We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice break to finish our honeymoon with”
Review of Hotel Savoy Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Savoy Palace
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Gardone Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice break to finish our honeymoon with”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in room 104 for the last few days of our honeymoon in Italy.

We have had a great few days here and it will be a shame to checkout tomorrow.

Some of the other reviews mention complimentary bottles of wine on arrival but this cannot be across the board as we did not receive anything along these lines.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LCC1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thanks for your review, we are really happy you have enjoyed your last honeymoon days with us in our Hotel.

In case we receive a note that our guests are on a honeymoon holiday we always put a bottle of prosecco in the room on arrival. I am afraid in your case we did not receive this information.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel!!

Best regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    124
    31
    15
    8
See reviews for
51
199
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We too recently returned from the Savoy Palace after being on a Great Rail Journey holiday. After reading previous reviews, I would agree that the Hotel is lovely, rooms are good, especially our bathroom which had a great shower !!
The BIG let down was dinner in the evening. Previous reviews state the food was delicious, maybe, if you`re not on a Great Railway Journey package, our food was rubbish, every evening the Antipasta was a salad and cheese buffet (several of us were using this to bulk up the quantity of the main course !) The variety / presentation of the main courses was mediocre to say the least and the service was terrible. When we`re eating out, we like to eat our main course off a HOT plate,together, every meal the plates were cold by the time the food was brought, and on 2 occasions, my wife had finished her meal before I`d even received mine.Dessert was "take it or leave it" no choice.
It would seem to me that "package holidays" took second place to individuals, unless of course the budget given to the hotel by Great Railway Journeys limited the choice, although this wouldn`t affect the lack of service.
IF I visited the hotel again, i would do so under my own steam !!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guests,

thank you for the review you placed on Tripadvisor. First of all, we appreciate a lot your compliments about the rooms.

Regarding the food we would like to inform you that at the beginning of the season a choice of menus has been sent to Great Rail Journeys in order to make a choice of the menu they preferred. The choice is rich:
you have the salad buffet with cooked vegetables and different kind of cheese. Further on there is a choice between 2 first and 2 second dishes and the dessert.

We would like to point out that if you had reported your complaints to the Management during your stay, we would have been able to intervene immediately and find the best solution. We had several groups of Great Rail staying at the hotel before and regarding the food we have never received any complaints.

In any case, our Chefs work with passion and dishes are prepared with much attention, so, to call our food "rubbish" seems a bit exaggerated to us and it does not corrispond to the truth!

In any case, thank you for your comment, it helps us to understand where we are doing well and where we still can improve the service.

Kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middx London
Level Contributor
201 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We spent a week here earlier this month. Our room was on the 5th floor and had wonderful views from our little balcony of the lake and the mountains. We were welcomed by very helpful staff on reception and received a complimentary bottle of Prosecco delivered to our room on arrival. We ate in the restaurant the first evening having had a long journey from Venice that day and the special offer meal was delicious.
Our room was very good with lovely big bathroom and plenty of space in the room. The TV was pretty useless but then you don't go on holiday to sit and watch that and I had my IPad for News updates thanks to the complimentary Wifi . We used the fridge for fresh milk and water although the sign said not to !The Hotel is well situated for visiting all the Lakeside towns do ask for the Promo card from reception which entitles you to 20% of Boat trips among other offers. We didn't find out about this until the very helpful lady in the tourist information place mentioned it! The buses are great and easy to use ( and cheap) again tickets are bought from the tourist information office near the Hotel. Our only gripe was the breakfasts the coffee was awful ,the fruit juices were diluted ( which for a 4 star hotel is not acceptable) and unless you were there at 7.30 the hot food was not worth eating On asking for more fresh bread all that was offered were the rolls which had obviously been there all night. Once the croissants ran out they were not replaced either!
The weather was was changeable and so didn't use the pool but the local ducks did which rather put me off using it with them!
Do upgrade to a room with a view over the lake as well worth it
Apart from breakfasts the Hotel is really lovely and I would recommend it as a good base for exploring the locality. Incidentally a taxi to verona airport will cost about 110€ and takes about an hour

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the comment you left on Tripadvisor. Thanks to your thoughtful considerations we can understand where we are doing well and where we can can still improve.

First of all we would like to say that we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciated your positive comments about the staff and services the Savoy Palace offers.

Regarding the breakfast we would like to point out that we offer a rich buffet with lots of fruit juices, fresh fruit, cakes, pastries, muesli, marmalades, salami, ham, different kind of fresh bread (we guarantee that we do not offer bread from the day before to our guests) and hot dishes as scrambled eggs, boiled eggs and sausages.

Extra dishes can be ordered paying a supplement. However, we take very much in consideration your comment and try to improve breakfast service.

We hope to see you again at the Savoy Palace.

Thank you again and best regards.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

just returned from a wonderful trip to lake garda

we found the hotel by accident but are really glad we stayed there
the staff were very helpful and catered well for my husband's coeliac diet

on our arrival there was a complimentary bottle of prosecco in our room which we enjoyed

on one day we requested a packed breakfast as we were going out early for a trip , and they sent us off for the day with a feast

the resort is quiet but very pretty and there are buses and boats available to reach busier resorts.make sure you visit the botanical garden as this is delightful

gardone is not the easiest of places to get to which is a shame . we took a taxi both ways which did make the trip more expensive.

Room Tip: all rooms have balconies but for a view there is a hefty charge so it is a matter of choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denis s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind review. It is most satisfying for us to read that you spent a nice holiday at the Savoy Palace Hotel.
In our restaurant there is a specific care for caeliac people, and in general for people with intolerant and allergic problems. Our chef always proposes specific menu for all kinds pf intolerances.

We hope to welcome you again as our guests!

Yours faithfully,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

So glad we chose this hotel for views, service, accommodation. Sebastian the barman was brilliant as were the restaurant staff in particular the head waiter who treated us exceptionally well. We were assisted with cases, the room was beautiful with sea view and overlooking the pool and gardens. Food was al a carte with added touches and the staff were attentive to our requests. Definitely highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms as road at rear or hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your very positive feedback. We are delighted to read your appreciation about the members of our staff and we will surely forward your compliments to them.

Our personnel has carefully been chosen in order to meet our guests’ needs and demands.

It is most important for us that our guests spend a pleasant and relaxing holiday, because it confirms that we did our job well.

We hope to welcome you again in this beautiful spot of Lake Garda and send kind regards from Gardone Riviera.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Must admit when we first booked this hotel was a bit dubious. But I cannot fault this hotel at all the food is excellent, the staff are lovely overall this hotel is 10/10. The owner is very pleasant too, really down to earth guy. There are extras too which we didn't expect, safe deposit boxes and bikes are free you just pay a refundable deposit. They even lay on a free drink n biscuits some days.

Room Tip: Our room was 209 which is one of a few with bigger balcony which is decking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for the review you left on tripadvisor. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the service, staff and management.
We do our best to collaborate in order to make your stay an excellent and unforgettable one!

We hope to welcome you again in the Savoy Palace Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Silvia Dalla Bona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic week in the Savoy Palace. Our rooms were at the back of the hotel overlooking the swiiming pol and gardens with the mountains behind. Large spaciouas well equipped rooms with balconies. Spotlessesly clean , Towels in abundance , we travelled with our parents, who needed disabled access , and nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant bright and airy, the staff very attentive particularily Chockrie, The food was excellent, presentation fabulous, plenty of choice. the owner on site daily alwyas checking all was well, with added touches, free cocktails themed nights, Good light entertainment on the large patio each evening, Pools very good, and small fitness centre , gardens lovely, Bikes for guests use free of charge just a small deposit. Nice walk along the lake into town.The whole hotel was immaculate at all times of the day or night. would go back no hesitation. We were traveling with Riviera Travel. Allthough we did not have any children in our party there were facilities for their entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddyduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpe69, Proprietario at Hotel Savoy Palace, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for the nice comment you posted on tripadvisor.

The Savoy Palace Hotel is situated in a nice position from where one can admire the colors of lake Garda and the mountains that surround it, almost giving the impression to be part of an enchanting picture.

Situated directly in the city center on the lake promenade, it gives many choices to walk around and see different nice places close to the town.

Most of the beauty is given from the wonderful spot of earth in which the hotel is located, but the kindness and politeness of the staff improve even more the charm of the Savoy Palace Hotel.

We hope to see you again at the Savoy Palace and wish you all the best.

Silvia Dalla Bona
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gardone Riviera hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,052 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Sofia
Hotel Villa Sofia
#10 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
126 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Florida
Hotel Villa Florida
#1 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Fasano
Grand Hotel Fasano
#4 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquarone
Hotel Monte Baldo e Villa Acquar...
#3 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Savoy Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Savoy Palace

Property: Hotel Savoy Palace
Address: via Zanardelli, 2 / 4, 25083 Gardone Riviera, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gardone Riviera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gardone Riviera
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gardone Riviera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Savoy Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Savoy Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Palace Hotel
Savoy Palace Gardone Riviera
Hotel Savoy Palace Lake Garda/Gardone Riviera, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing