We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A fantastic hotel in many ways"”
Review of Hotel Savoy Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We too stayed in the Hotel Palace in a group with Great Rail Journeys, in May, and agree with the comments made by Bunny 022 and Michael H. The hotel was clean, with staff helpful and polite. The catering staff were diligent, and when serving had a chat to the guests. The views from the hotel were beautiful. The peace and quiet of the place was something to savour. The only gripe I would have is the bedroom. Room 101 was a most spacious room, the bathroom large with all the mod cons you would want. It obviously was bigger because it did not have a balcony. Problem being it was right under reception and next to a uncarpeted corridor, stairs, etc. We were woken up very early some morning from 6am, to midnight by clip clop on the uncarpeted floor. We reported this to reception and asked if there was a possibility of moving rooms. After this was going on for a few days, and after more complaints and speaking to our tour manager, we were moved along the corridor, to a room with a balcony and we were able to get good nights sleep for the rest of our holiday. This hotel is hugely recommended and it meets all the needs of a 4* hotel, if not more.

Room Tip: Keep away from Room 101.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Owner at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the nice words about your stay at the Savoy Palace. It is very remarkable to receive such nice compliments about our staff and the service we offer to our guests.

We apologize about the problem with the noise you had in your room the first days of your stay; we solved it as soon as possible, changing the room, in order to make your stay the most enjoyable and relaxing one.

We hope to welcome you again at the Savoy Palace Hotel.

Kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Savoy Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

The recent review by Bunny022 could not be more accurate in describing the Savoy Palace's excellent facilities and beautiful location. We also stayed with a group on a Great Rail Journey (possibly the same one!) and were happy to pre-pay the upgrade in order to have the advantage of a balcony with views across Lake Garda. We were delighted to find ourselves on the 4th floor with a stunning view looking towards Isola del Garda, which was a particular highlight to visit within our scheduled itinerary. My specific reason for writing a review on the Hotel Savoy Palace is to particularly commend the catering staff of the hotel who were totally understanding of the special dietary needs of a coeliac. It was so refreshing to be offered a choice on every course and to have a piping hot gluten-free baguette with every meal. The entire catering staff in the dining- room were attentive to detail, charming, happy to engage with every member of our group and willing to please at all times. I have travelled extensively throughout Europe for a number of years, staying at high-class, highly-rated hotels, but I have never experienced such a confident and professional level of service to match my dietary needs. Congratulations to everyone involved at the Savoy Palace Hotel! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and would love to return in the future.

Room Tip: Any room from the 4th floor upwards with a view over Lake Garda will not disappoint
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for spending such beautiful words on the Savoy Palace Hotel.
Both management and staff take care of our guests' requirements trying to satisfy each request.
We are delighted to read that through your own experience the Savoy Palace can compete with other high-class hotels. This is a confirmation for us that we succeed in maintaining our service on a high level.

It would be a pleasure to have soon the chance to welcoming you again.

With kind regards

Silvia Dalla Bona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at the Savoy Palace as part of a group on a Great Railway Journeys holiday. We paid an additional fee to guarantee a lake view room.
Our room was on the 5th floor with a panoramic view of the lake and mountains, and being on the back of the hotel away from the road it was quiet and peaceful. The balcony was small, but large enough for two chairs and it was wonderful to relax and watch the house martins swooping by in the evening. The 4th floor would also have had a good view of the lake, but below that despite some rooms having large balconies the view would be obscured by either buildings and/or trees but still a pleasant outlook across the pool. Rooms on the front of the hotel would look on to the main road which is very busy and I imagine there could be some problem with that.
The room was adequate, not cramped. the bed was comfortable and everything was very clean. My main 'gripe' would be the lack of drawer space, apart from the bedside table drawers there were only three rather small drawers in the closet. The bathroom was large and well equipped, there was a safe in the closet and a flat screen TV though reception varied depending on atmospheric conditions and I was rather puzzled at the request not to put personal items in the fridge to cool as they might break it.
Reception staff were all extremely helpful and obliging, and given the request not to use the room fridge for personal items ice was happily dispensed by the bar. The restaurant offered a reduced menu to our group being on a 'package' but the choices were always very acceptable and the food good. Waiters/waitresses were always obliging and most pleasant.
It was an easy stroll beside the hotel pool and out to the lake front where there were cafes and shops although work continues to improve the lakeside amenities, but they did not impinge on the hotel.
In all, we had a very comfortable week. The hotel is well placed for walking to the old town and the Heller Gardens, and the ferries to other towns and villages around the lake leave from a jetty only yards away.
In all, we had a very happy stay and enjoyed Lake Garda very much. Thank you to all the staff at the hotel Savoy Palace.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bunny022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your detailed review. Your comments are very important to understand how to improve the service we offer.

Our hotel rooms are attended in smallest details: we love our customers to feel at home. The Savoy Palace Hotel ranges from Classic to Prestige rooms, giving the choice to their guests to reserve the room they are most comfortable with.
Further on, thanks to the spacious and elegant terrace "Gabriele D'Annunzio", one could have the possibility to enjoy stunning sights of the lake, too.

All of the staff is involved to make your holiday an unforgettable one and the charming location of Gardone Riviera offers the chance to enjoy the lakeside promenade, to do shopping, to visit the botanical garden or the museum of the Vittoriale, all reachable within a few minutes walk.

Kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned home after having a wonderful time staying in the Savoy Palace Hotel. I booked this holiday as a surprise for his 60th birthday and I was not disappointed in any way. From the moment we walked through the doors we were made so welcome. That experience followed through everywhere we went in the hotel. Food and service was more 5 star standard even this hotel is described as being 4 star. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. Yvonne and Victor Cushley

Room Tip: Floors 4 or 5 better views
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for having chosen a stay in our hotel as a surprise for your husband's birthday. Your positive feedback makes us feel encouraged to continue to do our best.
We much appreciate that you would recommend the Savoy; it is thanks to clients like you that the success of our hotel continues to increase.
Hope to see you again ....

Truly yours,

Silvia Dalla Bona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Savoy Palace Hotel for a week in April. On arrival we were greeted in a most pleasant manner by Sigrid who was so helpful and friendly during the whole of our stay. Also on reception was Joanna who again went out of her way to help. The views from our balcony were so beautiful that one day, after a few very busy days, we simply sat there and watched the world go by. Sergio, the restaurant manager, also made our holiday special and the food in the restaurant was delicious. Sitting on the terrace in the early evening looking over the lake we were looked after Mara who was delightful. All these staff had worked in the Savoy for many years and appeared to really enjoy what they were doing. On leaving the manager, said goodbye and handed us a beautiful book about Gardone which was so thoughtful.
It is certainly a hotel that I would recommend to anybody wanting to see Lake Garda. As for Gardone itself, it is a lovely resort, quieter and more gracious that the other touristy places and I will be back!

Room Tip: The lower floor has a larger balcony with sun beds but if you stay on the 4th or 5th floors the view...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millienbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice and positive feedback. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, in the town of Gardone Riviera, that with its beautiful and green surroundings, offers all you need for a relaxing holiday.

We are grateful that you appreciated so much the courtesy of our staff, that every day works with not only professionality, but also the passion, that fortunately most clients like you notice. Our strentgh is to have in our staff many people that have worked at the Savoy for many years and that treat our clients as they were at their own home.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Silvia Dalla Bona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A friend and I chose this hotel quite by accident whilst browsing the internet, looking for somewhere to stay on Lake Garda. What a lucky find it turned out to be. From the moment we arrived we were treated with the utmost courtesy and care. The hotel had only been open for one day when we arrived on 7th April and we soon found out that all the regualr staff had taken up their positions again for the new season. This to me always speaks volumes. If the staff care enough about their hotel and their employers then they are going to care about their guests and they certainly did. We had asked for a lake view room and although it was nearly dark when we arrived we immediately went onto our balcony to gaze at the pretty lights round the hotel pool and in the distance. By 6.30a.m. we were on the balcony again to watch the sun rise over snow capped Mount Baldo and cast its reflection on the mirror like surface of the lake. Gardone Riviera is a jewel of a resort, elegant and subdued at this time of year.. The Savoy Palace was one of the few hotels open so we were quite pampered as it was not very busy although an influx of guests was expected at Easter. During our stay we noticed the attention to detail which this hotel gives. Its service is discreet and thoughtful and every day the manager who was both polite and charming made a point of asking us how we were and what we had done. The reception staff were always smiling and Mara who ran the bar was a delight to chat to. The food was good, the beds were very comfortable and the cleanliness could not be faulted. We did not want to leave. We hope to return.

Room Tip: The higher lake view rooms have small but adequate balconies. The lower ones have their own terrace.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jauntyjoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your nice and positive feedback.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Savoy Palace. The services we offer, the hospitality we reserve to our guests and the professionality and politeness of our staff are very important for us and we are glad to hear that we succeeded in keeping our standards on a high level.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Savoy Palace in the near future and wish you all the best.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a lovely six day stay at the hotel Savoy Palace. The hotel is ideally placed for visits around the lakes and is in a very quiet location. It was unfortunate that there was some work being carried out on the promenade which meant walking was a bit restrictive and there was some noise.

Our room with a large balcony on the third floor was excellent. Very clean and a beautiful view. The food is first class both at breakfast and particularly in the evening. The staff are very helpful particularly Mara and Sergio.

Recommend staying here.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive feedback about your stay, that we appreciated very much. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our efforts to make our guests feel satisfied have been noted.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardone Riviera
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,182 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Sofia
Hotel Villa Sofia
#10 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
137 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Lago di Garda
Hotel Lago di Garda
#3 of 33 in Torbole
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hotel Caesius Thermae & Spa Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
457 reviews
23.3 mi away
Hotel Savoy Palace - TonelliHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace

Address: via Zanardelli, 2 / 4, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range: £105 - £879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Palace Hotel
Savoy Palace Gardone Riviera
Hotel Savoy Palace Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing