We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“306 Please!”
Review of Hotel Savoy Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“306 Please!”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of September. It's quite obvious from the first moment that this hotel is frequented by retired Brits, reminiscing the Britishness of an Era gone by.
A very grand and imposing building. We stayed in room 306 which had an enormous terrace, with two sun beds, parasol, and table and chairs. An absolutely smashing room, huge and tastefully furnished in Italian Villa style. We also had tea and coffee making facilities (a blessing).
A not so welcoming check-in as we waited while the receptionist chatted to someone else. We waited in the lobby while our room was prepared, but no service was available to order drinks etc. I had to go to the Reception to enquire about service at the Lobby Bar. Eventually we were served coffee.

We had dinner in the Restaurant, which was quite empty, but for a few tables with mostly elderly British guests. At first we thought we were in the wrong place. Dinner was conveyor belt food! Although my choice was not available, I was offered an alternative, but it later dawned, that the 'sides' were not included in the alternative meat dish. I discussed with the waiter that such information should be shared with the customer and not just randomly added to one's bill. Food, was 'thrown' on a plate, unloved and I do have a more civilised vision of a veal steak and not that of one which is splashed on top of gluey mashed potatoes. The side dish of zucchini, was overcooked and tasteless. Naturally, I pointed these out to the Maitre 'D, who was arrogant and persistent in his manner. I complaint to the General Manager with whom I had a meeting in respect of the quality of the food and service.

The General Manager was very apologetic and understood my reasoning. He invited us to Lunch or dinner in the same Restaurant, with the promise of exceptional food! Unfortunately we did not have the time as were exploring Lake Garde. However, we did have coffee together on the day of our departure. Paying my bill I noticed that despite my complaint of having to pay for the side orders, these were very much itemised. Although only a lousy €2.00, it's the principle that counts: Inform the client if the alternative costs extra.

Breakfast: mediocre and again, food is placed in a rather uninviting manner. Bread rolls were stale. Bacon and eggs are not refilled. And if you ask for more, you're insulting the waiting staff. Although early September, all the doors leading to the Patio were closed, no tables are set where one could enjoy the beautiful view over the Lake.

Having complaint about the food and service the night before, the waiting staff at breakfast did not even acknowledge our appearance at breakfast. We waited quite some time for one of them to react on our needs and that with a terribly grumpy face. How in heaven's name is this "hospitality"?

My meeting with the General Manager was very positive and he promised us exceptional service and food should I stay again next year. How can I refuse?

The Spa area was very clean and pleasant. Just annoyed by British guests who did not shower before or after the Sauna. I even reminded them that swimsuits are not allowed in the Sauna and also to please shower before and after. No avail! and so unhygienic. There's Spa Etiquette which one has to follow on the continent. to shower before and after the Sauna, is common practice everywhere.

We were further annoyed at a wedding party taking place in the Lobby. It was impossible to have a quite drink while Karaoke is intrusively imposed on one! Wedding celebrations should be held separately and not in the Lobby.

The Hotel has only 6 parking bays, which are free of charge. The remainder of the Parking spaces belongs to the Council and costs €1.00 the hour. Free WI-FI which only functions downstairs in the Lobby. The hotel's own PC was broken and awaiting repairs.

A very helpful and polite Matteo helped with the luggage at our arrival and departure.

We are rather curious about next year's visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelDocKleen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the detailed comment you left on TripAdvisor. Your review is very helpful to understand where our services can still be improved.
I am very sorry you where not satisfied about the food during dinner, usually our cuisine is very much appreciated. Also at breakfast we offer a buffet with a wide variety of breads, cereals, croissants, cakes, juices, eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, fresh fruit salad, etc. that has been carefully selected to satisfy the taste buds of our national and international guests but we certainly will take into consideration your points of view in order to improve our food services even more.
I apologize for the unfriendliness of some of our staff. I can assure you that as the hotel owner, good manners and politeness are an absolute priority for me in order to establish that special contact with our guests and to help make their stay with us, a memorable one.
Regarding the Wi-Fi connection, which is free for all guests, it is difficult to assure complete Wi-Fi coverage but as the available technology improves, so does our Wi-Fi coverage.

The wedding reception was an exceptional event and it was held in our restaurant. A karaoke evening at the bar was surely not in the programme and we apologize that they disturbed your after dinner while you were relaxing at the bar.

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you again at the Savoy Palace and show you the quality of services that we are able to offer.

With warmest regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    127
    32
    15
    9
See reviews for
52
204
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. Food lovely, excellent waiter/waitress service. Room spotlessly clean and I'm fussy! No tea coffee making facilities in our room and you know how the British like them! I'd taken my own so no panic. Only drawback we found were the rooms aren't soundproof. Don't really want to here other folks various noises!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 632Kathryn632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for the review you left on TripAdvisor and thank you very much for your nice compliments. Your comments are very much appreciated and assist us in the improvement of the service and quality of our hotel.
At the moment, tea and coffee making facilities are provided in Deluxe and Prestige rooms. It is a complimentary service we wanted to offer to our guests and of course we are aware that our British guests enjoy this convenience very much.
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace at this beautiful spot on Lake Garda.

Yours sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We recently stayed here at the end of the season (6th October) for one week. The room was really big and exceptionally clean, which was great. As it was the end of the season, the hotel was quite quiet and the clientele was considerably older than ourselves. We hired a speed boat whilst there and were advised that we could park this at the hotel's allocated buoy at the harbour. This was great but charging us EUR15 per night was a bit steep, given that it was off season. The staff were pleasant enough and the breakfast buffet was fine, enough choice, although there were a number of small fruit flies at the breakfast buffet which were off putting, suggest the hotel invests in a fly trap of some sort. The decor in the dining room could be updated as it is rather dated, although it would appeal to the older clientele there, but I'm not sure if this is what they're aiming for. The rooms all have shutters over the french doors/windows which are fantastic for blocking out the light and ensuring a good (sometimes too good!) nights sleep. Only other comment is the strange pictures that are hung around the hotel; in our room, there was a rather miserable and depressed looking woman hung over the bed which was rather off putting....Overall the hotel is a bit dated but benefits from a good location right on the lakeside.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor which comes with a small balcony, the rooms above have no balcony, ones bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the review you left on TripAdvisor.
We appreciate your very nice comment on the cleanliness, the service and the kindness of the staff. We will certainly take into consideration your observations.
In order to conserve that particular charm of the past, the reception area and lounge, as well as the rest of the hotel facility, had been totally revamped with the design concept reflecting the Art Nouveau style of that period.
I look forward to welcoming you again at the Savoy Palace.

Kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed at the Savoy Palace towards the end of September 2012 which admittedly is towards the end of the season and may explain why most of the hotel appeared to be moth balled. We had a standard room in the newer part of the hotel with a balcony which had an impeded view of the lake. Unfortunately, our neighbours were smokers so we were driven inside on several occasions to avoid their cigarette smoke. Shame Italian hotels don't have a no-smoking policy. Smokers also tended to stand around the pool or garden area. On the good side the hotel was immaculately clean, the bed was comfortable, the room had a mini-bar, tea and coffee making facilities and the staff were always pleasant and friendly. The hotel is also very conveniently situated for local restaurants and pizzerias and the ferry station is just five minutes walk from the door. We were half board and thought we'd regret it on the first night (a Monday) since every course seemed to be served with polenta. However the menu improved considerably for the rest of the week and although I've eaten better, it was perfectly acceptable and included three courses plus as much self-service salad, sweet and cheese as you could eat. Like other guests we were glad not to get a room at the back of the hotel which is adjacent to a very noisy road that is busy all day long. There's a small hotel lounge next to reception which feels like it's stuck in the 1970s and desperately needs a refurbishment and you can also hear the sound of the road from here unless the staff turn up the middle of the road jazz music that's played there most of the day. In contrast, the restaurant felt a bit barn like, especially at night when it could have done with some lower lighting to create more of an atmosphere. The location of the hotel is great however - a quieter resort than many on the lake so good to return to in the evenings and up the hill is the charming area known as Gardone Supra and the Il Vittoriale house and gardens which are worth exploring. If you just want a clean hotel as a base from which to explore Lake Garda, in a good location, this could fit the bill. We were glad that it didn't rain too much however because this isn't the place where you'll find a comfortable, quiet place to read a book.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a lake-facing room, situated in the middle of the hotel so you can avoid the nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the review you left on TripAdvisor. Your comments are appreciated and assist us in improving the service and quality of our hotel.

Regarding the smoking policy: in Italy it is forbidden to smoke inside public buildings (including hotel buildings), but guests are permitted to smoke on the balcony or in the outside areas. This is always an inconvenience for non smokers and we can understand your discomfort.
It is true that we have a few rooms on the street side, but we have a very helpful Reception staff that tries to accommodate each individual guest and upgrade rooms anytime that it is possible depending on the current booking schedules. In any case, a guest can confirm a lakeside room at the time of booking.
The reception and lounge, as well as the rest of the hotel facility, had been totally revamped with the design concept reflecting the Art Nouveau style of the Savoy period, in order to conserve that particular charm of the past.
Thank you for your very nice comment on the cleanliness, the service and the kindness of the staff. We will certainly take in consideration your suggestions.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Savoy!

Sincerely,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goring by Sea, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We are just back (September 2012) from a week at the Savoy Palace, and our overall experience was quite satisfactory... we had a good holiday.
The location of this hotel is a 15minute walk from the town centre, either along the main (busy) road or along the lake edge which is very pleasant (watch out for mad cyclists).
Our room had a lake view, and was on the 5th floor (extra cost). It was very well appointed and the huge bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed we have ever had. The bathroom had a jacuzzi (didn't work) and a broken shower screen. The room was made up every day very nicely.
The reception staff were very helpfull and efficient, if rather unsmiling. They had maps, bus and ferry timetables which they gave out freely... if only they could be a little more amiable !
We didn't have time to use the pools, but they certainly looked very nice and clean, as did the rest of the hotal and grounds.
We had no problem with the lifts.
The dining room was perfectly pleasant. We were allocated a table to use at the beginning of our holiday and were lucky to have nice people to talk to on either side. This was important because the service was really poor and we sometimes waited 20 minutes for course dishes to be cleared away and the next course served. The waiters were indifferent (to put it mildly) and only showed any interest on the last night, when they went into Basil Fawlty grovelling mode in the hope of a tip (not given !).
We found the food to be very good overall. We certainly never went hungry, and the evening meal was 4 or 5 courses which was nicely presented and nicely cooked... such a shame about the lousy waiter service !

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would go there again. If the management ever gets round to reading this, I hope they gee up the staff to be more efficient and friendly which could lift this hotel from "Average +" to Excellent".

Room Tip: Pay extra for 4th or 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your helpful comments and we were very happy to know that you would return to our hotel. It is always our pleasure to welcome back a returning guest. In fact, we pride ourselves that so many guests come back and we are always happy to see a familiar face.
We would like to mention that none of our rooms are equipped with a Jacuzzi and we certainly will look into that problem of a defective shower door.
Please keep in mind that our staff is on call 24 hours a day to assist our guests and there are prepared to do what is necessary to accommodate the guest.
Hotel Savoy is a service oriented hotel and we appreciate your comments and will certainly take them in consideration.


Kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I have just returned from a short break at the savoy palace at Gardone, the only 4 star aspect of this hotel is the location, right next to the lake. We were lucky to have a lake view, those at the back of the hotel are rightover a very noisy main road. You can hear all your neighbours through floors and walls. The dining room service would win an award for the slowest service in the world, with an appalling attitude from the restaurant manager. The food has no taste, tinned fruit served for breakfast, when there is an abundance of fresh fruit available. The salad served for evening meal consisted of lettuce, carrot and tomato only, with the 4 course meal for the price of 29 euro, and no choice, if you didn't want the choice of the two main courses on offer this 4 star kitchen had no other alternative, and the manager only offered sarcastic comments, that the other diners had no complaints. If you choose to stay here, book room only, book a lake view and take good ear plugs.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a lake view, rooms at the back are over a very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jefflyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that you seem so unsatisfied.
At breakfast we offer a buffet with a wide range of breads, cereals, croissants, cakes, juices, scrambled and cooked eggs, bacon, ham, cheese, fresh fruit salad, etc. that has been carefully selected to satisfy the taste buds of our national and international guests. We know that a good breakfast is essential and appreciated by all and your point of view will help us to improve our service even more.
The philosophy of the dining room is befitting of its elegance and atmosphere of tranquility. The standard menu, which is changed daily, offers a 4 course meal with 3 choices for each course. In addition we offer an a la carte menu with an interesting variety of selections.
I am sorry if you were not happy about the service in our restaurant, because the friendliness and the efficiency of the hotel staff are a priority for us.
Next time you visit Gardone Riviera, it will be our pleasure to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace!

Yours sincerely,
Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Conveniently located hotel in a very small resort area close to a number of good restaurants. Our room (deluxe) had an excellent view of Lake Garda with a small balcony on which two people could sit. The room was well appointed with bath, shower and bidet. The bedroom was large enough to accommodate a 6ft bed and a single bed for our daughter with plenty of room left. There were tea making facilities in the room together with a stocked fridge large enough to keep our own supplies. Our beds were turned down every night sometimes with a small bonbon on our pillows which was a nice touch. The only criticism of the room was that there was not much drawer space, and the air conditioning was not particularly effective, although the latter was not a major problem. Breakfast was served by the pool which was great, and whilst there was a variety of choice, there was a limited hot breakfast option. The reception staff were very friendly and attentive as were the team that cleaned the room. The swimming pool was of a reasonable size set in a small garden and acquiring sunbeds was never a problem. Entry to the lakeside promenade was via the garden. The hotel is accessed via a public car park that only has 5 free spaces allocated to the hotel. The car park and the hotel underground parking costs 10 euros a day. All in all we had a great time and would definitely return to the Hotel Savoy Palace if visiting Gardone Riviera again.

Room Tip: Hotel is situated right by the lake so a lake view room is a must. The alternative at the back of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AK1Bozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 27 April 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the nice comments you left on TripAdvisor. I am very glad that you and your family enjoyed your holiday here at the Savoy Palace. Your compliments were very much appreciated as we consider our guests our most valued asset.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace.

Kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Sofia
Hotel Villa Sofia
#10 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
131 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#2 of 33 in Torbole
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
23.3 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
1.4 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace

Property: Hotel Savoy Palace
Address: via Zanardelli, 2 / 4, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Palace Hotel
Savoy Palace Gardone Riviera
Hotel Savoy Palace Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing