hotels don’t have feather because of allergies. Large bathroom (sink unnecessarily big) – shower bit dodgy! It was a hand held thing that was positioned 1/3 way down bath on side and the hose only just reached up to the hook. Slightly got in the way of trying to stand underneath the shower head..... but plenty of hot water and not the usual sudden onslaught of cold if other people are having showers at the same time! There was a  lack of storage in this particular room – especially if you are there for 2 weeks. Wardrobe with shelf, some hanging space and 3 small drawers. Bedside table with one drawer. I used my hand luggage as extra ‘drawer’ placed on luggage rack. I know other rooms in the same category had a great deal more storage. But, it was a lovely room. Requested kettle - many thanks for that. Asked for iron - answer no! First time in 25yrs not been available. Ironing service expensive and two big creases down front and back of shirt - very odd. Went and bought cheap travel iron. Lovely terrace adjoining hotel with fantastic views –apartments below absolutely HIDEOUS!! Felt like taking a paintbrush to them. Awful brown colour and not in keeping with the rest of the beautiful hotel.. A blot on the landscape. Unfortunately this building was beside the pool. Beautiful pool – tad small when hotel full. Mostly ‘over 21s’ at the hotel but some youngsters  made it impossible for anybody else to swim. Twice I was dive bombed!! I’m afraid the one thing that would almost stop me going back to this hotel is the sunbeds. Too close together..... only a few parasols which you couldn’t really move as no room and the sunbeds were the most uncomfortable I have ever encountered. Expensive looking. You could only have them flat or at a slight angle. Just about everybody had a problem as they couldn’t work out how to fix them so you could sit up and read – well, you can’t!! I ended up bringing down a pillow! On two occasions we didn’t go to the pool as the only available sunbeds weren’t together (3 free) and no parasols. Also, another pain in the wotsits was the usual lot who saved the sunbeds early on ......... 4* hotels should do something about this.....especially if they don't appear till late morning. 

The food – well, amazing! Not one bad meal. We are very fussy.... We were on B+B basis but ate at the hotel a few times. It was expensive. We had a ‘special rate’ and it was just under Euros 30 per person for dinner. It was superb and the service second to none. Those guys/girls in the restaurant work so hard – they were there first thing to very late at night – always a smiling face and incredibly helpful. They had their work cut out some of the time. Breakfast was perfect – amazing choice and something for everybody. Best cooked breakfast – crispy bacon and scrambled egg excellent. I have read the reviews from those with tour group. My guess is they had some sort of ‘all in’ deal so there wouldn’t be a choice and unfortunately there wasn’t the room for everybody to sit outside. It’s the tour company’s fault, NOT the hotel if this is the case. However, I can’t understand the complaints about the food – we ate the same breakfast (note: some of that group piled their plates with SO much food ..... no wonder they ran out, but replaced by staff within minutes) and I note on some occasions we chose the same food as they were being served from the menu and it was perfect. Please, if any of you are reading this, take it up with your tour company and not the hotel because it’s just untrue to say the food and service wasn’t good.

Now the service (don’t worry am almost finished this saga!) – I can honestly say it was up there with some the best we have ever come across. Bar by the pool...... never had a problem. The guys came round about twice an hour for drink orders (most of the time no orders placed) and if you wanted a drink at other times you could go into the restaurant and find somebody. (note; phone by pool should be pointed out to guests – we didn’t know there was one!) One English couple with their daughter (early 20’s?)  made the staff’s life a misery – arrogant, demanding, rude, removing papers from lounge and leaving by poolside etc. They even had the nerve  to remove our stuff from sunbed and dump it elsewhere whilst we went to get an ice cream.   Am putting this in writing because I’m pretty sure they have left a review and were unfair to lie about the service!

The girls on reception were lovely. Tip: remember to get your towel ‘card’ back when returning towels. I forgot on one occasion and was told rather aggressively when trying to get more towels ‘it was noted on our file and we would have to pay for the towels if we couldn’t find it’. I know people do go off with the towels but that was over the top – they were welcome to come and search our room!! Nevertheless it was OK in the end and they did eventually believe us. 

Bartender Daniele deserves a special mention.  He came on duty about 3pm I think and worked his socks off – he seemed to be looking after the bar, lounge and terrace all by himself. There were times when I wanted to give him some help. Everything from a cocktail to a cup of tea was beautifully presented with great speed, politeness and cheerfulness. A real treasure. Thank you Daniele for looking after us so well – we enjoyed our evenings in the lounge..... as our bar bill proved! 

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RocksLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Wow! We had a stunning room with a balcony that had two sunbeds and table and chairs. The view was fantastic, although obscured a bit by trees. The hotel had a fantastic roof terrace, which was so nice to sit in the evenings with a drink looking over the lake. It was cool and romantic, with an excellent view. Good selection for breakfast included yummy scrambled eggs and bacon. This hotel should have been a 5 star hotel and it had coffee making facilities in the room. Also there was evening room service to tidy the bathroom and turn the bed down. The nearest restaurant served a huge bruschetta, we suggest you share one between two! And the town lake side is quite lively. You get the impression that you are on a promenade here by the sea and not by a lake. Ferries seemed to be few and far between and didn’t seem to go to many places on the lake.

Room Tip: Lake view - fantastic views over pool and lake
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Sofia
Hotel Villa Sofia
#8 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
137 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
459 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace

Address: via Zanardelli, 2 / 4, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range: £100 - £881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Palace Hotel
Savoy Palace Gardone Riviera
Hotel Savoy Palace Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing