We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Savoy Palace
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Villa Capri(Gardone Riviera)
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Gardone(Gardone Riviera)
US$331
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Villa Sofia(Gardone Riviera)
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa del Sogno(Gardone Riviera)
US$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$206
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bellariva Hotel(Gardone Riviera)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Eden Luxury Resort(Gardone Riviera)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Lac(Gardone Riviera)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diana(Gardone Riviera)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Touring(Gardone Riviera)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
176
135
35
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
135
35
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotellake viewrail journeybuffet style breakfastreception staffferry terminalsmall promenadelovely poolrestaurant staffheller gardensdeluxe roomswimming pool istour operatorhead waiterbeautiful roomsmall resortriva del garda
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2009

The hotel was very nice and even better than we expected based on the positive reviews. Our room was on 5th floor with the direct view on the lake. The room was not big, but nicely decorated and comfortable. The view from the room was breathtaking. The swimming pool is not big, but clean and comfortable. One of the best points for us was the terrace bar. There was a great view and also nice cocktails. The hotel also had a Jacuzzi for free to guests which looked good – unfortunately we did not try it. The breakfast was good with wide selection (especially for Italy :)). The staff is very professional and friendly – everybody spoke very good English. The hotel has the direct access to the promenade from the swimming area.
The hotel restaurant did not look cozy for us, so we did not try it for the dinners but went for the restaurants on the lake. One (we cannot remember the name, but there is a crazy guy – owner – always running around and playing a guitar in the evenings) had tasty affordable pizzas. For a romantic dinner the restaurant called Osteria Sans Souci was excellent (but not cheap) – it is like 2 minutes from the hotel.
The room was not very quite because of all the noise from the ships/boats on the lake – there were some little noise even at night. But we are very sensitive to any noise, so maybe for other travelers it was absolutely fine.
With regard to location, the hotel is right on the lake shore. But with its back side, it faces relatively busy road. But it is important to say that only several rooms are on that side – probably 95% of the room are on the lake side.
We recommend this hotel for stay in Gardone Riviera - this town from our experience is one of the most beautiful on Garda lake. It is possible to take a boat and go around the lake. We went to Sirmione which was also a nice day –trip. Unlike Sirmione, Gardona was not very crowded in May, which was also a plus for us. We hope to come back here sometimes in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NadiyaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2009

room was spotless easy to find with a fantastic view of the lake and mountains.staff were very friendly easy to talk to. breakfast food was always hot and fresh .

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amiasManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

this hotel is absolutely stunning, we couldn't fault it on anything at all. we received a warm and friendly welcome from the reception staff on arrival, and throughout our stay the staff were extremely polite and helpful.
Our room was immaculate, very spacious, and had a stunning view from the balcony over the lake.
The food was superb each night, we went half board and were entitled to 4 courses, however we could only manage 2 as they are decent sizes as well!
location is beautiful, ideal if you are looking for a nice quiet and relaxed break, also has a good ferry service to any other locations on Lake Garda.
We highly recommend this hotel, only advice I would give is take an iron, as there are none in the room, but they do offer a laundry service.
Would definitely go again!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S_Jones_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2009

WOW! what a pleasure it was to stay in such an wonderful place. We wanted to celebrate our 40th birthdays in style and it really didn't let us down. Were to start - FOOD, My waist line expanded beyond belief as we were met with endless amazing menus to try (it seemed rude not to try everything at leats once!)ATMOSPHERE- everywhere we went we were met by staff who were friendly, polite and nothing seemed too much trouble. The waiting staff and reception staff couldn't have been more attentive ROOM- we opted for a lake view, delux room with balcony and it was worth the small extra to relax with a drink on the balcony, listening to the music from the entertainment, watching the sun go down (bliss) the room was immaculate, clean and very comfortable.I wish our bathroom at home was quite so spacious.
The resort is perfect for long or short strolls in the evening. There was plenty to entertain us during day and night. We opted to go on trips to Venice, Verona and Milan. We were so impressed we have just returned from a visit the Venice mask festival.
Would we both go back? In a heart beat! It was the best holiday we have had, everything about this hotel was just perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

We are 20-something Veuve Clicquot and other wonderful champagne loving and fine dining (though far from snobby) people who honeymooned in the Hotel Savoy Palace but please don't think us biased when we both state it is a wonderful hotel. It harks back to the old school days when Winston Churchill frequented it, and the decor is inkeeping with this period, as too the service. So what if it's not a modernsque affair but if you have an appreciation for the old school and you want good service and a fabulous atmosphere then this hotel still encompasses all the grandeur from the period whence it has been lovingly restored. The staff are all extremely attentive and the food is absolutely wonderful (though, admittedly, it takes a couple of nights to get acquanited with the 5 course meals but this is not a complaint!) you can savour the piano bar and terrace above, and ,yes, the apperitifs may come at a price but they are accompanied by fabulous canapes and a wonderful atmosphere that cannot be priced. Gardone Riveara is, in our opinion and ,having visited several of the villages and towns around the lake, a jewel in Lake Garda's crown and we believe Savoy Hotel Palace is the jewel of the hotel's on offer. We can't quite put it into words but if you wan't Italy around the lake then go to Gardone and savour the town that has approx 4000 inhabitants and a wonderful local atmposphere and just take day trips to the more touristy resorts around the Lake. A family run hotel with a welcoming family atmosphere, what else can we say? Sample the local sparkling wine (can't be called champagne, as it isn't of the French region's provenance, but tastes at least as good) visit Sirmione's castello di catullo (amazing roman villa, the largest in Northern Italy! not so long ago they believed the wonderful ruins to be cave's!) take a day trip to Venice (must do!) or Verona (where Romeo's Juliet's balcony is said to lie) and visit Malcesine, this place is wonderful with a great castle and chuches (that would surely be managed by the National Trust if they were in the UK) And our closing line? We met a wonderful couple (very distinguished) whilst on Honeymoon, whom were staying at the Savoy Palace Hotel and whose Son was a Producer Director for the BBC, and they were staying at the Savoy Palace ,having completed a tour of Italy's Lakes the previous year, and they loved Lake Garda - well if it's good enough for them and their Producer Director son then it's good enough for anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Parisian7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews